Real Long Render Times

Forums: Real Long Render Times
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby face_off » Thu May 23, 2013 12:00 am

face_off Thu May 23, 2013 12:00 am
OK, now..... If in the Animation Tab, I deselect refresh Geometry and select refresh scene, and it makes it to the end of animation. On a simple animation, it's ok, but on a more complex animation with more figures and scene elements, it ads more time to each frame rendering. Why won't it make it set to refresh geometry? It's much quicker. UGH!!!! Losing my patience with this. I have clients waiting, and I have nothing but problems.

Thanks for that info - that helps a lot. I'm running more diagnostic tests at the moment to try to isolate the issue, and Otoy are working on this at their end, but it's not a simple thing to fix, since on my PC it takes at least 2hrs to reproduce the issue, so tracking down potential causes takes a long time. Again, you are running a very low-end card, so if renderspeed is an issue doing a complete scene refresh, you can add another more powerful card for rendering.

I'll keep you up to date on any developments.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13831
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby face_off » Thu May 23, 2013 1:14 am

face_off Thu May 23, 2013 1:14 am
I have re-worked some of the animation code for you in a special version of the latest "experimental" build of the plugin. There is a small possibility this will fix your problem. 1.14a is a huge update, and not been tested to the point of being called "Stable", so use at your own risk - and save any Poser scene you use with it to a different filename (since it is not backwardly compatible).

Download the plugin HERE

[EDIT: Needs 2 more mins to upload]
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13831
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby face_off » Thu May 23, 2013 4:00 am

face_off Thu May 23, 2013 4:00 am
I just rendering 1000 frames using the updated plugin, and no issues - so the fix seems to have merit. Pls don't install the version above - instead install 1.14a2 (separate forum thread) - give me 30 mins though to fix a couple of things.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13831
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby morphious2013 » Thu May 23, 2013 11:09 am

morphious2013 Thu May 23, 2013 11:09 am
OK, I will install the 1.14a2 version if I could find it. The other thread still shows it as 1.14a. BTW, thanks for all your hard work and diligence to fix the problem. I personally really appreciate it. Also, If I were to buy another card to replace the low end card I have, what would you recommend? Thanks.
Gateway i5 3.2ghz, 16g RAM, GTX 690 4GB VRAM, Windows 10 64bit, Poser Pro 11, DAZ Studio Pro 4.9, Daz Octane Plugin V2, Poser Octane Plugin V2
User avatar
morphious2013
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby face_off » Thu May 23, 2013 11:14 am

face_off Thu May 23, 2013 11:14 am
The latest version is now 1.14a3.

As for a card recommendation - I am the wrong person to ask. But I think the general feeling on these forums is that the Titan cards presents the best value for money by far....IF you have the budget to purchase one. If you don't then the 660Ti is substantially less $ than the 670 and almost the same performance (but only a moderate step up from what you have). In between are the 680 cards. There are other new cards coming out (and lower-end version of the Titan) which are also highly rated.

Stay away from the 500 series (for Poser plugin use).

In the end, you get what you pay for - so the more $ you can put into a good card, the more you get out of it. If you are using Octane for commercial work, the payback period on getting double the render speed should be small. But I understand things are never that simple.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13831
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby morphious2013 » Thu May 23, 2013 4:37 pm

morphious2013 Thu May 23, 2013 4:37 pm
Still don't see the 1.14a3 version. Installer still says 1.14a
Gateway i5 3.2ghz, 16g RAM, GTX 690 4GB VRAM, Windows 10 64bit, Poser Pro 11, DAZ Studio Pro 4.9, Daz Octane Plugin V2, Poser Octane Plugin V2
User avatar
morphious2013
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby Erick » Thu May 23, 2013 4:47 pm

Erick Thu May 23, 2013 4:47 pm
morphious2013 wrote:Still don't see the 1.14a3 version. Installer still says 1.14a


The file name may still say this, but once installed and opened, it'll tell you it's 1.14a4 (I just d/l'ed and installed it from there: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=32641 )
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby morphious2013 » Thu May 23, 2013 6:15 pm

morphious2013 Thu May 23, 2013 6:15 pm
OH, OK. Thanks. :o :lol: :roll:
Gateway i5 3.2ghz, 16g RAM, GTX 690 4GB VRAM, Windows 10 64bit, Poser Pro 11, DAZ Studio Pro 4.9, Daz Octane Plugin V2, Poser Octane Plugin V2
User avatar
morphious2013
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby morphious2013 » Fri May 24, 2013 1:54 am

morphious2013 Fri May 24, 2013 1:54 am
I downloaded the latest version and got an error. Happens when in Poser when I select render/octane render. It the 1.14a5 version. So, now I can't render at all. Great!!!!! Now what????
Attachments
octane error.PNG
octane error.PNG (53.43 KiB) Viewed 2298 times
Gateway i5 3.2ghz, 16g RAM, GTX 690 4GB VRAM, Windows 10 64bit, Poser Pro 11, DAZ Studio Pro 4.9, Daz Octane Plugin V2, Poser Octane Plugin V2
User avatar
morphious2013
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Real Long Render Times

Postby face_off » Fri May 24, 2013 2:07 am

face_off Fri May 24, 2013 2:07 am
To get up and running now, run Poser as Administrator. I will have a fix in a few mins.
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13831
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Mar 29, 2020 6:58 am [ UTC ]