OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby coilbook » Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:57 pm

coilbook Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:57 pm
mbetke wrote:Can't render with this release. Using 431.86 Studio Drivers. As soon as the Octane Viewport opens, 3ds max nearly freezes and I have to click the red x several times until I get the whole program closed.
I didn't set a GPU to low priority because it was never necessary and I always had a smooth interaction.

EDIT: Updated to the latest Studio Driver. Problem persists. All displays nice until I click something in the viewport. Then endless lag and no interaction.

same here since 2019.1.5 engine our max randomly crashes 1.4 works fine with studio drivers 441.66
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2610
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby javierluisbravo » Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:57 pm

javierluisbravo Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:57 pm
javierluisbravo wrote:
paride4331 wrote:
javierluisbravo wrote:I still don't understand why "OctaneRender_VR_for_3ds_Max_2018.1.2_-_7.06" works perfect regarding movable proxy objects.
and all the other versions i tested later... objects that has "movable proxy ON" don't update correctly (i think instanced geo or lights)

is something that i am missing?

my simple workflow is in octane properties... i turn on movable proxy to objects that needs to be updated because they rotate, change or something... to be safe.
and that worked perfectly in 2018.1.2 and earlier versions i used

... but after plugin 2018.1.2.. the new ones i tested.. that couldn't work anymore so clean and nicely.

why is that? it happened to like 3 or 4 versions i tested (2018 and 2019 both) and it forces me to go back to 2018.1.2
Thanks in advanced


Hi javierluisbravo,
could you share a movable proxy scene issued please?
this issue coming from OctaneRender for 3ds max v2018.1.2 - 7.06, Is it correct?
Regards
Paride


The problem is the scatter of some geo instances and LIGHTS and the refresh of their position based on the real scene (even they are set as movable proxy!)
I notice this as i have ALL linked to a dummy that rotates and move . The problem is that some instanced elements don't update correctly unless i force in that frame a REBUILD scene.

Octane for 3dsmax 2018.1.2 7.06 => WORKS PERFECT with "use same scatter node for comp instances: CHECKED"
Octane for 3dsmax 2018.1.3 7.16 => NOT WORKING PROPERLY with "use same scatter node for comp instances: CHECKED"

Octane for 3dsmax 2019.1.5 8.14 => NOT WORKING PROPERLY with "use same scatter node for comp instances: CHECKED"
Octane for 3dsmax 2019.1.5 8.15 => NOT WORKING PROPERLY with "use same scatter node for comp instances: CHECKED"

Having "Use same scatter node for compatible instances: unchecked" FIXES the problem... But what's the point having that off? as in version 2018.1.2 7.06 works great with that ON/CHECKED. Why it STOPPED working after that version? All the versions i tried after that on didn't work properly.

Here the scene. Max 2018: https://we.tl/t-ZmlLIAJUCS (check the last shot where it's more visible the problem)

(this is related with this post: viewtopic.php?f=81&t=72705)


A hint of light... this problem is mostly with objects that are 3dsmax objects like chamferbox or oiltank that have an edit poly on top...
With the lights i don't know why this happens... tough..

kind regards,
javierluisbravo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby paride4331 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:08 pm

paride4331 Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:08 pm
mbetke wrote:Can't render with this release. Using 431.86 Studio Drivers. As soon as the Octane Viewport opens, 3ds max nearly freezes and I have to click the red x several times until I get the whole program closed.
I didn't set a GPU to low priority because it was never necessary and I always had a smooth interaction.

EDIT: Updated to the latest Studio Driver. Problem persists. All displays nice until I click something in the viewport. Then endless lag and no interaction.


Hi mbetke,
Windows 10 users (Pascal and Touring GPUs series) : update Windows 10 Update to version “1909”, then install latest Nvidia Drivers "studio" version, no "game ready".
Unfortunately Nvidia does not release "studio" drivers for Windows 7 and I suppose Nvidia will not release anymore drivers for windows 7 in the near future.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby javierluisbravo » Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:16 pm

javierluisbravo Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:16 pm
Hi paride,

Could you see the bug about instancing not refreshing properly for certain times of objects?
Could you open the file i sent to you?

kind regards,
Javier
javierluisbravo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby mbetke » Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:33 pm

mbetke Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:33 pm
Paride I run Win10 and with 1909 and latest drivers. I switched to win10 a year ago or so :)

The lag is only with this version. Had the revert to 8.12 but there is a bug that I have to rebuilt whole scene to see changes on FPP objects everytime and also sometimes parts of my models are not drawn in general. Like a tree today. Trunk was invisble but brachnes and leaves were there.

This needs to be sorted out! Recently Octane runs not as well as some months before. :(
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby coilbook » Wed Jan 08, 2020 2:45 am

coilbook Wed Jan 08, 2020 2:45 am
Hi Paride,
superspray still doesn't have motion blur even when using octane modifier. I just dont get how hard is it for developers to have working mb with 3ds max particles? It seems that this should be fixed and finished in octane 2

Thanks
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2610
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby mbetke » Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:33 am

mbetke Wed Jan 08, 2020 8:33 am
It seems my poblem is Forest Pack related. As soon as I hide all forests the scene is fast.
When I have one Forest visible the samples render like 0...1...2...0...1...2...0...and so on. It refreshes the scene over and over again. So in conclusion, the more Forests I unhide it gets less and less responsive.
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby mbetke » Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:36 am

mbetke Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:36 am
More crap with Forest Pack.

With Direct mode the forest floats and doesn't stick to his scatter mesh.
With old Legacy mode all was fine.

Fix it! I need to work, earn money and don't want to test the pseudo stable stuff with every release creating more bugs.
Attachments
legacy-mode.jpg
Direct-mode.jpg
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby paride4331 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:19 pm

paride4331 Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:19 pm
coilbook wrote:Hi Paride,
can you please report bugs with new volume behavior so they 'll finally fix it. It's much darker, light doesnt travel through it well and it leaves dark grid artifacts on the mesh, Scene is attached thanks

I attached the scene please go to frame 620 and open cotane viewport



Hi coilbook,
about different medium contrast volume using phoenix, I made some test but I cannot replicate it.
Could you point me to which version of Octane plugin and Phoenix occurs please?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.15

Postby paride4331 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:03 pm

paride4331 Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:03 pm
javierluisbravo wrote:Hi paride,

Could you see the bug about instancing not refreshing properly for certain times of objects?
Could you open the file i sent to you?

kind regards,
Javier


Hi javierluisbravo,
yes, I could; I sent my reports to developers.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Jun 07, 2020 10:40 am [ UTC ]