Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Forums: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby HTK421 » Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:36 pm

HTK421 Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:36 pm
This bug is reproducible.
(Basic Scene file, + screenshot, + octane log are zipped and attached)

1. Open the file. It has a simple primitive with a noise displacement material.
2. In the displacement node, 'drag' the height slider to increase the displacement height value.
CRASH. Every time.

Note, If I type in a value, or increment it with the button it does not crash. It crashes only when 'dragging' the slider.

WIN 10 1809 ( we cannot upgrade to 1903 yet due to corporate IT policy)
Octane Render 2019.1.4
CUDA 431.86
GPU RTX2080Ti x 3
RAM 64Gb
Attachments
Octane Bug Report 2.7z
(104.11 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
HTK421
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby aoktar » Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:40 pm

aoktar Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:40 pm
1.Can I see bugreport.zip?
2. What happen when you use the ImageTexture instead of C4D's noise shader?

You're using C4D shader and it can cause crashes due to shaderToTexture functionality.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12715
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby HTK421 » Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:46 pm

HTK421 Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:46 pm
Hi Ahmet
_BugReport.zip now attached
Attachments
_BugReport.zip
(158.94 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
HTK421
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby aoktar » Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:48 pm

aoktar Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:48 pm
Thanks!
It's noise crash, I don't advice to use c4d shaders by crashes.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12715
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby HTK421 » Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:56 pm

HTK421 Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:56 pm
But I thought procedural C4D noises were now supported, and we no longer had to bake procedurals into textures...
Is that not the case ?
screen shot2.jpg
HTK421
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:46 pm

Re: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:37 am

bepeg4d Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:37 am
Have you tried with Octane procedural textures?
Try also with OSL noise and patterns.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6766
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Reproducible bug: Crash when moving displacement slider

Postby aoktar » Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:27 am

aoktar Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:27 am
HTK421 wrote:But I thought procedural C4D noises were now supported, and we no longer had to bake procedurals into textures...
Is that not the case ?
screen shot2.jpg

They are not yet supported by helping of osl scripts. Planned for future
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12715
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:59 am [ UTC ]