OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1

Forums: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby PolderAnimation » Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:13 am

PolderAnimation Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:13 am
Thanks guys!
Win 10 64bit | 5 x 1080ti | i7 7700K | 64GB
User avatar
PolderAnimation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:23 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby funk » Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:13 pm

funk Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:13 pm
Hey guys, I seem to be getting a crash enabling the denoiser. It's almost the same as the first XB you released where old CPUs with no AVX support were crashing.

1. Start octane
2. Add a rendertarget and select it to start rendering
3. Enable the denoiser

CRASH after a second or two
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby stefano-dear » Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:56 pm

stefano-dear Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:56 pm
funk wrote:Hey guys, I seem to be getting a crash enabling the denoiser. It's almost the same as the first XB you released where old CPUs with no AVX support were crashing.

1. Start octane
2. Add a rendertarget and select it to start rendering
3. Enable the denoiser

CRASH after a second or two


Same here on Mac... :roll:
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015) 4 GHz Intel Core i7 | 24 GB RAM | MAC 10.13.6 + GTX 1080Ti - Driver NVIDIA 387.10.10.10.40.128 | + | SLAVE Win 10 + 3x GTX 1080Ti + 2x GTX 980Ti - Driver NVIDIA 419.17 | C4D R20.059 + Octane render 4.03
stefano-dear
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:06 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby mac3d » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:22 pm

mac3d Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:22 pm
Thank you for the new release!
My Computer:i7 2,6ghz ram 8gb schede video nvidia 9600tso 512mb gtx560ti 1gb mainboard asus p6t se sistema operativo:Ubuntu 14.10 64 bit
mac3d
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby mac3d » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:37 pm

mac3d Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:37 pm
Crash with Enable Denoising.
Ubuntu 17.10 64 bit
Attachments
crash.jpg
My Computer:i7 2,6ghz ram 8gb schede video nvidia 9600tso 512mb gtx560ti 1gb mainboard asus p6t se sistema operativo:Ubuntu 14.10 64 bit
mac3d
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby enricocerica » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:10 pm

enricocerica Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:10 pm
Hi and thanks for this release,
Great to be able to compress textures, though I met a very strange issue, see the sample below, the first image is rendered with the original texture, the second one with the compressed texture.
Images are in jpg format, any idea why I got this result, and where do it finds those bricks that replace the stone ?

Edit : Well after examining the image texture, it seems that the image is shift up, the bricks come from the bottom of the image.

tst1.jpg


tst2.jpg
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby funk » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:32 pm

funk Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:32 pm
enricocerica wrote:Hi and thanks for this release,
Great to be able to compress textures, though I met a very strange issue


Confirmed here too. Enabling compression seems to be changing the way a texture is UVed. I have an image of some text UVed, and it flips upside down
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby coilbook » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:50 pm

coilbook Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:50 pm
Hi do you have any examples of this or how to do galaxies, stars etc?

" Planetary environment: Improved appearance of star field"



By the way, this octane 5 looks amazing https://youtu.be/6ChweQETKTE
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2518
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby justix » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:30 pm

justix Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:30 pm
Thanks for this, really looking for an example of the Planetary env.. anyway...with this versin how long should it takes to load like 4 Million triangles from the AI Scene? ( before start rendering not the actual loading time of the ORBX itself )

I have approx 14 secs is that ok? Wondering....
Win 7 64 | 2 X MSI AERO GtX 1070| Intel I7-6850K| 32 GB DDR4 RAM | Asus X99 II-A
User avatar
justix
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby abstrax » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:33 pm

abstrax Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:33 pm
enricocerica wrote:Hi and thanks for this release,
Great to be able to compress textures, though I met a very strange issue, see the sample below, the first image is rendered with the original texture, the second one with the compressed texture.
Images are in jpg format, any idea why I got this result, and where do it finds those bricks that replace the stone ?

Edit : Well after examining the image texture, it seems that the image is shift up, the bricks come from the bottom of the image.

tst1.jpg


tst2.jpg

Yes, I broke that on Monday shortly before we released. Sorry about that. It will be fixed in the next build.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:36 am [ UTC ]