OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2

Postby abstrax » Wed May 31, 2017 1:52 am

abstrax Wed May 31, 2017 1:52 am
Hi all,

This release fixes more bugs and updates OctaneBench. We are currently updating the OctaneBench website (https://render.otoy.com/octanebench/) to the new version, but the results of OctaneBench 2.17 will still be accessible after the update.

You can find an overview of all new major features of 3.06 in this thread.


Changes since version 3.06.1:

  • Added warning to the batch render script if you have "save all enabled render passes" enabled, but no %p in the file template.
  • Updated the OctaneBench resources.
  • Fixed missing illumination when the sampling rate of an emitter is set to 0.
  • Fixed broken wireframe rendering when the baking camera is used,
  • Fixed bug in the batch render job graph that disconnected render target nodes if a scene doesn't have animation.
  • Fixed invalid error message when you try to pick a camera target or focus while using a baking camera.
  • Fixed crash when a project gets loaded, but there is no main window (for example in the benchmark script).
  • Lua: Extended octane.render.PROPS_RENDER_DEVICE to contain the current error state of the render device and its memory statistics.
  • Lua: Fixed LuaBitmap which didn't display images correctly on OSX.


Downloads for users with a regular license

regular version for Windows (installer)
regular version for Windows (ZIP archive)
regular version for Mac OS X (DMG image)
regular version for Linux (ZIP archive)


Downloads for users with a subscription license

subscription version for Windows (installer)
subscription version for Windows (ZIP archive)
subscription version for Mac OS X (DMG image)
subscription version for Linux (ZIP archive)


Demo version downloads

demo version for Windows (installer)
demo version for Windows (ZIP archive)
demo version for Mac OS X (DMG image)
demo version for Linux (ZIP archive)


Photoshop workflow plugin download

You can download and install the plugin either via the Adobe Exchange platform (the latest version still needs to be approved by Adobe, so it may take some time to show up) or you can download it from the link below and manually install it.

Windows and Mac OS X
Photoshop extension (v1.0.5) (ZXP archive)


Happy rendering,
Your OTOY NZ Team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby smicha » Wed May 31, 2017 6:23 am

smicha Wed May 31, 2017 6:23 am
Thank you guys for your work.

PS. Small wish - can we have an option during installation to uninstall older Octane versions? If there are more of them, with a tick list?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby nuno1980 » Wed May 31, 2017 10:01 am

nuno1980 Wed May 31, 2017 10:01 am
New version of OctaneBench but... PMC kernel is removed for bench!?! Why?
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

i7-4790K w/ or w/o OC
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ Gaming :D
SSD OCZ RD400 512GB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BDXL BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
CRT monitor 19" SM 957MB
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby itou31 » Wed May 31, 2017 11:55 am

itou31 Wed May 31, 2017 11:55 am
I think that PMC is too CPU dependant.
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
User avatar
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:43 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Wed May 31, 2017 8:35 pm

abstrax Wed May 31, 2017 8:35 pm
nuno1980 wrote:New version of OctaneBench but... PMC kernel is removed for bench!?! Why?

Itou32 is right. The problem is that PMC is currently "bottlenecked" by the film splatting which happens on the host/CPU. Until this problem has been solved there isn't much point in adding it to the benchmark, which is supposed to tell you about the GPU performance. When this problem has been solved, we will add it back in a future version of OctaneBench.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Wed May 31, 2017 9:07 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Wed May 31, 2017 9:07 pm
abstrax wrote:
nuno1980 wrote:New version of OctaneBench but... PMC kernel is removed for bench!?! Why?

Itou32 is right. The problem is that PMC is currently "bottlenecked" by the film splatting which happens on the host/CPU. Until this problem has been solved there isn't much point in adding it to the benchmark, which is supposed to tell you about the GPU performance. When this problem has been solved, we will add it back in a future version of OctaneBench.


I can make you a normal interior for a benchmark! This is now added horror) It will be optimized but attractive! is free!
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby nuno1980 » Wed May 31, 2017 11:15 pm

nuno1980 Wed May 31, 2017 11:15 pm
abstrax wrote:The problem is that PMC is currently "bottlenecked" by the film splatting which happens on the host/CPU. Until this problem has been solved there isn't much point in adding it to the benchmark, which is supposed to tell you about the GPU performance. When this problem has been solved, we will add it back in a future version of OctaneBench.
Yeah. Lower parallel samples (PMC) = higher CPU limited for OR v3.0x only. Try OR v2.26.1 (Pascal support) for CPU pure offload for multi-GPU. :)
Thank you. ;)
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

i7-4790K w/ or w/o OC
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ Gaming :D
SSD OCZ RD400 512GB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BDXL BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
CRT monitor 19" SM 957MB
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby enricocerica » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:02 pm

enricocerica Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:02 pm
Is it possible to add a random float value node with a definition of range in the "Values" menu.
It would be very useful to make varing several values on instances for instance.
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:09 pm

bepeg4d Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:09 pm
Hi Enrico,
just to clarify, you want random values for position, rotation, scale of the instances, or random values for material settings of the instances?
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6685
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06.2 [current 3.xx]

Postby DinoMuhic » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:58 pm

DinoMuhic Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:58 pm
Hey,

when can we expect the dirt node to work again in the emission channels? It used to work but its broken for a while now.

Is it being worked on?
DinoMuhic
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 10:24 pm
Next

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 12:52 pm [ UTC ]