Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Forums: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby redmotion » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:19 pm

redmotion Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:19 pm
It worked very well for me.

I did a test with a model I'm working on with over a 1000 components and it took about 70 secs to export a very clean OBJ file. All meshes merged to be a single collection of all objects with one material. Comes in very nicely into Octane.
win 7 64 | q6600 | 4gb ram | gtx 260 [196] | driver nvidia 197.13 | SketchUp7 | Softimage 2010
win 7 64 | i5-2500k | 16gb | gtx 570 | driver 275.33 | SketchUp8 Pro
User avatar
redmotion
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:05 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Nemo » Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:45 pm

Nemo Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:45 pm
Thanks for looking into it for me, T_England, I appreciate it.

Richcat wrote:If anybodys interested in the meantime I came across this exporter http://onigiriburning.so.land.to/
su2objmtl2.zip


I must agree with Redmotion, this works great. Thanks Richcat. :)
Attachments
ModernResidenceProject.jpg
Another Archiviz scene from Google's 3DWarehouse. Rendered in the Daylight environment for a few minutes.
SketchupOBJinOctane.jpg
Archiviz scene from Google's 3DWarehouse. Exported from Sketchup via su2objmtl.rb and rendered in Octane. There are some material mismatches but those are minor. Transparency wasn't imported but I think I could easily play with it later to set it up like the original.
GeForce 8800 GTS 512|Q6600|Win7 64bit
Nemo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:44 pm

TIG Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:44 pm
Hi

I'll be publishing the first screen-shot of the new Sketchup2Octane exporter/renderer UI later today - just to reassure you that something is in hand...
The original intention was that it would work with Pro and then an OBJ exporter would be added for Free later... however, because of challenges in getting the the Pro built-in OBJ exporter to mesh in anyway, it's been decided to add the new custom OBJ exporter support now - so it should now work with Pro and Free...

The first beta is still some days away - so stay tuned...
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Burkhard » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:10 pm

Burkhard Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:10 pm
Thanks TIG and welcome here!
MacPro Quad * 8Gig RAM * GTX 285 Mac Edition ( delete two GT120 to make it run with octane! ) * Snow Leopard 10.6
Burkhard
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:53 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:46 pm

TIG Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:46 pm
Here's the first screen-shot of the Sketchup2Octane exporter/renderer UI.
I'm currently working on linking all of the functions together in the background...
Attachments
Sketchup2Octane_UI_100604.PNG
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Nemo » Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:27 pm

Nemo Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:27 pm
Looking good, TIG. Glad to see you're making progress.
GeForce 8800 GTS 512|Q6600|Win7 64bit
Nemo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Richcat » Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:41 pm

Richcat Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:41 pm
Thanks for Update TIG
Its looking great :D
GTX 550Ti 1GB - XP PRO 32 bit - Sketchup Pro user.
Richcat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:48 pm
Location: uk

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby SurfingAlien » Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:48 am

SurfingAlien Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:48 am
looks very good so far, thanks for your great work TIG!
MacBookPro unibody 2x2.4GHz | 4Gb | 9400M+9600GT 256Mb | OSX 10.6.8
i7 2600-K @3.4GHz | 8Gb | GTX560Ti 2Gb | Windows7x64 | Octane 1.0 b2.52
SurfingAlien
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:05 am
Location: Italy

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby 9fly » Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:10 pm

9fly Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:10 pm
Thank in advance TIG. Keep up great work. I'm really need SU/Octane exporter.

Have a good day.
9fly
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby 9fly » Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:18 pm

9fly Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:18 pm
@ TIG

Oh, I'd just check back your image and see that you made exporter with render function. So is it not use with octane anymore or just link render like fry or maxwell.

One more thing, do your exporter can transfer SU based materials like name, difuse or transparent ability....

Thank again for your time.
9fly
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:13 am
PreviousNext

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:20 am [ UTC ]