Blender Export problem

Forums: Blender Export problem
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby enricocerica » Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:23 am

enricocerica Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:23 am
kivig wrote:
face wrote:In Octane, right...
face

it doesn't makes sense. Such a minor change as adding new material/object shouldn't make to tune all the materials from begining. Quite a time waste.
Strangely, until now I managed to work exporting the scene without rewrite. And with last build it seems to work better.


This is because for now the OCS file is not really a scene file but just like a dump of the Octane memory environment, this will of course be solved when Octane will produce a proper and structured file format.
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby DayVids » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:18 am

DayVids Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:18 am
This still doesn't seen to address my original issue which was that the exporter seems to screw up materials when something like Text is converted to an object at the time of export, rather than before export. Maybe this is a blender bug? but would like to know if anyone else experiences it.

Put several meshes in a scene and assign various different materials
attach also put in some text and assign a material to that
export
and see if all the material assignments stay where they are supposed to

Thanks
CPU - i7-950 3.06 Ghz, 24GB Ram, Win7 x64, 2 display monitors, GeForce GTX 580 3GB Classified. I'm glad to say I LOVE OCTANE!
DayVids
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby radiance » Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:06 pm

radiance Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:06 pm
DayVids wrote:This still doesn't seen to address my original issue which was that the exporter seems to screw up materials when something like Text is converted to an object at the time of export, rather than before export. Maybe this is a blender bug? but would like to know if anyone else experiences it.

Put several meshes in a scene and assign various different materials
attach also put in some text and assign a material to that
export
and see if all the material assignments stay where they are supposed to

Thanks


Hey,

Can you give us a scene and a complete A to Z procedure on how to replicate the problem ?
Otherwise we won't be able to do much...

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby DayVids » Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:43 am

DayVids Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:43 am
I created 9 cubes and assigned individual materials

created two pieces of text, assigned them individual materials

Exported with the settings shown

See that the materials of the text are now the material of one of the boxes, and their material's were not imported into octane.



Unless I'm doing something wrong. I have to convert everything to a mesh before I export it, because the export script or blender does not keep the materials assigned to them through the export process.

Hope this helps
Attachments
Txt Bug.PNG
How it appears in Blender and export basic export settings in Blender -> Octane Export Script.
txt_mtl_not_preserved.PNG
How it imports in to Octane *note the # of materials
Export_Adv.PNG
Advanced Settings in Export
MTL_in_Blender.png
Number of Materials in Blender
CPU - i7-950 3.06 Ghz, 24GB Ram, Win7 x64, 2 display monitors, GeForce GTX 580 3GB Classified. I'm glad to say I LOVE OCTANE!
DayVids
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby radiance » Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:18 pm

radiance Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:18 pm
I'll alert enrico about this and ask him if he can fix this, i think he needs to add a few things to the exporter to temporarily convert non-mesh objects to mesh prior to exporting.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby DayVids » Sun Jul 11, 2010 3:13 am

DayVids Sun Jul 11, 2010 3:13 am
Hey Radiance,

Thanks a lot.

Like I said, if I convert to mesh and assign materials before, it works fine, but not if I export before I convert.

I supposed it could be an issue with blender not keeping materials on objects when they are converted to mesh? I don't know, but anyway, I'm glad it's known. (Took me a good couple hours while I was working on that 3D TrackMotion banner graphic, before I was able to figure out what was going on, and it was even harder because I thought I had already converted it all to mesh :) ).

Glad it's known now
CPU - i7-950 3.06 Ghz, 24GB Ram, Win7 x64, 2 display monitors, GeForce GTX 580 3GB Classified. I'm glad to say I LOVE OCTANE!
DayVids
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby enricocerica » Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:17 am

enricocerica Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:17 am
The problem is solved you can grab the new script in the relevant thread ;)
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: Blender Export problem

Postby DayVids » Mon Jul 12, 2010 2:05 am

DayVids Mon Jul 12, 2010 2:05 am
thanks a bunch!
CPU - i7-950 3.06 Ghz, 24GB Ram, Win7 x64, 2 display monitors, GeForce GTX 580 3GB Classified. I'm glad to say I LOVE OCTANE!
DayVids
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:35 am
Previous

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:03 pm [ UTC ]