Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Forums: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby Studio21 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:41 am

Studio21 Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:41 am
eyeonestudio wrote:
aoktar wrote:
OlyDarko wrote:Thanks beppe! But this won't help for all the other apps (Adobe, Music Production, Windows Task Bar and Explorer elements etc.) being way too small if Windows upscaling is disabled. Also the C4D layout itself looks very tiny even when using the biggest icons and bigger font size.

take a look
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pO4v_c6-hk0



C4D Dev says
SDK - "The user area (that is used by plugins - like the PV - to display custom output) contains functions to transform from global or screen coordinates to local coordinates as well as a method returning the pixel ratio."


Also my computer has several programs. That setting is not useful for each program.
Fonts are still small on 4K monitors. Please test on 4K Monitor.
HiDPI Scaling must be supported, such as Octane for Houdini and Blender.
I hope this feature is added.


+1!
Studio21
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:14 am

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby J.C » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:41 pm

J.C Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:41 pm
aoktar wrote:Why don't you increase font size rather than doing this? It's easier than I do whole drawing and input structures. I wrote all before R21 come out


This still makes fonts blurry. High resolution displays + Windows scaling have been available for a long time. Why not to support this?
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby aoktar » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:25 pm

aoktar Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:25 pm
J.C wrote:
aoktar wrote:Why don't you increase font size rather than doing this? It's easier than I do whole drawing and input structures. I wrote all before R21 come out


This still makes fonts blurry. High resolution displays + Windows scaling have been available for a long time. Why not to support this?

Why not? OK don't know the logic, it seems a hacked way to me. And doesn't seem to me logical. And why it's not a problem on R19/20 and problem on R21? Can you explain?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13516
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby nejck » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:38 pm

nejck Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:38 pm
I might be completely wrong but afaik some changes have been made to how R21 works with Windows Scaling. Not completely sure what changed but afaik there were changes made so as to increase HiDPI device support.
nejck
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:24 am

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby J.C » Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:32 pm

J.C Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:32 pm
aoktar wrote:
J.C wrote:
aoktar wrote:Why don't you increase font size rather than doing this? It's easier than I do whole drawing and input structures. I wrote all before R21 come out


This still makes fonts blurry. High resolution displays + Windows scaling have been available for a long time. Why not to support this?

Why not? OK don't know the logic, it seems a hacked way to me. And doesn't seem to me logical. And why it's not a problem on R19/20 and problem on R21? Can you explain?


I don't know why it is a problem with R21. I wish I could help you but I'm not a plugin developer. The suggested workaround is not working properly that's why I commented this.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby OlyDarko » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:03 am

OlyDarko Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:03 am
In R20 (which is not optimized for HiDPI displays), Octane is tiny. In R21, which finally supports HiDPI, Octane is just upscaled and therefore looks blurry compared to the rest of the UI. Redshift for instance is sharp, so there must be a solution i guess?
OlyDarko
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 7:11 pm

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby eyeonestudio » Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:30 pm

eyeonestudio Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:30 pm
This is not hack...
HiDPI Scaling is no problem in other applications. Please test on 4K(UHD) Monitor(not QHD Monitor).

C4D Dev says
SDK - "The user area (that is used by plugins - like the PV - to display custom output) contains functions to transform from global or screen coordinates to local coordinates as well as a method returning the pixel ratio."
Attachments
2020-01-14_221216.png
2020-01-14_222439.png
Win 10 / C4D S22 / TFD / RF / XPTs
Master : Win10 / AMD 1950x / 64Gb Ram / Titan Xp * 3 / 1080Ti * 1
Slave : 3 Slaves (Win7 / i7 4930K / 64Gb Ram /1080Ti * 4 )
User avatar
eyeonestudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby aoktar » Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:53 pm

aoktar Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:53 pm
eyeonestudio wrote:This is not hack...
HiDPI Scaling is no problem in other applications. Please test on 4K(UHD) Monitor(not QHD Monitor).

C4D Dev says
SDK - "The user area (that is used by plugins - like the PV - to display custom output) contains functions to transform from global or screen coordinates to local coordinates as well as a method returning the pixel ratio."

LV is not a wrong size, you're seeing it wrong because of windows scaling. When you SAVE it from LV you'll find that's CORRECT. PV is making some down-scaling to correct it to the expected visible size. But in reality, it's not a correct size for real pixels. It's the same as monitors do with srgb color correction.

As several times I said that, there's nothing to do by me. In maxon forums, there's not any advice to change this. I don't know to avoid or handle this. Can we stop to discuss like this? I'll not answer this topic anymore until a solution comes from Maxon.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13516
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby eyeonestudio » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:45 pm

eyeonestudio Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:45 pm
aoktar wrote:
eyeonestudio wrote:This is not hack...
HiDPI Scaling is no problem in other applications. Please test on 4K(UHD) Monitor(not QHD Monitor).

C4D Dev says
SDK - "The user area (that is used by plugins - like the PV - to display custom output) contains functions to transform from global or screen coordinates to local coordinates as well as a method returning the pixel ratio."

LV is not a wrong size, you're seeing it wrong because of windows scaling. When you SAVE it from LV you'll find that's CORRECT. PV is making some down-scaling to correct it to the expected visible size. But in reality, it's not a correct size for real pixels. It's the same as monitors do with srgb color correction.

As several times I said that, there's nothing to do by me. In maxon forums, there's not any advice to change this. I don't know to avoid or handle this. Can we stop to discuss like this? I'll not answer this topic anymore until a solution comes from Maxon.


Thank you for the answer.
I'm going to raise this issue for maxon.

Best Ahmet.
Win 10 / C4D S22 / TFD / RF / XPTs
Master : Win10 / AMD 1950x / 64Gb Ram / Titan Xp * 3 / 1080Ti * 1
Slave : 3 Slaves (Win7 / i7 4930K / 64Gb Ram /1080Ti * 4 )
User avatar
eyeonestudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Octane blurry on 4k display (while C4D is sharp)

Postby OlyDarko » Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:44 pm

OlyDarko Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:44 pm
Hey guys, just wanted to ask if there is any update in sight on this?
Please also see attached screenshot (Octane and Redshift interactive render windows, Redshift is sharp. Corona window is sharp as well btw, Octane is the only renderer that is blurry..).
Cheers,
Oly
Attachments
live viewer blurry.jpg
OlyDarko
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 7:11 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:57 pm [ UTC ]