Overview of OSL Shaders in Octane
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.
- FrankPooleFloating
- Posts: 1669
- Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm
Has anyone used osl/toon stuff to do any technical drawing type renders by any chance?.. I have to bang out a couple in the next couple weeks, and ordinarily I would render something and trace it in AI, which is rather time-consuming...
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA RTX 2070 Super Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || LightWave Plug (v4 for old gigs) || Blender E-Cycles
- leehenshall
- Posts: 184
- Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:44 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
Outlines via OSL might be a good companion for the new toon shader. I've not seen any OSL shaders for this type of thing yet.
- leehenshall
- Posts: 184
- Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:44 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
- leehenshall
- Posts: 184
- Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:44 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
- SergKlyosov
- Posts: 126
- Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:33 am
Hi guys,
Can anyone write OSL which allows to use UDIM inside octane?
I think is highly requested feature and seems it won't be implemented soon as core function, so maybe there is some way to do it with OSL now?
Thank you
Can anyone write OSL which allows to use UDIM inside octane?
I think is highly requested feature and seems it won't be implemented soon as core function, so maybe there is some way to do it with OSL now?
Thank you
Win 10 64 | RTX 3090 | i9 9980XE | 64GB RAM
It won't be a core feature in 3.08.
You can achieve tiling with OSL but you'd have to create a long shader which picks the right tile from a list of inputs.
In practice in the standalone you'd build up that shader with a Lua script.
The next step is getting the image files connected. How much tiles would you have in the typical UDIM shader, and how do you get them in and out of other programs?
You can achieve tiling with OSL but you'd have to create a long shader which picks the right tile from a list of inputs.
Code: Select all
shader Tiles_2_by_4(
string Tile_1_1 = "",
string Tile_1_2 = "",
string Tile_1_3 = "",
string Tile_1_4 = "",
string Tile_2_1 = "",
string Tile_2_2 = "",
string Tile_2_3 = "",
string Tile_2_4 = "",
output color c = 0)
{
string f;
float modU = u * .25;
modU -= floor(modU);
float modV = v * .50;
modV -= floor(modV);
if (modU < .25)
{
if (modV < .50) { f = Tile_1_1; }
else { f = Tile_2_1; }
}
else if (modU < .50)
{
if (modV < .50) { f = Tile_1_2; }
else { f = Tile_2_2; }
}
else if (modU < .75)
{
if (modV < .50) { f = Tile_1_3; }
else { f = Tile_2_3; }
}
else
{
if (modV < .50) { f = Tile_1_4; }
else { f = Tile_2_4; }
}
c = texture(f, u - floor(u), v - floor(v), "wrap", "clamp");
}
The next step is getting the image files connected. How much tiles would you have in the typical UDIM shader, and how do you get them in and out of other programs?
- SergKlyosov
- Posts: 126
- Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:33 am
Thank you a lot, Roeland!
It is magnificent!
BTW, I have one question
In Octane we have two different type of image nodes: RGB Image and Greyscale image
And there is a pretty huge difference of using VRAM between those two types.
1)If I'm using the same monochrome 8K map from MARI and plug it in to RGB image - scene cost 1.3GB of VRAM
2) if I'm using the same monochrome 8K map from MARI and plug it in to Greyscale image - scene cost 0.5GB of VRAM
So how I can change type of output in that OSL code? Cause obviously if I use this OSL with bump, roughness etc - I don't need RGB image output
Thank you so much for the help
Cheers
It is magnificent!

BTW, I have one question
In Octane we have two different type of image nodes: RGB Image and Greyscale image
And there is a pretty huge difference of using VRAM between those two types.
1)If I'm using the same monochrome 8K map from MARI and plug it in to RGB image - scene cost 1.3GB of VRAM
2) if I'm using the same monochrome 8K map from MARI and plug it in to Greyscale image - scene cost 0.5GB of VRAM
So how I can change type of output in that OSL code? Cause obviously if I use this OSL with bump, roughness etc - I don't need RGB image output
Thank you so much for the help
Cheers
Win 10 64 | RTX 3090 | i9 9980XE | 64GB RAM
- paride4331
- Posts: 3797
- Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
Hi coilbook,coilbook wrote:can anyone make a sparkle shader like for snow? Or can otoy do it? I think it is a very necessary shader Thank you
could flake osl to help?
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=66015
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
Thanks Paridie but how can you make those flakes sparkle. I tried mix texture with flake as a mix texture and they still dont sparkle at angles like in this video https://youtu.be/qpPQk5fNrho?t=1m10sparide4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,coilbook wrote:can anyone make a sparkle shader like for snow? Or can otoy do it? I think it is a very necessary shader Thank you
could flake osl to help?
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=66015
Regards
Paride
also I thought it is a procedural material why mapping looks off where circles are oval.
Thank you