OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.2 RC3

Forums: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.2 RC3
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby juanjgon » Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:33 am

juanjgon Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:33 am
Hmm, I think that this feature is not available yet, or at least I can't find it even in the latest 2019.1 Standalone builds.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby pixym » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:11 pm

pixym Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:11 pm
Okay Juanjo, Thanks for this usefull information.
Work Station : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - Intel i9 7980XE (2,6ghz 18 cores / 36 threads) - 32GB - 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
NET RENDER : MB Biostar TB250-BTC Pro - Celeron 2C/2T - Open "Mining" Rig - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7
pixym
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:27 pm
Location: French West Indies

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby Pavlov » Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:15 pm

Pavlov Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:15 pm
Hi,
just installed it, seems fine but if i try to set a material from menu i get this:

Screenshot_1.jpg


Any idea ?
Thanks
I7 960 3.2 GHZ - 6GB ram - GTS 250 display only - Asus GTX 470
Pavlov
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 8:49 am

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby AndyM1969 » Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:54 pm

AndyM1969 Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:54 pm
Add the material from the nodes, not from the drop down menu.
AndyM1969
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:26 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:12 am

juanjgon Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:12 am
Pavlov wrote:Hi,
just installed it, seems fine but if i try to set a material from menu i get this:


Hi,

I've been checking this issue and it seems a problem related to the new LightWave 2019.1 version. In LightWave 2019.0 all seems to work fine. It could be a bug on the LightWave side, but I'll investigate it.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby scooternva » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:53 pm

scooternva Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:53 pm
Have there been any improvements to the user interface for OSL nodes in LightWave's node editor? Simple example: the Mandlebrot example (https://docs.otoy.com/osl) in the online documentation. In standalone OctaneRender there are sliders for the numeric inputs. In LightWave, all you get are the connection pins (which ignore the string labels in the function declaration and expose the underlying variable names instead). This is especially a problem with enum-type inputs (e.g., "mapper"), and it makes using string inputs (e.g., to select a filename) impossible.
OctaneRender 2018.1.3 | LightWave 2019.0.3 | Win 10 Pro x64 1903 | 2 x Gigabyte AORUS RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme w/NVLink | Gigabyte AORUS Xtreme X399 | AMD Ryzen 2950X | 64 GB RAM | SSDs: Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB + Seagate FireCuda 510 2 TB | https://gammans.zone
User avatar
scooternva
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:13 pm
Location: Suburban Washington DC

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:40 pm

juanjgon Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:40 pm
scooternva wrote:Have there been any improvements to the user interface for OSL nodes in LightWave's node editor? Simple example: the Mandlebrot example (https://docs.otoy.com/osl) in the online documentation. In standalone OctaneRender there are sliders for the numeric inputs. In LightWave, all you get are the connection pins (which ignore the string labels in the function declaration and expose the underlying variable names instead). This is especially a problem with enum-type inputs (e.g., "mapper"), and it makes using string inputs (e.g., to select a filename) impossible.


Not yet, sorry. I want to work on it at some point, but the ancient LightWave nodes architecture doesn't make this kind of features easy to implement at all. Probably one first step could be to add a custom node for the string parameters, at least to avoid this limitation.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby scooternva » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:52 am

scooternva Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:52 am
It would also be nice if OSL nodes

  1. did not lose their connections when you copy/paste the LightWave surface or the LightWave Compound node that contains them
  2. did not require a recompile when you copy/paste the surface/container node
  3. outputted more than one texture (or even better yet, outputted one or more materials).

I've got a complex node network that I'm leveraging the OSL node for to vary the appearance of an object depending on various factors that are inputs to the OSL node. Having the variances in one *.osl script makes it SO much easier to experiment with the combined effect vs. having to click, click, click all over the place to adjust node attributes one at a time, but it's aggravating having to recompile the OSL nodes and carefully re-establish the incoming connections each time that a surface or Compound container node is copy/pasted to a new surface. Native LightWave nodes don't do this... not even regular OctaneRender nodes lose their incoming connections when copy/pasting. Just a thought!
OctaneRender 2018.1.3 | LightWave 2019.0.3 | Win 10 Pro x64 1903 | 2 x Gigabyte AORUS RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme w/NVLink | Gigabyte AORUS Xtreme X399 | AMD Ryzen 2950X | 64 GB RAM | SSDs: Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB + Seagate FireCuda 510 2 TB | https://gammans.zone
User avatar
scooternva
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:13 pm
Location: Suburban Washington DC

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby juanjgon » Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:47 am

juanjgon Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:47 am
Yeah, all these problems are related to the ancient LW nodes architecture. To build or rebuild a node, you must delete all the inputs and add them again, so all the pins are disconnected. I'm not saying that this doesn't have a solution, but it is not easy at all. I'll try to work on it after finishing all the work related to the spectron lights, that is now the only main Octane 2018/2019 feature missing in the plugin, so it has top priority.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2019.1 LightWave beta build 2019.1.0.0 RC3

Postby scooternva » Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:45 pm

scooternva Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:45 pm
Spectron definitely should have top dog status; no worries! I'm a .NET system architect by day and love scripting languages, so I did the OSL thing more to see what was possible with the technology and whether it really saved me any time vs. directly editing the node attributes one at a time. In the end, I decided that it wasn't worth the extra bother, especially since it also introduced an unusual dependency for my objects that isn't versioned and still seems to be in a state of flux--I really didn't want my model leaning on a feature that might change drastically with the next release! Thanks.
OctaneRender 2018.1.3 | LightWave 2019.0.3 | Win 10 Pro x64 1903 | 2 x Gigabyte AORUS RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme w/NVLink | Gigabyte AORUS Xtreme X399 | AMD Ryzen 2950X | 64 GB RAM | SSDs: Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB + Seagate FireCuda 510 2 TB | https://gammans.zone
User avatar
scooternva
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:13 pm
Location: Suburban Washington DC
PreviousNext

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:20 am [ UTC ]