Lightwave animation workflow

Forums: Lightwave animation workflow
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Lightwave animation workflow

Postby marchermitte » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:57 am

marchermitte Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:57 am
Hello! I'm trying to setup a simple animation from lightwave to Octane and It doesn't seem to work... what's the workflow / workaround? I'd like to animate not only the camera but also some meshes (no vertex deformation, only mesh moving around) Can anyone advise me?
Thank you!
Marc Hermitte
Intel I7 4.5 Ghz, 24 gig ram, 2x Nvidia GTX 480, win 764bits
marchermitte
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Geneva

Re: Lightwave animation workflow

Postby scratch33 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:15 pm

scratch33 Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:15 pm
Hello,

You must set the animation in lightwave, then setup the octane exporter plugin like you setup for one picture.

Finaly you push the "render animation".

The problem is that if you have a change in the scene( including mesh moving), the plugin must send the scene to octane for every frame...
And depend on your scene... This can take a very long time...
scratch33
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:45 am
Location: Bienne(Switzerland)

Re: Lightwave animation workflow

Postby marchermitte » Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:51 pm

marchermitte Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:51 pm
Ok, until now I tested with just a basic cube anim and a plane... and It takes forever, actualy It looks like It crashed. It would be much better to use MDD file (vertex displacement infos) or the equivalent for 3Dmax and Maya, Geocache I think. This way you import the obj and apply MDD in the scene, no need to export anim from the native application for each frame.
Marc Hermitte
Intel I7 4.5 Ghz, 24 gig ram, 2x Nvidia GTX 480, win 764bits
marchermitte
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Geneva

Re: Lightwave animation workflow

Postby scratch33 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:22 pm

scratch33 Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:22 pm
Ok, until now I tested with just a basic cube anim and a plane... and It takes forever


Try in fast mode. The normal mode is too slow.
scratch33
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:45 am
Location: Bienne(Switzerland)

Re: Lightwave animation workflow

Postby marchermitte » Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:34 pm

marchermitte Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:34 pm
I'm already im faste mode.
Marc Hermitte
Intel I7 4.5 Ghz, 24 gig ram, 2x Nvidia GTX 480, win 764bits
marchermitte
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: Geneva

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:23 pm [ UTC ]