Incorrect glass alpha

Forums: Incorrect glass alpha
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:58 pm

Scrudje Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:58 pm
Whats wrong with reflections/refractions in the png? they do not correspond the original jpg preview
Attachments
4.jpg
reflections_wrong
3.jpg
glass_render_png
2.jpg
reflections_ok
glass.zip
(81.14 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby paride4331 » Thu Apr 11, 2019 1:53 pm

paride4331 Thu Apr 11, 2019 1:53 pm
Hi Scrudje,
I think you forgot to select Reflection pass.
you should assign Active layer ID as you want and select render pass.
Eventually you could check Keep environment option in Kernel panel, saving image with alpha.
Regards
Paride
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] ref.mp4 [ 6.04 MiB | Viewed 640 times ]

Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2637
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:23 pm

Scrudje Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:23 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
I think you forgot to select Reflection pass.
you should assign Active layer ID as you want and select render pass.
Eventually you could check Keep environment option in Kernel panel, saving image with alpha.
Regards
Paride


1. Doesn't matter reflection and refraction passes doesn't have this "black" strips like on original preview when alpha channel+render layer is on
2. If i check keep environment i ..... just look at the attach file.

Thank you
Attachments
2.jpg
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby paride4331 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:25 am

paride4331 Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:25 am
Hi Scrudje,
maybe I don't understand the question, maybe you're not considering that you are working with linear compositing. therefore black equals 0.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=66757&p=336128&hilit=photoshop#p336128
Regards
Paride
Attachments
02.jpg
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2637
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:55 pm

Scrudje Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:55 pm
Bug is present and so far it is not solved. Today only solution of this problem is "Compose":

1. Render of the image with the included alpha channel render layer(optional)
2. Render of the image with the switched-off alpha channel.
3. Compose this 2 images with aplha mask of the image with the included alpha channel + manual brush mask on problem areas

render 2 times the image that on a result to receive 1..... no comments. Octane for enthusiasts/masochists :roll:
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby paride4331 » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:23 am

paride4331 Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:23 am
Hi Scrudje,
layers allow users to separate their scene geometry into parts, where one part is meant to be visible and the rest of the parts “capture” the side effects of the visible geometry on it. The layers allow different objects to be rendered into separate images where in turn some normal render passes may be applied.
The Render layers are meant for compositing and NOT to hide parts of the scene itself.
you can use "Render Layer Mask" or criptomatte now as an alternative to this option.
As for the shadows, you can use the diffuse material "Shadow Catcher" and for the reflections you can use only "reflection pass".
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2637
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby ramone163 » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:31 pm

ramone163 Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:31 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
layers allow users to separate their scene geometry into parts, where one part is meant to be visible and the rest of the parts “capture” the side effects of the visible geometry on it. The layers allow different objects to be rendered into separate images where in turn some normal render passes may be applied.
The Render layers are meant for compositing and NOT to hide parts of the scene itself.
you can use "Render Layer Mask" or criptomatte now as an alternative to this option.
As for the shadows, you can use the diffuse material "Shadow Catcher" and for the reflections you can use only "reflection pass".
Regards
Paride


Paride, forget about passes. I think the problem is, that with Affect Alpha ON we lose some specular-reflection information. Check my images.
Attachments
Affect alpha ON.jpg
Affect alpha ON
Affect alpha OFF.jpg
Affect alpha OFF
GPU: 980+1080+1080Ti; 3ds max;
Behance portfolio; Handmadefont.com;
ramone163
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:53 pm

Scrudje Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:53 pm
ramone163 wrote:
paride4331 wrote:
Paride, forget about passes. I think the problem is, that with Affect Alpha ON we lose some specular-reflection information. Check my images.


You absolutely right, this is the problem about i post.
Last edited by Scrudje on Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby Scrudje » Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:06 pm

Scrudje Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:06 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
layers allow users to separate their scene geometry into parts, where one part is meant to be visible and the rest of the parts “capture” the side effects of the visible geometry on it. The layers allow different objects to be rendered into separate images where in turn some normal render passes may be applied.
The Render layers are meant for compositing and NOT to hide parts of the scene itself.
you can use "Render Layer Mask" or criptomatte now as an alternative to this option.
As for the shadows, you can use the diffuse material "Shadow Catcher" and for the reflections you can use only "reflection pass".
Regards
Paride


Hello Paride4331!

Does not matter how i make final image: render 1 beauty pass or render compositing passes like diffuse/reflect/refract etc. Final image must be with alpha which is included all reflections and refractions from beauty pass. In my example alpha does not have all this details(black strips from cylinder), alpha just make this black strips transparent, but it should not be.

If i open exr/tif/psd etc. in soft like photoshop i can blend passes/make alpha masks and change to any background, but i need PNG with plausible alpha without any blends.

I hope well explained
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: Incorrect glass alpha

Postby paride4331 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:20 pm

paride4331 Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:20 pm
Hi Scrudje,
I see, yes I suppose something goes wrong, I will ask to developers.
Meanwhile a workaround is creating an environment to use in Octane DayLight refractions/reflecliotions.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
03.jpg
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2637
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
Next

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:02 pm [ UTC ]