How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Forums: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby rojharris » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:24 pm

rojharris Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:24 pm
Hi t_3

Maybe a dumb question but when I'm setting up a scene I like to view it from all angles but keep the octane viewport on the 'camera' view.
At the moment its switching to whatever view I choose and so makes it very difficult to scale lights etc and see how they affect the camera view.

I'm probably not seeing a check box perhaps?

many thanks
Roger
rojharris
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:00 am

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby t_3 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:46 pm

t_3 Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:46 pm
currently this is not possible - but i see the reason in wanting this.

i need to think about how this can be made possible, since quite a bunch of functions (most notably the viewport pickers, as well as most of the viewport context menu entries plus viewport drag&drop) require to have both views in perfect sync in order to work properly;

maybe by providing different locking modes within the "lock" viewport button; say "complete lock", "camera lock", ... they would then of course also disable any other function that won't work because of breaking some synchronization chains.

e.g. if the camera view is locked, you won't be able to use most of the viewport's more advanced functions. this would be true until octane itself provides functions, that won't any longer require me to sync the views in order to make them work...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby rojharris » Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:51 pm

rojharris Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:51 pm
OK thanks.

Its no biggie and I can live with it

R
rojharris
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:00 am

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby SimonJM » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:03 pm

SimonJM Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:03 pm
That would be a nice option to have.
SimonJM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:28 am

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby Sighman » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:24 pm

Sighman Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:24 pm
I agree. I think some kind of 'lock camera' mode would be sufficient. Or better yet, lock to a single DAZ camera object. You would only get full editing capabilities when that camera was selected. Selecting any other camera or view would not affect the octane viewport and would disable the advanced editing capabilities.
Win8/64, I7-4770K (3.5Ghz) 24GB, GTX-980ti (6GB) / GTX-TITAN (6GB)
Sighman
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:11 am
Location: Calgary, AB

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby t_3 » Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:36 am

t_3 Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:36 am
Sighman wrote:I agree. I think some kind of 'lock camera' mode would be sufficient. Or better yet, lock to a single DAZ camera object. You would only get full editing capabilities when that camera was selected. Selecting any other camera or view would not affect the octane viewport and would disable the advanced editing capabilities.
a camera lock would be indeed a lock to a specific camera, since octane cameras and daz cameras are currently always paired. i plan to later add a switch to the viewport to change cameras directly from there (maybe also a camera navigation tool), so these would play nicely together.

oh, and by the way: whoever can afford a spacepilot (often sold cheap on ebay) or a spacemouse, or any kind of 3d mouse - get yourself one. it makes camerawork 3 times more efficient, let alone in DS already, but together with the octane-integration, it's pure fun - can't live without it...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby linvanchene » Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:52 am

linvanchene Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:52 am
edited and removed by user
Last edited by linvanchene on Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby t_3 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:07 am

t_3 Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:07 am
linvanchene wrote:Is there any command / settings I am missing to navigate the plugin viewport without using the DS viewport?
no, you had not missed anyhting ;)

linvanchene wrote:Currently I end up placing the octane viewport somewhat over the DS viewport but letting the DS controls for orbit, pan, zoom, frame, aim at in the top right corner of the ds viewport still appear.
this is a good workaround for the time being - i would have recommended to do exactly this until...

linvanchene wrote:Feature idea:
It would be cool to have access to scene / active camera navigation "buttons" right on the Octane plugin viewport as well.
... this gets implemented :)

linvanchene wrote:It is somewhat insane before DS I was so used to the DS viewport and not really seeing how things look.
But now that there is a live preview viewport I find myself just wanting to move around in the scene looking at everything from different angles.
i perfectly understand that; that one starts to use the octane viewport in fact instead the ds viewport was not initially planned - but it seems like this starts to get common for quite some people already.

putting it short: this is on my todo list. it is not something to get done within a day or two, but it will come ;)
the only thing that would be even better is to have a spacepilot...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: How do I stop the viewport changing from camera view

Postby t_3 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:34 pm

t_3 Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:34 pm
dev update regarding camera only lock modes:

this is now implemented in a way by presenting a menu when clicking the lock button, which allows to...
  • lock the viewport/rendering completely (like it did already)
  • lock the camera switch only = the viewport won't change when switching cameras in DS, but the camera is still operable (if it is the current active camera in the DS viewport)
  • lock the current camera = the current camera view is frozen (rendering will of course continue)

the new camera locks in addition will disable viewport picker tools as necessary (as long as the octane viewport and the DS viewport are out of sync); this means if only the switch is locked, they can still be used, as long as the current DS camera is also the current octane camera...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Oct 21, 2020 1:51 am [ UTC ]