Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Forums: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby necko77 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:04 pm

necko77 Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:04 pm
pfff, i dont want to use workarounds, plz Octane team, implement IES lighting, as architect i need it a lot !
ArchiCad, Blender, Moi3d
GTX 580 3GB
Win 7, 64 Bit
User avatar
necko77
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Bosnia&Hercegovina

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:26 pm

bepeg4d Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:26 pm
sorry necko77 but this is not a workaround, is the way they the unbiased renderer work.
IES lighting is a "workaround" ;)

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6704
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby Proupin » Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:56 am

Proupin Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:56 am
workaround or not, IES can be done in unbiased renders, why not?... it's already been done as I just found... what is NOT a workaround? :D
Win 7 64bits / Intel i5 750 @ 2.67Ghz / Geforce GTX 470 / 8GB Ram / 3DS Max 2012 64bits
http://proupinworks.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Proupin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:01 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:22 am

bepeg4d Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:22 am
sorry Proupin but I have not said that Refractive should not implement IES lighting sooner or later, they are certainly comfortable.
I am very hopeful to V6, thanks to the optimization it will be easier to model a light source like the real thing and get an accurate result ;)
so for me it's not a a priority, this is just my thought

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6704
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby necko77 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:57 am

necko77 Thu Nov 04, 2010 9:57 am
as architect i spent a lot of time thinking what wall, what roof, what floor, what insulation etc etc...i mean i dont want to model light sorces i dont have time for that :)
i wish that i can take IES light from cataloge and use it in my projects. Thats all, if i need to model lights, then i will never have enough time to finish my project :)
so you saying that IES is not possible in unbiased renders ????
ArchiCad, Blender, Moi3d
GTX 580 3GB
Win 7, 64 Bit
User avatar
necko77
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Bosnia&Hercegovina

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:00 pm

bepeg4d Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:00 pm
necko77 wrote:as architect i spent a lot of time thinking what wall, what roof, what floor, what insulation etc etc...i mean i dont want to model light sorces i dont have time for that :)
i wish that i can take IES light from cataloge and use it in my projects. Thats all, if i need to model lights, then i will never have enough time to finish my project :)

so in your projects there aren't light fixtures and the artificial light comes from nowhere :roll:

so you saying that IES is not possible in unbiased renders ????

where do you read this?

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6704
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby necko77 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:49 pm

necko77 Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:49 pm
no, i import 3d model of light model with ies, so i dont have to make any tweaks,light power is adjusted, 3d model is imported, everything is there . . .
if i have to adjust light power in octane, for me...im loosing my time :)
as much automatization as possible :)

and second, my mistake :)
ArchiCad, Blender, Moi3d
GTX 580 3GB
Win 7, 64 Bit
User avatar
necko77
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:27 am
Location: Bosnia&Hercegovina

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby marco75 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:38 pm

marco75 Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:38 pm
i am agree with necko77,
she says the extacly words that i think.
we cannot wait time to model lights!
IES and lumen give everything to render the project with correct light...
and with the think only to insert objects and make octane work
that it is a really fast program! it would be a bad thing to don't insert these simple and necessary things that are really NECESSARY for any architects or designer that work in interior.

i hope that really soon these things will be inserted otherwise i would have to return to maxwell to work even if it is slow to render it has everything to work fast to make the project.
marco75
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:15 pm

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby radiance » Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:53 am

radiance Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:53 am
Hey,

All you need to do is model a set of simple lightning fixtures, then place them to your liking in your model prior to export.
You can then reuse these in further projects.

It's better than IES as you have the correct luminaire with it in your renders (eg the light source itself and it's enclosure is visible)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Indoor Area Lights / Emitters tips

Postby marco75 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:01 pm

marco75 Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:01 pm
i understand to you but i think that your solution is longer as i have to model all the lighting bulbs with its reflector (cosider the different angle of cone of several kind of lighting bulbs!, 30°, 60° ....) how can i prepare so big database!?! it would be more simple e correct to use the correct IES files that the producer give to any designer or architect!!
they are correct with Lumen and angles for the light..
you have to consider our request as the architects and designer use this kind of things to work in real design, otherwise they will continue working with vray that have these and even maxwell that it is really the best for use these details.
i think that if you will insert them all these people will start use octane!!!
as it is a really good good program!!
and that it is not bad for you, are you agree?
....
more customers! happy!
marco75
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:15 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:35 pm [ UTC ]