From rhino material to octanematerial

Forums: From rhino material to octanematerial
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby fabrizio_s » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:25 am

fabrizio_s Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:25 am
Hi,
is there a way to transform rhino materials to octane materials?

bye
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby face_off » Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:22 am

face_off Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:22 am
Hi Fabrizio

Rightclick the Rhino material in the Material tab->Change Type to Octane material.

Or you can convert all Rhino materials to Octane materials with the Setup tree rightclick menu->Convert All Rhino Materials to Octane Materials.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14226
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby fabrizio_s » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:38 pm

fabrizio_s Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:38 pm
Hi Paul,
I can't find it. Am I looking for it in the wrong place?
Attachments
change material.jpg
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby Bendbox » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:58 pm

Bendbox Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:58 pm
Hi Fabrizio,

I'm assuming you're in Rhino 6 if you don't see it on the right click. If so, it's located here under the main material editor. Just click on the pull down menu and select "Octane Material" and it will change the Rhino material to an Octane material.

Also, one other note . . . if you decide to convert all materials to octane materials by right clicking in the Octane Settings tree, the only materials it will convert are ones that are used. Just FYI.

Image
Win10x64 / i7 6850K / 16g RAM / 4 x GTX1080
User avatar
Bendbox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby fabrizio_s » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:46 pm

fabrizio_s Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:46 pm
thanx!
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby frisog » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:11 am

frisog Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:11 am
Hi there, when I try to convert a materials with the 2 options available, all the material colors and textures are lost.. is this a know issue? (transparency is converted correctly)

This is with the newest Rhino and newest Octane plugin (4.5.0.111) for Rhino 6 (Version 6 SR17 - (6.17.19218.13231, 08/06/2019).
frisog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:31 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby face_off » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:00 am

face_off Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:00 am
Hi there, when I try to convert a materials with the 2 options available, all the material colors and textures are lost.. is this a know issue? (transparency is converted correctly)
I don't completely understand what you are saying. Can you provide some screenshots of the problem please?

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14226
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby frisog » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:19 am

frisog Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:19 am
Sure. See attached image with explanation in the image.
Attachments
rhinomat_to_octanemat.jpg
Rhino to Octane material problems
frisog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:31 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby frisog » Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:02 am

frisog Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:02 am
Hi Paul, any idea on the what the issue could be?
frisog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:31 pm

Re: From rhino material to octanematerial

Postby face_off » Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:52 am

face_off Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:52 am
Sure. See attached image with explanation in the image.
Hi. I just tested this, and changing the type via the material combo box, and using the Convert All Materials To Octane Materials resulted in the same material conversion, so it is working correctly for me. I notice on your screenshot there are no texturemaps, so there are no maps to convert to the Octane material. If you have a specific material which demonstrates the problem you are having, can you please send it to me and I will take a closer look.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14226
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Next

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

Wed Oct 21, 2020 1:51 am [ UTC ]