3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Forums: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby existe » Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:36 pm

existe Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:36 pm
I am working though using maps exported out of 3D-Coat with Octane in C4D. So far it has not gone too well.

Plugin: Octane-for-C4D-V3.03.3-R1-win
Standalone: OctaneRender_3_03_2b_win

I noticed there was a 3D-Coat Metal node in the live DB, so built a metal material from 3DC and it appeared to work fine. Studied how it was built but when I create a new material and copy it 100% it does not produce the same results. In fact if I just use the 3D-Coat node material and just leave specular at default it is a very shiny metal, if I create a new glossy material within C4D and just have specular on it is a a shiny black metal. What am I missing?

This is the material made from 3D-Coat node in Live DB
3D-coat_node.JPG
3d-coat metal node


This is just a glossy material created in C4D
C4D_glossy.JPG
C4D_glossy
User avatar
existe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby mbutler2 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:12 pm

mbutler2 Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:12 pm
Glass Hand Films did some good tutorials about how to get from Substance to Octane. Maybe the process for 3D Coat to Octane could be similar...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5GqeyuZ ... _L7CZ2kryu
mbutler2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:58 pm

Re: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby aoktar » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:21 pm

aoktar Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:21 pm
Should Index be 1.0 in first example.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13595
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby existe » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:09 pm

existe Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:09 pm
aoktar wrote:Should Index be 1.0 in first example.


That was it, so reading the help, setting it to 1 removes Frenel and anything above it is just increase in Frenel?
User avatar
existe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby offrench » Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:15 am

offrench Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:15 am
I made some tests lately and two tutorials on this subject: one for 3dCoat 4.5 and the other for 3dCoat 4.7
http://www.virtual-lands-3d.com/from-3d ... ender.html

3dCoat 4.7 has a specific workflow for Octane Render, but it does not work well if you use the metallness maps it generates for metallicity in Octane.

I am using Octane Render 3 for Poser.
Let me know if these workflows work for C4D and if can figure out improvements.

Image
offrench
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:08 am

Re: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby existe » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:26 pm

existe Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:26 pm
@offrench thank you for the reply, I did in fact watch your videos, very helpful. It came down to index needing to be 1 instead of default of 1.3 within C4D. I ended up using standard Octane exports within 3DC for the C4D Octane plugin with no issues.
User avatar
existe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: 3D-Coat maps with Octane in C4D

Postby offrench » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:58 pm

offrench Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:58 pm
existe wrote:I ended up using standard Octane exports within 3DC for the C4D Octane plugin with no issues.


So there is probably a difference in the plugins or something that I missed. I will try to render my little robot in the standalone version to see how it works.
offrench
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:08 am

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AEponym, bepeg4d, decade and 9 guests

Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:26 am [ UTC ]