TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Forums: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby radiant » Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:19 am

radiant Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:19 am
cheers, this has definitely increased my workflow :D
It will be useful in my upcoming gig.
Win8 Pro 64bit ULT|Intel Core i7 3930K|3.20 GHz|32 GB RAM|GTX 590|UD5 2011 socket||2x TB HD||Master Cooler HAF X||Blender 2.6||Maya 2012||Octane|
User avatar
radiant
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby acc24ex » Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:16 pm

acc24ex Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:16 pm
is there a way to "extract" the current setup to nodes, or when you set up a material to "extract" it to a node ,
and if there is not, can you add that feature, to pick on the item and a new node pops out instead of doing it manually via right click, add, material action .. something like what the new 3d max material slate editor does, pick a material and it pops it into place on the node editor, I would guess a majority of people change settings via the sidebar first, not the node editor, it's faster like that..
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby multiwow » Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:38 pm

multiwow Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:38 pm
Hi.
I was wondering... Is (or can be) here a way to render all render targets? For example ... I have house scene in octane with 5 render targets. So everything is setup and ready to render. Is there some way to render all of them with ,,one click,, ? (over night) So i dont have to wait for one render target to finish and then press second and render ... ?
PS.: Sorry for my english ... :-)
multiwow
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby hmk » Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:55 pm

hmk Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:55 pm
multiwow wrote:Hi.
I was wondering... Is (or can be) here a way to render all render targets? For example ... I have house scene in octane with 5 render targets. So everything is setup and ready to render. Is there some way to render all of them with ,,one click,, ? (over night) So i dont have to wait for one render target to finish and then press second and render ... ?
PS.: Sorry for my english ... :-)


With the current Octane Render version alone, no this cannot be done.
http://www.OctanePowerTools.com
Octane Render Power Tools, Animation Tools for Octane Render
facebook | YouTube
Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz - RAM 12.0 GB
Asus P6T7 WS SuperComputer GTX 480
User avatar
hmk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby neoone » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:32 pm

neoone Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:32 pm
I am using version pre beta 2.3 v5, and do have few problems with it.
Don't have sixth dot to plug in RenderTarget into my obj file.
Is there any other way to create multiple rendertargets in this version?
Attachments
untitled.JPG
Win XP 64 Sp2 | Geforce 9600 GT 512 MB | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
neoone
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:58 am

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby tchoa » Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:14 pm

tchoa Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:14 pm
Would be nice to get the possibility to select a renderTarget to render through command line option.
Win XP x64 | Q6600 2.40GHz | 8Go | GTX470 1.28Go // Win 7 x64 | I7 Q740 1.73Ghz | 6Go | GTX460m 1.5Go
tchoa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby radiance » Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:18 am

radiance Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:18 am
neoone wrote:I am using version pre beta 2.3 v5, and do have few problems with it.
Don't have sixth dot to plug in RenderTarget into my obj file.
Is there any other way to create multiple rendertargets in this version?


Hi,

Why on earth would you still use that ancient version ?
You should upgrade to 2.52 asap, it's a world of difference feature-wise.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby matej » Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:50 am

matej Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:50 am
Does render target switching work in 2.52? Because I have this setup below and nothing happens if I click on the render target node that I created. The default one is always rendered, although the parameters in the NI change accordingly to selected render target.
rtswitching.jpg
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby roeland » Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:29 am

roeland Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:29 am
Hi Matej,

You need to connect the object node you want to render to the last input pin of the render target node. The mesh preview render target is a special case, these settings are used if you preview a mesh node, a material or a texture.

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Re: TUTORIAL: How to use RenderTargets for powerful scene setups

Postby matej » Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:05 am

matej Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:05 am
Yes, that makes sense :) Thanks!

I hope one day we will have a generic container node, so all that render config nodes can be put there and not additionally clutter the top panel (which usually contains material macro, mix & texture nodes). And an input pin to pass the mesh node into it.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia
PreviousNext

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:50 pm [ UTC ]