Modo Plugin Roadmap

Forums: Modo Plugin Roadmap
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby Flyx » Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:52 pm

Flyx Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:52 pm
I agree, can we get back the "old" way ? Having the preview adapt to the windows size is better in my opinion (with respect to the aspect ratio), i don't always render at the same size, and finding the best percentage for the preview mode on each project is a pain, and we can't just resize on the fly to get a faster rendering when we need it.
Win 8.1 64bits | Geforce 980m GTX | I7 4740 | 16GB
User avatar
Flyx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 4:29 pm

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby portnicki » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:13 am

portnicki Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:13 am
would anyone be so kind and show me what the Octane&modo integration looks like now with the viewport integrated into modo? I'm curious to see (thinking of upgrading to 901)
i7 2600k + nVidia TITAN black
https://www.behance.net/Auror
User avatar
portnicki
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:28 am
Location: Warsaw

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:50 pm

face_off Mon Sep 14, 2015 12:50 pm
would anyone be so kind and show me what the Octane&modo integration looks like now with the viewport integrated into modo? I'm curious to see (thinking of upgrading to 901)


https://youtu.be/rvuFI3okFwA shows the new Viewport panel, and https://youtu.be/fN9H_x_pDpQ shows the new Octane layout.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13571
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby portnicki » Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:39 pm

portnicki Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:39 pm
yaay! thanks Paul, this is awesome!
these videos are also very informative and pleasent to listen, keep 'em commin'! :)
i7 2600k + nVidia TITAN black
https://www.behance.net/Auror
User avatar
portnicki
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:28 am
Location: Warsaw

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby matrix2012 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:12 pm

matrix2012 Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:12 pm
Hi,

ORBX Import.

Import Geometry, Texture, Lights ... ORBX for Modo would be great. :D
matrix2012
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:40 pm

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:34 pm

face_off Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:34 pm
ORBX Import.

Import Geometry, Texture, Lights ... ORBX for Modo would be great.
Hi - this is possible in the Nuke plugin - however in 3d host apps like Modo it would be very difficult to implement. The geometry would need to be loaded from the ORBX file into a Modo Mesh item. Whilst not impossible, it would be a very big undertaking. So it's on the very-long-term roadmap, but it's not something that could be done in the near future.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13571
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby Dmi3ryd » Thu Sep 24, 2015 8:13 am

Dmi3ryd Thu Sep 24, 2015 8:13 am
Hello Paul.

Could you please add function which change pixels interpolation from blurred to sharpen.
This works then zooming rendered image to 200 and much persent.
Win 8.1/64 | Geforce GTX780TI | Core I7 970 | 24GB
User avatar
Dmi3ryd
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:31 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby face_off » Fri Sep 25, 2015 2:42 am

face_off Fri Sep 25, 2015 2:42 am
Could you please add function which change pixels interpolation from blurred to sharpen.
This works then zooming rendered image to 200 and much persent.
Hi Dmitry - the Qt API has the ability to zoom the viewport blurred and sharp. I've attached a comparison. IMO the blurred version looks better. Is there a reason you want sharp?

Paul
Attachments
modo zoom smoothing.png
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13571
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby RobSteady » Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:29 am

RobSteady Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:29 am
+1 for not smoothed.
Don't know why it should be blurry.

3ds Max plugin is also sharp.
Photoshop showing the real deal too...
Octane for 3ds Max v2.21.1 | i7-5930K | 32GB | 1 x GTX Titan Z + 2 x GTX 980 Ti
User avatar
RobSteady
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:33 am

Re: Modo Plugin Roadmap

Postby Dmi3ryd » Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:47 am

Dmi3ryd Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:47 am
Hello, Paul.

I think best way to find compromise blur or sharp make option with blur and sharp options. User can choose which one is good for him.

In some situations sharp interpolations show better undarstanding samples problem.
It's better representation (in large zoom about 200%) problem sampling.
This is my opinion.
Win 8.1/64 | Geforce GTX780TI | Core I7 970 | 24GB
User avatar
Dmi3ryd
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:31 pm
Location: Russia
PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:47 am [ UTC ]