GTX 980 and Yosemite

Forums: GTX 980 and Yosemite
A forum for discussion, development and support, including subforums for discussion for various plugins for octane render and 3d the relevant animation packages

GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby martincarlson » Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:33 pm

martincarlson Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:33 pm
Hello everyone. Making my forum debut with some trouble questions.

I'm running Octane on an iMac 27 at work with no problems (accept the fact of just having one GPU of course). I'm running it on Yosemite and it all works (v 2.06). The C4D-plugin works as well.

Home on my Mac Pro with an GTX 980 GPU things are worse. See detailed info about my system specs in my signature.

Octane 1.55 Standalone wont even start.
Octane 2.06 and 2.12.1 starts, finds my GTX 980 GPU and lists it in available GPUs as compute model 5.2. But in the small info area at the bottom right of the viewport it says "No Cuda GPUs" or something like that in red (Can't take screen dump now because I just deactivated license.

Someone here have som positive information to share?
Martin Carlson, Visual and Audial Designer at Katzenwaffe Creative Studio | www.katzenwaffe.se | Soundcloud | Twitter

Intel Core i7-5930K / ASUS X99-E WS / 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB / 32 GB RAM / Windows 10 / C4D R16 / Octane Standalone 3.03.3 / OctaneC4D 3.03.3-R1
User avatar
martincarlson
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby abstrax » Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:30 pm

abstrax Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:30 pm
martincarlson wrote:Hello everyone. Making my forum debut with some trouble questions.

I'm running Octane on an iMac 27 at work with no problems (accept the fact of just having one GPU of course). I'm running it on Yosemite and it all works (v 2.06). The C4D-plugin works as well.

Home on my Mac Pro with an GTX 980 GPU things are worse. See detailed info about my system specs in my signature.

Octane 1.55 Standalone wont even start.
Octane 2.06 and 2.12.1 starts, finds my GTX 980 GPU and lists it in available GPUs as compute model 5.2. But in the small info area at the bottom right of the viewport it says "No Cuda GPUs" or something like that in red (Can't take screen dump now because I just deactivated license.

Someone here have som positive information to share?

Currently we can't build Maxwell CUDA binaries on OSX while also building Fermi and Kepler CUDA binaries. We could, but then Octane on OSX would get about 5-15% slower. I can't go into details, but be assured that we find that quite annoying, too.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby martincarlson » Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:40 pm

martincarlson Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:40 pm
So basicly - the 980 won't work at all in OSX in near future?
Martin Carlson, Visual and Audial Designer at Katzenwaffe Creative Studio | www.katzenwaffe.se | Soundcloud | Twitter

Intel Core i7-5930K / ASUS X99-E WS / 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB / 32 GB RAM / Windows 10 / C4D R16 / Octane Standalone 3.03.3 / OctaneC4D 3.03.3-R1
User avatar
martincarlson
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby abstrax » Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:47 pm

abstrax Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:47 pm
martincarlson wrote:So basicly - the 980 won't work at all in OSX in near future?

No, it doesn't work at the moment. But we are working on a solution.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby martincarlson » Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:57 pm

martincarlson Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:57 pm
Nice to hear. Looking forward to a solution. Would rather go with the 20% down speed than nothing right now.
Martin Carlson, Visual and Audial Designer at Katzenwaffe Creative Studio | www.katzenwaffe.se | Soundcloud | Twitter

Intel Core i7-5930K / ASUS X99-E WS / 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB / 32 GB RAM / Windows 10 / C4D R16 / Octane Standalone 3.03.3 / OctaneC4D 3.03.3-R1
User avatar
martincarlson
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby kibbycabbit » Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:57 pm

kibbycabbit Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:57 pm
Can you try again? I've confirmed my Nvidia (Maxwell) with Yosemite working with OctaneRender 2.16.
System #1: Mac Pro Early 2009, 12GB ECC RAM, Display: GTX 750 Ti 2GB (Maxwell) + CUDA: GTX 980 4GB (Maxwell)
System #2: MacBook Pro /w Retina 15", 16GB RAM, GT 650M 1GB
User avatar
kibbycabbit
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:57 pm
Location: Vancouver BC Canada

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby martincarlson » Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:30 am

martincarlson Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:30 am
Downloaded 2.16 but got error anyway. Noticed there was a newer cuda driver available (had .18). Will download and try again.

Would be a blessing to work in osx again.
Martin Carlson, Visual and Audial Designer at Katzenwaffe Creative Studio | www.katzenwaffe.se | Soundcloud | Twitter

Intel Core i7-5930K / ASUS X99-E WS / 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB / 32 GB RAM / Windows 10 / C4D R16 / Octane Standalone 3.03.3 / OctaneC4D 3.03.3-R1
User avatar
martincarlson
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby martincarlson » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:19 am

martincarlson Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:19 am
Skärmavbild 2014-12-30 kl. 10.56.21.png
Updated CUDA driver. Log tells me this.
Martin Carlson, Visual and Audial Designer at Katzenwaffe Creative Studio | www.katzenwaffe.se | Soundcloud | Twitter

Intel Core i7-5930K / ASUS X99-E WS / 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB / 32 GB RAM / Windows 10 / C4D R16 / Octane Standalone 3.03.3 / OctaneC4D 3.03.3-R1
User avatar
martincarlson
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby abstrax » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:39 am

abstrax Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:39 am
martincarlson wrote:
Skärmavbild 2014-12-30 kl. 10.56.21.png
Updated CUDA driver. Log tells me this.

Which CUDA driver did you install? Please post a screenshot of the CUDA device preferences of the Standalone so we can have a look at your setup. Thanks.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: GTX 980 and Yosemite

Postby martincarlson » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:48 am

martincarlson Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:48 am
Skärmavbild 2014-12-30 kl. 11.43.05.png

Skärmavbild 2014-12-30 kl. 11.43.28.png

Skärmavbild 2014-12-30 kl. 11.43.40.png
Martin Carlson, Visual and Audial Designer at Katzenwaffe Creative Studio | www.katzenwaffe.se | Soundcloud | Twitter

Intel Core i7-5930K / ASUS X99-E WS / 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB / 32 GB RAM / Windows 10 / C4D R16 / Octane Standalone 3.03.3 / OctaneC4D 3.03.3-R1
User avatar
martincarlson
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:18 am
Location: Sweden
Next

Return to Plugin Discussion/Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:57 pm [ UTC ]