OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:52 pm

face_off Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:52 pm
I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

3.4.4.79 (16-Nov-2016)
- Compiled with Octane 3.04.4

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:18 pm

Erick Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:18 pm
For the latest 2 or 3 updates, I noticed a big drop in render speed MSamples/Sec.
A lil test scene I had (a closed scene with portals, mesh emitters, sun light, .. etc.. ) was rendering with around 3.8x MSamples/sec. (plug-in vers. 3_4_0_78_Win64). Time: 3:16 mins.
Now with 3.4.4.79 (and the version before this one) it renders with around 2.0x samples, taking 6:04 mins.

Can this still related due to the portals not working properly?
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:43 pm

face_off Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:43 pm
For the latest 2 or 3 updates, I noticed a big drop in render speed MSamples/Sec.
A lil test scene I had (a closed scene with portals, mesh emitters, sun light, .. etc.. ) was rendering with around 3.8x MSamples/sec. (plug-in vers. 3_4_0_78_Win64). Time: 3:16 mins.
Now with 3.4.4.79 (and the version before this one) it renders with around 2.0x samples, taking 6:04 mins.

Can this still related due to the portals not working properly?
What about release 3.4.4.79? What graphics card do you have? Have you double checked your render priority has not been changed? If you export your scene to ORBX, does Octane Standalone also show this render speed drop?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:52 am

Erick Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:52 am
Render prio was/is set to high.
I haven't started OR stand alone in quite some time, so it took me a while to get it all over and done in it :D
The results are similar, between the latest plug in version and stand alone version 3.04.4.
So it's not plug in related, I'd guess.

Deleting the portals in the latest version, lets the M/Samples go way over 4.x, compared to the 2.x when rendering with portals, but that's kind of expected, I think.

..btw, I use the PT kernel for this.
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:14 pm

face_off Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:14 pm
Render prio was/is set to high.
I haven't started OR stand alone in quite some time, so it took me a while to get it all over and done in it :D
The results are similar, between the latest plug in version and stand alone version 3.04.4.
So it's not plug in related, I'd guess.

Deleting the portals in the latest version, lets the M/Samples go way over 4.x, compared to the 2.x when rendering with portals, but that's kind of expected, I think.

..btw, I use the PT kernel for this.
If you want to pursue this issue - export your scene from Poser as ORBX, render it in Octane Standalone version which demonstrate the render speed differences, and then report the problem with your findings, and the ORBX file to the Octane Standalone 3.04.4 release thread.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:29 pm

Erick Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:29 pm
Thanks for having a look, Paul
By now it was addressed already by another user in the latest build thread.
I just could confirm it.
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:37 pm

Erick Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:37 pm
I just read, that in OR vers. 3.04.5 the issue with Portals are fixed! YAY :D
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat Dec 03, 2016 1:04 am

face_off Sat Dec 03, 2016 1:04 am
Following is an installer compiled with the new Octane 3.05 test version.

3.5.0.79
- Compiled with Octane 3.05

https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloads/plugins/d9/35/3e/9e/OctaneRender_for_Poser_3_5_0_79_Win64.exe

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:18 am

face_off Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:18 am
Following is a highly experimental release, which introduces OCS and ORBX proxies.

3.5.2.80
- Compiled with Octane 3.05.2
- EXPERIMENTAL: Added "Proxy" option to the Node Type combobox of meshes. Select Proxy, and then you can load an ORBX or OCS file to render in place of the Figure/Prop. The OCS/ORBX file MUST HAVE A GEOMETRY OUT node (with the geometry you want to render connected to it) in the scene. If you tick the Animation->Camera Motion Blur checkbox, the timeline inside the OCS/ORBX will be updated each frame when rendering the animation, so animations inside the OCS/ORBX file will render. You can use this feature to add VDB files into your scene. The Proxy will always for placed in the centre of the scene, so to transform it you need to place a Placement node in the OCS/ORBX connected to the Geometry Out, which you can use to scale, rotate and transform the proxy.

https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloads/plugins/1f/0e/02/bb/OctaneRender_for_Poser_3_5_2_80_Win64.exe

Step 1 - Set the proxy mesh up in Octane Standalone. You MUST connect the geometry to a Geometry Out node (and potentially add a Placement node between the mesh and Geometry Out).

poser vdb standalone.png


Step 2 - Add a prop into the scene, and change it's type from Mesh to Proxy, and then load the proxy OCS/ORBX saved in step 1.

poser vdb.png


Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13853
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby spartan00j » Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:07 am

spartan00j Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:07 am
YYYYAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!! This is great. Oh! Paul, just to let you know you can't skip frames to render out animation with the Proxy.
It seems you have to start rendering at frame 1. If you start at frame 2 the proxy animation will not start.
User avatar
spartan00j
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:27 am
Location: Memphis TN
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:09 am [ UTC ]