Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Forums: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby takuapa125 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:18 am

takuapa125 Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:18 am
Thank You :D :D :D
takuapa125
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:22 am

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby TIG » Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:24 am

TIG Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:24 am
Note that Scoob was having problems with camera-export, etc and even getting the OCS to open properly with some SKPs.
We tracked the problem down to him having ticked one of the GPU options in the Exporter.
The Exporter's Help PDF recommends NOT ticking any of the GPU options at all but simply to let Octane find the GPU - if you have only one GPU you never need to set it in the Exporter...
For some reason Octane can get knacked if you specify incorrect GPU[s] or sometimes even if they are seemingly OK...
The recommendation is never tick any of the GPU options in the Exporter... unless you find that doing so works for you and Octane performs satisfactorily!
If you do get multiple GPUs to work satisfactorily through the exporter can you post details as it seems to be a 'gray' area...
Octane doesn't [yet] seem to check that a user has specified the GPUs incorrectly and therefore fails.
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby Morat » Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:38 pm

Morat Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:38 pm
I've attached a simple file that demonstrates the problem on my system (the faces aren't reversed this time). If I export the camera then it's FUBAR in Octane, if I don't export the camera it's fine. The GPU selection box is unchecked.

If you can't reproduce that result I'll post the rest of the Export settings.
Attachments
Octane Export.zip
(29.46 KiB) Downloaded 137 times
Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX260 1gb | Q6600 @ Stock Speeds | 8GB
Morat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:38 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:01 pm

TIG Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:01 pm
Morat

Here's a zipped set back.
I exported it with camera, resolution at 75%, and sunlight.
It works fine - see the OCS included.
The only reason I reduced the exported resolution is to get it to fit on my screen easily
The reason I set sunlight was that your default material is pure-white so to get some 'modeling' you need lights etc...
Octane_Export.zip
(37.92 KiB) Downloaded 144 times

I also show a screen shot of the dialog to show my Exporter settings and OCS.
Capture.PNG
Capture2.PNG
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby Morat » Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:19 pm

Morat Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:19 pm
I downloaded your zip to a new directory and opened the .ocs - the camera is messed up. As soon as I try and navigate the model zips off and disappears. This is on Octane 2.3 v5.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there some other variable that we need to isolate?
Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX260 1gb | Q6600 @ Stock Speeds | 8GB
Morat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:38 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby TIG » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:13 am

TIG Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:13 am
The exporter is written for v2.2b - I've not tested it with v2.3.
Are there changes to the way the camera works in the this new alpha/beta version ?
The origin in the SKP is very near the center of the view so I don't see what's up with the OCS camera ?
In v2.2b moving the camera does have quite rapid jumps because the model is quite small, however if you rest the camera if centers on the correct 'origin' and you can retry pan/zooms...
If you save/close the OCS with a changed camera, and then re-export the SKP WITHOUT ticking the 'camera export' settings then the last OCS camera is used when the new export opens it...
I copy/paste from the help PDF...
Navigating the Scene
Octane Render provides a refreshing and exciting rendering experience due to the ability to
interact with the scene with final render settings. This interactivity allows for renders that
might not be possible with traditional render engines. The user can continue to hunt for that
perfect camera angle where all the reflections of the lights are just right or they can continue
to adjust the DOF in real-time.
The Render Viewport can be manipulated like traditional 3D viewports with rotation, panning
and zooming controls.
Navigating in the Render Viewport (While holding your mouse over the Render Viewport):
Rotate: Left Mouse Button
Zoom: Mouse Wheel / Middle Mouse Button
Pan: Right Mouse
If the scene navigation is too slow, hold the SHIFT key while navigating with the mouse.

You can also manually adjust things like the Camera's "target" in the OCS panel's camera settings...
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby Morat » Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:47 pm

Morat Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:47 pm
TIG wrote:The exporter is written for v2.2b - I've not tested it with v2.3.
Are there changes to the way the camera works in the this new alpha/beta version ?


That might be the case - I have a similar problem with exporting from Blender 2.49 if I export the camera.
Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX260 1gb | Q6600 @ Stock Speeds | 8GB
Morat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:38 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby The3dBOX » Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:19 pm

The3dBOX Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:19 pm
TIG wrote:The exporter is written for v2.2b - I've not tested it with v2.3.


Ahh thats where the problem is then, I am using 2.3 v5!!
Maybe check it out sometime TIG ;)
The3dBOX
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 4:56 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby TIG » Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:33 pm

TIG Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:33 pm
I wouldn't have expected the new version to be so dissimilar to 2.2...
I await it's impending 'official' release before I issue v1023... :?
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-12

Postby manos » Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:45 pm

manos Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:45 pm
Hello, I'm new user of octane and today i've just discovered the sketchup exporter, I'm having a similar problem, I export my model but I can't see it in octane at all....Is this a unit problem ? I'm designing in mm and I've set up octane in mm. If you can help me, thank allot.
CPU: INTEL i7 3.40 GHz/RAM: 8 GB/GPU: 2XGTX690/OS: WIN 7 64 BIT/SKETCHUP 2014/OCTANE for SU
manos
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 6:28 pm
PreviousNext

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Oct 21, 2020 6:55 pm [ UTC ]