Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Forums: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby orion_uk » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:52 am

orion_uk Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:52 am
Hi, Its been a LONG time since I have used Octane (2.58e) and the blender addon (v120)..I am lost and need to go back to basics i gues ;P

After exporting image via Blender (2.64) Octane opens up but the ONLY object node seems to be a NULL object, and yet in my scene there is a plane AND a cube mesh! I was expecting one node with multiple objects!

I seem to have forgotten all about using Octane render and Blender! lol..

Why does my OBJ node NOT list multiple objects that are in my scene please? I am guessing that its a setting in the exporter but not sure what to change! Thanks for any advcie :)

Also, how do i go back and forth between Blender and Octane on the same scene (to make changes/update in blender) with out multiple copies of Octane opening up!

EDIT: import to Blender option seems to have fixed this, Doh! :P

Still one node (null object) but node seperate object data tho!

EDIT: ok, adding materials to the objects in blender helped..lol :D Had to turn off import render to Blender option though.

Think I had better got back on youtube and view MTimtams videos all over again :P Need to re program my brain on the work flow :D

Sorry but since my bike accident i have had to start learning things all over again :(

Warmest regards to you all :)
Attachments
Capture.PNG
screen cap..
Last edited by orion_uk on Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?

Postby matej » Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:11 am

matej Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:11 am
Octane doesn't really know about "objects", everything is treated just as a one big mesh.

Your complete scene is one "object" in Octane. When you assign different materials to your objects in Blender in Octane the materials are assigned to different parts of the whole mesh.

If you update your scene in Blender, then you must re-export to Octane. Your settings in Octane will stay, just the .obj / .mtl files will be updated
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby orion_uk » Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:21 am

orion_uk Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:21 am
Thanks mateJ :D

Seems like those bumps on the head (Bike accident) knocked more than the wind out of me :P
I posted a little too soon as things are slowly coming back to me now, but I do need to start all over again :(

Anyway, Thank you for your kind reply and time :)
Think I remember talking to you from when I was about before, I dunno.. 40 next month and I have the memorie of a gold fish!

:)
Attachments
Capture2.PNG
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby matej » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:14 pm

matej Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:14 pm
Bike as in mountain-bike or motorbike? Just curious, cause I do some mountainbiking myself...

Anyway, I hope you did wear your helmet. :)
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby orion_uk » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:35 pm

orion_uk Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:35 pm
matej wrote:Bike as in mountain-bike or motorbike? Just curious, cause I do some mountainbiking myself...

Anyway, I hope you did wear your helmet. :)


Motorbike :)

I had a lid on but was hit side on when a car came out of a side turn (with out looking), i bounced off the bonnet and flew in to the on coming traffic lane :/

Anyhow, I am doing better now :)

Four years of operations and therapy, my memory is improving and my body has heald (90%), I have just had the last of the metal work removed from my hand, thumbs knackered but hay ho!

One last question if I may please?

Render animation renders the first frame fine. I click render animation, Octane starts up, renders first frame,closes but does NOT start up again for the second frame!

Any ideas?

Thanks again :)
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby matej » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:47 pm

matej Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:47 pm
That sounds nasty :| I'm glad you made it out...

About that other problem see here
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby orion_uk » Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:44 pm

orion_uk Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:44 pm
Worked a charm ;)
Thank you for all you time and help today matej, V-kind of you indeed :D
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Help needed, back to basics..obj import?...RESOLVED.

Postby orion_uk » Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:47 pm

orion_uk Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:47 pm
oops, double post!
:P
http://www.Neil-Isted.com
Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
1x Titan (6GB)
2x GTX 660Ti 2GB
Win10 Pro 64-bit
Carrara 8.5 Pro
Carrara - OR4C
OctaneRender™ for Blender
Ds pro
OR Standalone V4
Poser Plugin
User avatar
orion_uk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:56 pm

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:03 pm [ UTC ]