VDB Artifact

Forums: VDB Artifact
Discuss or ask critique about your current works
Forum rules
Important notice: All artwork submitted on our public gallery forums gallery forums may or may not be used by OTOY for publication on our website gallery.
If you do not want us to publish your art, please mention it in your post clearly. (put a very red small diagonal cross in the left right corner of the image)
Any images already published on the gallery will be removed if the original author asks us to do so.
We recommend placing your credits on the images so you benefit from the exposure too, and use a minimum image width of 1200 pixels, and use pathtracing or PMC. Thanks for your attention, The OctaneRender Team.


For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.

This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

VDB Artifact

Postby p3taoctane » Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:46 pm

p3taoctane Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:46 pm
I am combining two VDB volumes and it looks like the smaller VDB bounding box region is showing through.

Any ideas what may be causing this?

Thanks

Peter

Two_VDB_Artifacts_JPG.jpg
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: VDB Artifact

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:20 am

bepeg4d Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:20 am
Hi Peter,
do you have different Step length values between the two?
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7314
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: VDB Artifact

Postby p3taoctane » Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:46 pm

p3taoctane Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:46 pm
Yeah same step values... I attached the packaged file to see if that helps pinpoint it.

I am guessing because the original VDB's are of different scale ... bu that is an uneducated guess : > )

Thanks man

Peter

VDb_SmokeTestPackaged.zip
(78.98 MiB) Downloaded 150 times
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: VDB Artifact

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:54 am

bepeg4d Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:54 am
Hi Peter,
here is my attempt:
VDb_SmokeTestPackaged_B.orbx.zip
(79.21 MiB) Downloaded 155 times

the two vdb files are differnt, one has the temperature grid while the other not.
I have changed the scale values to match the max values, I have also reduced the step leght at 0.4 and now the overlapping cube seems gone:
Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 12.42.48.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 12.43.27.jpg

ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7314
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: VDB Artifact

Postby p3taoctane » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:36 pm

p3taoctane Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:36 pm
You are the man!!!!

I have lots to learn on volumes aye.

Many thanks for your help

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Return to Works In Progress


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:25 pm [ UTC ]