Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Forums: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby mlmcgoogan » Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:14 pm

mlmcgoogan Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:14 pm
Plugin version: 2019.1.4 (11/22/19) (Enteprise sub)
HDK Version: 18.0.287.9


Attached is a simple example HIP. Basically any displacement fed into a material node breaks any point attributes used in the material. Using a procedural texture in the HIP but this happens with loaded textures as well. If you disconnect the displacement, the point attribute will read correctly, with displacement connected, point attributes no longer work.

I'm not sure if this is an existing limitation or a new bug but this kills a lot of my workflow if I cant get displacement alongside point attribs. I've been shifting back to Octane from Redshift because of the improved network rendering but this has been causing a number of blocker issues for me.

Thanks for any assist juanjgon!
Attachments
octane_disp_breaks_attrib.zip
(43.21 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
mlmcgoogan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby blobbybarack » Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:15 pm

blobbybarack Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:15 pm
Not in front of a computer but i m curious.
With and without subdivision at the new displace node?
blobbybarack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby mlmcgoogan » Tue Dec 10, 2019 6:00 pm

mlmcgoogan Tue Dec 10, 2019 6:00 pm
The new Vertex Displacement node does not break attributes. Unfortunately for typical float texture displacement, the Vertex Displacement node is about an order of magnitude slower to achieve similar results.
mlmcgoogan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby juanjgon » Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:41 pm

juanjgon Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:41 pm
Yes, sorry, this is a known limitation of the conventional old displacement node, although I think that this is a planned feature in the short term.

Meanwhile, the solution is to use the new vertex displacement node, that doesn't have this limitation.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
2019-12-10 22_42_04-C__Users_juanj_Desktop_octane_disp_breaks_attrib.hiplc - Houdini Apprentice Non-.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby mlmcgoogan » Wed Dec 11, 2019 10:37 pm

mlmcgoogan Wed Dec 11, 2019 10:37 pm
Understood, thanks for the update!
mlmcgoogan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby mlmcgoogan » Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:09 pm

mlmcgoogan Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:09 pm
juanjgon,

Out of curiosity, what's the difference in terms of how the regular Displacement node works vs. vertex displacement? It seems like Vertex Displacement is just doing render-time tessellation and interpolating attrib values? How does the regular Displacement node work differently?
mlmcgoogan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby blobbybarack » Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:43 pm

blobbybarack Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:43 pm
You could use procedural with the new one abnd as far i remenber you can't set up subdiv level at shader level with the older
blobbybarack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Displacement breaks point/vertex attributes

Postby juanjgon » Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:27 pm

juanjgon Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:27 pm
The vertex displacement works like the conventional tessellation and displacement features found in near all other CPU and GPU renderers, computing a physically subdivided/displaced mesh before rendering the scene. The old Octane displacement node works at render time, without physically subdivide or displace the base mesh.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:19 am [ UTC ]