New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Forums: New daz beta adds native strand based hair
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby face_off » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:28 am

face_off Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:28 am
Strand based hair just doesn't render, no matter how many times you load it or tessellate it with 1's, 2's or even 3's.
If you can send me a stand hair prop which does not render using the above method, I can take a closer look.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14167
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby RGUS » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:51 am

RGUS Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:51 am
face_off wrote:
Strand based hair just doesn't render, no matter how many times you load it or tessellate it with 1's, 2's or even 3's.
If you can send me a stand hair prop which does not render using the above method, I can take a closer look.

Paul


PM link sent Paul
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 436.02
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.383 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby face_off » Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:06 am

face_off Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:06 am
PM link sent Paul
Thanks for sending through the hair sample. As you reported, it does not render in Octane. Octane is rendering the scalp and the bow, but not the hair. For some reason DAZStudio is not providing polygon for this particular hair prop, and from the plugin side is it not possible to determine why. Unfortunately I don't think is something I can fix at the plugin end. In the long term the plugin needs to be modified to support DAZStudio strand hair. Sorry I can't offer better news.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14167
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby RGUS » Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:20 am

RGUS Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:20 am
face_off wrote:
PM link sent Paul
Thanks for sending through the hair sample. As you reported, it does not render in Octane. Octane is rendering the scalp and the bow, but not the hair. For some reason DAZStudio is not providing polygon for this particular hair prop, and from the plugin side is it not possible to determine why. Unfortunately I don't think is something I can fix at the plugin end. In the long term the plugin needs to be modified to support DAZStudio strand hair. Sorry I can't offer better news.

Paul


Bugger... I guess the merchants are all gonna use this method for hair now... makes Octane for Studio even less inviting. On well, nothings forever.
Thanks Paul.
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 436.02
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.383 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby TRRazor » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:20 pm

TRRazor Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:20 pm
It's absolutely unacceptable, that a key feature - that DAZ3D also is marketing as one - is not being picked up, by the OCDS-plug-in.
For as long as we could, we did accept key features of OctaneRender not carrying over to the OCDS-plug-in, but features, that do come with the host application? Not at all, this needs to change, and I'm kindly asking somebody from Otoy to please look into this.
W10 64 bit | i7 3770K | MSI Geforce RTX 2080 (8GB) + GTX Titan Black (6GB) | 32 GB DDR3 RAM
REALISTIC HUMAN SKIN SHADING - REDEFINED
RedSpec TGX Hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender - OUT NOW visit http://redspec-sss.com/
User avatar
TRRazor
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:21 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby birdovous » Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:48 pm

birdovous Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:48 pm
TRRazor wrote:It's absolutely unacceptable, that a key feature - that DAZ3D also is marketing as one - is not being picked up, by the OCDS-plug-in.
For as long as we could, we did accept key features of OctaneRender not carrying over to the OCDS-plug-in, but features, that do come with the host application? Not at all, this needs to change, and I'm kindly asking somebody from Otoy to please look into this.


Unfortunately it is not just about the strand based hair. Lately it feels like the more features are added either to the Octane render itself or DAZ Studio, the less usable the DAZ plugin becomes as it lacks support for those. :(
Birdovous
Master: Core i7 2600K, 32GB RAM, 2x EVGA GTX Titan X (SC)
Slave 1: Core i5 4460, 16GB RAM, 2x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Slave 2: Core i7 9700K, 64GB RAM, 2x ASUS RTX 2080 Ti
User avatar
birdovous
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby TRRazor » Sat Sep 21, 2019 11:11 am

TRRazor Sat Sep 21, 2019 11:11 am
The excuse, that face_off took over development of a totally neglected plug-in several years ago, really isn't a valid excuse anymore at this point.
OCDS lacks so many features, that it's nothing but an insult to paying customers who are now being asked to shell out the exact same amount of cash, than for the fully fledged 3DS, C4D or Maya plug-ins.

As mentioned above, not only does it not support key features from its host application but frequently misses features from new OctaneRender iterations.

A full re-code is much needed, something that can be built upon on in the same way, in which the other plug-ins are developed in. And if face_off isn't the right person to be handling this, since he has too much work on his hands by caring for the other plug-ins, then bring somebody else in, to support him.
At this point, it really needs Otoy's attention, it can't carry on like this any longer.
W10 64 bit | i7 3770K | MSI Geforce RTX 2080 (8GB) + GTX Titan Black (6GB) | 32 GB DDR3 RAM
REALISTIC HUMAN SKIN SHADING - REDEFINED
RedSpec TGX Hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender - OUT NOW visit http://redspec-sss.com/
User avatar
TRRazor
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:21 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby face_off » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:50 am

face_off Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:50 am
TRRazor wrote:The excuse, that face_off took over development of a totally neglected plug-in several years ago, really isn't a valid excuse anymore at this point.
OCDS lacks so many features, that it's nothing but an insult to paying customers who are now being asked to shell out the exact same amount of cash, than for the fully fledged 3DS, C4D or Maya plug-ins.

As mentioned above, not only does it not support key features from its host application but frequently misses features from new OctaneRender iterations.

A full re-code is much needed, something that can be built upon on in the same way, in which the other plug-ins are developed in. And if face_off isn't the right person to be handling this, since he has too much work on his hands by caring for the other plug-ins, then bring somebody else in, to support him.
At this point, it really needs Otoy's attention, it can't carry on like this any longer.
I have been keeping OTOY updated on the issues with the plugin, and the features that are missing, so they are aware of the problem.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14167
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby TRRazor » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:44 pm

TRRazor Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:44 pm
I have been keeping OTOY updated on the issues with the plugin, and the features that are missing, so they are aware of the problem.

Thanks for the heads-up, Paul.

Again: My posts are not meant to criticize your work and support for OCDS in any way shape or form. It's just, that something needs to happen and it can't be done by you alone. Otoy needs to realize, that help is needed and that they need to support you more with this.
It'd be a shame to see the potential OCDS has, go to waste...
W10 64 bit | i7 3770K | MSI Geforce RTX 2080 (8GB) + GTX Titan Black (6GB) | 32 GB DDR3 RAM
REALISTIC HUMAN SKIN SHADING - REDEFINED
RedSpec TGX Hair for Poser / DAZ Studio OctaneRender - OUT NOW visit http://redspec-sss.com/
User avatar
TRRazor
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:21 am

Re: New daz beta adds native strand based hair

Postby Sorel » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:46 pm

Sorel Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:46 pm
TRRazor wrote:
I have been keeping OTOY updated on the issues with the plugin, and the features that are missing, so they are aware of the problem.

Thanks for the heads-up, Paul.

Again: My posts are not meant to criticize your work and support for OCDS in any way shape or form. It's just, that something needs to happen and it can't be done by you alone. Otoy needs to realize, that help is needed and that they need to support you more with this.
It'd be a shame to see the potential OCDS has, go to waste...


My thoughts exactly. I'm hoping otoy steps up. I really love this renderer, I'd hate to downgrade to iray.
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:04 pm [ UTC ]