preview correct, render not

Forums: preview correct, render not
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

preview correct, render not

Postby protovu » Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:25 pm

protovu Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:25 pm
Hello,
preview_correct_render_not.png

In the attached image we see a correctly rendered Preview, and a strange Final Render.
The Preview shows a nice sharp white triangle and no edge degradation.
How do I fix this, Please? If I cannot fix in the Preview, then I am shooting in the dark here.
Thank you,
R

Win10
dualxeon
32G
2 Titanx, 1080,970

Blender_Octane_Edition_4.02.1_16.3.3stable
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: preview correct, render not

Postby ChrisH » Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:55 pm

ChrisH Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:55 pm
Your image is missing, so we can't see what's going on. :(

Take a look at this FB thread: https://www.facebook.com/groups/5007384 ... 449607031/ (Sorry if you don't have FB..)
It might help, but I can't promise that it will (since I can't see what's going on..)
Windows 10 Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 2100X 8 core 3.70GHz - 32GB RAM - GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
Stand Alone + Blender Plugin user
User avatar
ChrisH
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Lidköping, Sweden

Re: preview correct, render not

Postby protovu » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:00 pm

protovu Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:00 pm
Hi Chris,
preview_correct_render_not.png

Thank you for the quick response. I meant to delete the message, accidentally deleted only the image.

I think I figured it out, but your input is still appreciated in case I am missing something.
It seems that I had the subdiv modifier disabled in preview, but not in render...my bad.

But, here is what I am curious about: If I had wanted to use the subdiv, would this be a case for edge splitting to maintain sharp edges?
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: preview correct, render not

Postby ChrisH » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:11 pm

ChrisH Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:11 pm
That actually looks lika a problem I've been dealing with myself, today.
In my case it was with Octanes Subdivision feature (and "marked sharp edges").
The Subdiv modifier in Blender doesn't create that kind of artifacts on it's own (it doesn't "split the mesh"), but it could happen if you have the Edge Split modifier before the Subdiv.

If you want sharp edges with Subdiv modifier (Or Octanes Subdiv) you can use the "Edge Crease" tool in Edit mode (Shift+E and drag/type in value or via the Edge menu [Ctrl+E]), and/or add more supporting edge loops (perhaps not suitable in this case..), sometimes you might need to increase the edge crease on some connecting edges as well to get it to look right though..
Windows 10 Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 2100X 8 core 3.70GHz - 32GB RAM - GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
Stand Alone + Blender Plugin user
User avatar
ChrisH
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Lidköping, Sweden

Re: preview correct, render not

Postby protovu » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:28 pm

protovu Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:28 pm
Excellent info.

Thank you, Chris.

Rick
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], segoe and 0 guests

Wed Aug 21, 2019 5:57 am [ UTC ]