Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Forums: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby H1261613 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:42 am

H1261613 Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:42 am
I cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6 ....
anyone encounters the same problem?

The error message says

Rhino Plug-in Error
"Unable to load OctaneRenderForRhino.rhp plug-in:initialization failed. "


I have uninstalled Rhino 5 from my laptop, and there should be nothing puzzling for the installer.
Anything I can do about this bug ?

[img]
Screenshot%20(216).png
[/img]
Attachments
Screenshot (216).png
H1261613
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:57 am

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby face_off » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:58 pm

face_off Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:58 pm
Can you post a screenshot of the "Details" screen pls?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13281
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby Tipperz » Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:04 pm

Tipperz Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:04 pm
Hi Paul

I'm having the same issue but with a license.

The details aren't saying much....

Thanks in advance
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Win7 pro 64 / i7 4930 3.4 6core / 2x gtx 680 4gb / 32gb DDR3
Tipperz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:19 am

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby face_off » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:11 am

face_off Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:11 am
What SR of Rhino6 do you have installed pls?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13281
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby Tipperz » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:27 am

Tipperz Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:27 am
SR 8.

I've checked for updates on rhino 6 and everything is up to date

Thanks
Win7 pro 64 / i7 4930 3.4 6core / 2x gtx 680 4gb / 32gb DDR3
Tipperz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:19 am

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby face_off » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:53 am

face_off Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:53 am
The plugin was built using Rhino6 SR8, so the installer should work. If it will not install, then there is an issue with your Rhino6 installation. May I suggest reinstalling Rhino6, or submitting a bug report to McNeel.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13281
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby face_off » Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:58 am

face_off Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:58 am
McNeel have got back to me on this issue, and suggest installing Rhino6 SR9, since it contains some bug fixes in the installer code which may resolve this issue.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13281
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby Tipperz » Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:19 am

Tipperz Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:19 am
Hi Paul

Thanks for the help. although installing SR9 didn't work I figured out a way in which it did.

I uninstalled rhino six and then manually uninstalled the footprint it left behind (folders in App data & Program data. I also deleted the rhino 6 registry keys)

After i did this I installed rhino 6 and octane plug in and it worked fine

Thanks
Win7 pro 64 / i7 4930 3.4 6core / 2x gtx 680 4gb / 32gb DDR3
Tipperz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:19 am

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby Malare » Fri Nov 23, 2018 5:56 pm

Malare Fri Nov 23, 2018 5:56 pm
Today I downloaded Octane 4 for rhino 5 and 6.
Installation for rhino 5 was OK but for Rhino 6 I get the same faults as Tipperz. I tried to do the same thing as he did but I can't get it to work. I use Rhino 6.10 and Win 7.
Malare
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Cannot install the octane demo for rhino 6

Postby Malare » Fri Nov 23, 2018 8:49 pm

Malare Fri Nov 23, 2018 8:49 pm
Well, I finally got it working. I had to install manually and I also had to select Octane as renderer otherwise it would not load.
Malare
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 5:36 pm
Next

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Jun 24, 2019 12:27 pm [ UTC ]