OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00

Postby abstrax » Mon May 23, 2016 4:39 am

abstrax Mon May 23, 2016 4:39 am
Hi all,

This is the first stable release of version 3 Standalone. It's been a long time coming and a lot of work went into this version, even if it's not always visible. Of course, this is just the beginning of the v3 development cycle and there is more to come...


Plugins

Due to the recent and very late changes regarding the authentication and license management as well as the introduction of the film settings pin in the render target node, plugin developers still have to catch up and implement those changes, which means that the roll out of 3.00 versions of some plugins may take some time. I can assure you that the plugin developers are doing their best to get that done as soon as possible.

Also some of the new v3 features may not have been implemented yet in the plugins, because they take a lot of time or can't be implemented because there exists no infrastructure in the host application to generate any meaningful input data for a specific feature.


New features

A list of all the new features is provided in the new features post. The manual is continuously being updated and should already cover most of the changes.

Compared to 3.00 beta 4 nothing has changed with the exception of enabling the offline authentication. You can find more information about the offline authentication in the new features thread.


Licenses

To run 3.00 you need a v3 license. You can still run the 3.00 alpha and beta versions with a v2 license until the end of May. The current plan is that 3.00 alpha and beta versions will stop working on 1st June 2016. If the roll-out of non-beta 3.00 versions for all plugins that had a 3.00 beta version takes longer than expected we will extend this grace period.

With v3 licenses you can still use 1.xx and 2.xx versions of Octane, but v3 licenses cannot be deactivated via the OctaneLive web interface anymore, since they will be deactivated automatically by closing Octane or by signing out an offline authentication.

For more details about the new authentication and license system, please read the new features post.


CUDA requirements

Due to a CUDA compiler bug we had to switch to CUDA 7.5, which means on Windows and Linux you may need to update your NVIDIA graphics driver to a current version which supports at least CUDA 7.5. On Mac OSX you may have to update the CUDA driver for Mac to a current version supporting at least CUDA 7.5.


Known issues

We noticed that deep pixel rendering crashes the render kernels on Maxwell GPUs (compute model 5.x) if the scene contains volumes. We are still investigating, but it looks like a CUDA compiler bug. If it's a compiler issue, we will try to work around it, but it might take a while until we have found a solution for the issue.
Update: OSX authentication might fail after license updates. Please refer to this post in case you run into any problems.
Update 2: Error while initializing standalone "Could not store offline data". Please refer to this post for a temporary solution.

OctaneRender Standalone downloads

Windows
- 64-bit commercial version (ZIP archive)
- 64-bit demo version (ZIP archive)

Mac OS X
- 64-bit commercial version (DMG image)
- 64-bit demo version (DMG image)

Linux
- 64-bit commercial version (ZIP archive)
- 64-bit demo version (ZIP archive)


Photoshop workflow plugin download

You can download and install the plugin either via the Adobe Exchange platform or you can download it from the link below and manually install it.

Windows and Mac OS X
- Photoshop extension (v1.0.3) (ZXP archive)


Happy rendering,
Your OTOY NZ Team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5104
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby glimpse » Mon May 23, 2016 4:43 am

glimpse Mon May 23, 2016 4:43 am
Great! Thanks!
tomGlimps | [email protected] | 32GB | TitanBlack
Available for Freelance, Coaching & Mentoring
User avatar
glimpse
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3607
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby prehabitat » Mon May 23, 2016 6:05 am

prehabitat Mon May 23, 2016 6:05 am
Well done to all involved at Otoy!

I cant wait till the logon server maintenance stops so I can pay you my moneyz!

Login System Offline

The Customer Area is currently undergoing maintenance, please check back later.



EDIT:
License Upgrade
Sorry, the shop is temporarily offline for maintenance.
Please check back in 30 minutes or so.
Win10/3770/16gb/K600(display)/GTX780(Octane)/GTX590/372.70
Octane 3.x: GH Lands VARQ Rhino5 -Rhino.io- C4D R16 / Revit17
prehabitat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:30 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby lakris » Mon May 23, 2016 6:22 am

lakris Mon May 23, 2016 6:22 am
Weeeeeeeh!
I am interested in the Blender plugin, where can i find info about it, i need to know what is included from v3 and what is not possible.

Thanks
Win 10 - 64 bit, Intel Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHZ, 16 gb ram, EVGA GTX 1080 FTW 8GB, OctaneRender for Blender - The most recent stable build -
lakris
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:27 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby smicha » Mon May 23, 2016 6:52 am

smicha Mon May 23, 2016 6:52 am
Message: "Unable to find a license for 'OctaneRender Standalone'"
Link: <none>
Timestamp: 1463986129
Code: 10200
HTTP Status: 200
SSO Status: Signed In

Edit - bought the upgrade for v3 and now it works.
Last edited by smicha on Mon May 23, 2016 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby calus » Mon May 23, 2016 6:58 am

calus Mon May 23, 2016 6:58 am
lakris wrote:Weeeeeeeh!
I am interested in the Blender plugin, where can i find info about it, i need to know what is included from v3 and what is not possible.

Thanks

there's no Blender V3 plugin yet, so no V3 feature included in the last blender plugin.
viewtopic.php?f=113&t=53367
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby funk » Mon May 23, 2016 7:04 am

funk Mon May 23, 2016 7:04 am
Congratulations Octane team on a great release :)
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby Scottiefeng » Mon May 23, 2016 7:09 am

Scottiefeng Mon May 23, 2016 7:09 am
Congrats team!

Hopefully for every Octane user, his time and resource spent will all be justified by this new version.

Thanks guys again.

Will pay the license once released! :D
Scottiefeng
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby mirobimbo » Mon May 23, 2016 7:18 am

mirobimbo Mon May 23, 2016 7:18 am
lakris wrote:Weeeeeeeh!
I am interested in the Blender plugin, where can i find info about it, i need to know what is included from v3 and what is not possible.

Thanks


You will not receive answer about V3 Blender plugin on this forum. This subject is totally ignored.
Sorry my English.
mirobimbo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.00 [current 3.xx]

Postby Synthercat » Mon May 23, 2016 7:40 am

Synthercat Mon May 23, 2016 7:40 am
Do you mean blender-Octane V3 will never see the light of day?
Windows 10 64bit | GTX-770 OC 2GB + GTX-460 768MB | AMD FX-8320 (8 X 4.4GHz OC) | 16GB RAM
User avatar
Synthercat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:12 am
Location: Thessaloniki Greece
Next

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:03 am [ UTC ]