OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Forums: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:31 pm

juanjgon Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:31 pm
AndyM1969 wrote:Finally got it working but of course there are problems, volume node in environment is broken, regardless of settings it either has no effect at all or produces a completely black render.


There is a bug in the volume medium node while loading old scenes. The new "Lock Step Lengths" option should be enabled by default, but it is disabled and with wrong "Shadow Step Length" value, set to 0.0. Both issues will be fixed in the next build, but meanwhile if you enable the "Lock Step Lengths" option in all the volume medium nodes, the rendering should be fine.

Thanks for reporting this issue!
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7370
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby ruuterdetuuter » Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:54 am

ruuterdetuuter Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:54 am
Hi,

I've run a few comparison renders between the 2019 and the 2020 version. And without using the RTX version al my renders turn out to be around 10% slower with the 2020 version compared to the 2019 version.

My configuration while testing was: 1x GTX 1080 TI Xtreme + 1x RTX 2080 TI OC

Do any of you experience this? And if not, what could be my problem? All drivers updated to the last including the Windows update.

Thanks and BTW thanks for al the development work Juanigon!
ruuterdetuuter
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 8:41 am

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Carlos3D » Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:44 am

Carlos3D Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:44 am
juanjgon wrote:
Carlos3D wrote:Hi Juanjo.

Is there any possibility that the Region limit of this window will work with Denoiser?

Without this I am always required to render the whole frame or all scene in an animation.

Thanks.


I'm not sure if this is even possible in Octane, but in any case be aware that the AI denoising works using the whole frame as a reference ... denoising a render region will not match the initial denoising for sure, producing flickering in the animated sequences.

Thanks,
-Juanjo


Thanks for replying but unfortunately I didn't realize what you mean! ...
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Carlos3D » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:04 am

Carlos3D Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:04 am
When I map a video it does not appear in my animated render.

The question is: Is it possible to map videos on Octane?

Thanks.
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Lewis » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:10 am

Lewis Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:10 am
Carlos3D wrote:When I map a video it does not appear in my animated render.

The question is: Is it possible to map videos on Octane?

Thanks.


It should work (alhough it's better to have frames in general) just be sure you have Update materials ON
http://prntscr.com/qnh8ej
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Carlos3D » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:40 pm

Carlos3D Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:40 pm
Lewis wrote:
Carlos3D wrote:When I map a video it does not appear in my animated render.

The question is: Is it possible to map videos on Octane?

Thanks.


It should work (alhough it's better to have frames in general) just be sure you have Update materials ON
http://prntscr.com/qnh8ej



I already did it but unfortunately it doesn't work here on my Octane.
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] ReadVideo.mp4 [ 14.06 MiB | Viewed 438 times ]

User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Lewis » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:55 pm

Lewis Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:55 pm
Carlos3D wrote:
Lewis wrote:
Carlos3D wrote:When I map a video it does not appear in my animated render.

The question is: Is it possible to map videos on Octane?

Thanks.


It should work (alhough it's better to have frames in general) just be sure you have Update materials ON
http://prntscr.com/qnh8ej



I already did it but unfortunately it doesn't work here on my Octane.


F9/F10 or IPR ? for IPR you need to have material button in IPR also.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:17 pm

juanjgon Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:17 pm
Hmm, I think that Octane doesn't support animated textures from video files. You need to convert them to image sequences and load the sequence from the LightWave image editor.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7370
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Carlos3D » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:13 pm

Carlos3D Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:13 pm
juanjgon wrote:Hmm, I think that Octane doesn't support animated textures from video files. You need to convert them to image sequences and load the sequence from the LightWave image editor.

Thanks,
-Juanjo


Thank you very much Juanjo Ill do that right now.
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Beta build 2020.1.0.1

Postby Carlos3D » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:24 pm

Carlos3D Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:24 pm
Works perfectly, thank you very much Juanjo and Lewis...

Never video format only sequence.
Attachments
Untitled-2.jpg
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:56 am [ UTC ]