OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2[OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2[OBSOLETE]
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby funk » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:45 am

funk Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:45 am
calus wrote:The first example you provide, the red cylinder, has a cap made of one ngon....

Right. The first example has no normals but uses octane's own internal triangulation and smoothing angle (set to 89). This is the way the modo octane plugin exports by default.

I decided to provide the vertex normals and triangulated geometry in my second example. It only contains hard normals on the edge of the cap.

As far as I can tell, the geometry and vertex normals are correct.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby calus » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:15 am

calus Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:15 am
funk wrote:
calus wrote:It only contains hard normals on the edge of the cap.

Rigth, I also checked in Maya, that couldn't be so simple ... :(
still can't find what in the Modo cylinders make the difference with the Maya ones.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby calus » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:37 am

calus Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:37 am
Ok I got it !
the difference has nothing to do with difference between Maya and Modo geometry.

This is a scale issue.

Here Octane gives me a perfect round edge for this cylinder imported as meter:
octane_2016-12-06_11-27-57.png

cylinderMeter.orbx
(65.69 KiB) Downloaded 72 times


But if in the same scene with the exact same cylinder, I modify the scale import setting to decimeters, I have these artifacts.
octane_2016-12-06_11-29-12.png

cylinderDeciMeter.orbx
(65.7 KiB) Downloaded 77 times


So indeed there's still an issue depending of the scale of the scene, I admit I had only tested big scale scene.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby mojave » Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:19 pm

mojave Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:19 pm
That's interesting, I'll take a look at that too. Thanks for the report.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby mojave » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:36 pm

mojave Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:36 pm
@funk @Zay

This seems to have been happening for a while now but you have been the first ones to report. We are adding this to our backlog to fix ASAP.

@calus

Thanks for your feedback, I have detected the bug so it will be fixed in the next build.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby Jolbertoquini » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:49 pm

Jolbertoquini Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:49 pm
[vimeoID][/vimeoID]Oh I need check this tomorrow add a real CAD data to use this options.
Because simple basic objects doesn't show the real problems on production.
You can use any CAD data converted on polygons to check.
I will upload something soon.

If I remember some one already post there something.

But anyway Thanks for the new stuff.

Best,
Jo
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby calus » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:32 pm

calus Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:32 pm
mojave wrote:@calus
Thanks for your feedback, I have detected the bug so it will be fixed in the next build.

Yeah, I guess rounded edges will be just perfect in next build then :D

Jolbertoquini wrote:simple basic objects doesn't show the real problems on production.

Indeed I tested first with real production geometry, and rounded edges were just fine,
Ironically the cylinder corner case and the scale problem were found later with basic geometry.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby Daniel_Ward » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:45 pm

Daniel_Ward Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:45 pm
Hi Guys,

it would be really awesome to be able to use this rounded edges support with the ArchiCAD Plug-in, but talking to Paul, he tells me it won't work due to ArchiCAD not having welded vertices. Would it be at all possible to have a vertex welding feature built into Octane? Given that it's a pretty specialised application, I don't think it's a feature that we've got any chance of Graphisoft adding into ArchiCAD...

Cheers, Dan.
+MAP Architects, Christchurch - New Zealand
ArchiCAD 4.12 - ArchiCAD 24 || Octane for ArchiCAD
i7-7700K - Gigabyte Aorus Z270X Gaming 9 - 32Gb RAM - 3x Gigibyte GTX1070 G1 Gaming - Window 10 64Bit
User avatar
Daniel_Ward
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:57 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby mojave » Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:29 am

mojave Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:29 am
Daniel_Ward wrote:Hi Guys,

it would be really awesome to be able to use this rounded edges support with the ArchiCAD Plug-in, but talking to Paul, he tells me it won't work due to ArchiCAD not having welded vertices. Would it be at all possible to have a vertex welding feature built into Octane? Given that it's a pretty specialised application, I don't think it's a feature that we've got any chance of Graphisoft adding into ArchiCAD...

Cheers, Dan.


Hi Dan,

This should work as in this new version broken edges are found regardless to whether they share the same vertices. However intersecting geometry would still not work.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 2

Postby funk » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:06 am

funk Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:06 am
calus wrote:Ok I got it !
the difference has nothing to do with difference between Maya and Modo geometry.

This is a scale issue.


It looks like there is a bug with the importer when you change scale. The vertex normal map is not being scaled along with the geometry or something.

While it's great you found this bug, it's not related to the 2 screenshots I uploaded. I don't think it's going to make a difference to the cylinder artifacts in my screenshots.

The main difference between the Maya cylinder in your scene and the modo cylinder was that the modo cylinder height was split into several rows of polygons.

The artifacts seem to happen when triangles are closer together, but I'm not completely sure.

If I create a cylinder with only 1 row of polys along the height (with nice triangulation and vertex normals), then I don't see the artifacts either.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vijay_thirukonda and 0 guests

Wed Jan 27, 2021 4:39 am [ UTC ]