OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby paride4331 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:21 am

paride4331 Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:21 am
Buraq wrote:hi,
I am usining 3d max 2020 now. Octane is crashing an can not open my file ( an error has occurred and the application will now close ). I tried OctaneRender_for_3ds_Max_4.05_-_6.20 and can open file but my scene is so different


Hello Buraq,
Which Version of OctaneRender did you use to create the scene before open it with 6.21?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby Buraq » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:31 pm

Buraq Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:31 pm
paride4331 wrote:
Buraq wrote:hi,
I am usining 3d max 2020 now. Octane is crashing an can not open my file ( an error has occurred and the application will now close ). I tried OctaneRender_for_3ds_Max_4.05_-_6.20 and can open file but my scene is so different


Hello Buraq,
Which Version of OctaneRender did you use to create the scene before open it with 6.21?
Regards
Paride

I created the scene wiht 6.21 and open with 6.20. But I opened with 6.21 my old scene that created with 6.18 and my scene is turn darker. Should I use old 6.20 ?
Buraq
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:24 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby Buraq » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:35 pm

Buraq Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:35 pm
Hi,
Another problem with 6.21. When I add the bitmap node, 6.21 is crashing.
Attachments
Bitmap.jpg
Buraq
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:24 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby paride4331 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:07 am

paride4331 Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:07 am
Buraq wrote:
paride4331 wrote:
Buraq wrote:hi,
I am usining 3d max 2020 now. Octane is crashing an can not open my file ( an error has occurred and the application will now close ). I tried OctaneRender_for_3ds_Max_4.05_-_6.20 and can open file but my scene is so different


Hello Buraq,
Which Version of OctaneRender did you use to create the scene before open it with 6.21?
Regards
Paride

I created the scene wiht 6.21 and open with 6.20. But I opened with 6.21 my old scene that created with 6.18 and my scene is turn darker. Should I use old 6.20 ?


Hi Buraq,
could you share (in pm if you want) a sample scene with your issue please?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby thekwen » Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:04 am

thekwen Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:04 am
I had to upgrade in the midlle of two production from v3 to v4 because of the bug with nvdia drivers not able to render big size renders.

Now i'm in a very bad position with V4:

1/ itoo forest crash if movable proxy enable.

2/ hair and fur crash even on a simple sphere with basic hair and fur.

I setup a forest (itoo forest) with a dog (hair and fur).
They are main decor and main character.

What can i do to be able to deliver my animation in time ?
This is very urgent.
thekwen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby paride4331 » Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:56 am

paride4331 Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:56 am
Hi thekwen,
Please navigate to your Control Panel/Nvidia Control Panel, press the System Informations link, and share a screenshot like this.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
WIN_SystemInformation.jpeg
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby thekwen » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:06 am

thekwen Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:06 am
Thanks for quick response:
system.jpg
thekwen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby paride4331 » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:51 am

paride4331 Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:51 am
Hi thekwen,
try 436.48 I hope it helps; new Ornatrix and FP support is in Octane V2018/2019 OctaneRender setting > Tool > Open Octane Global Preferences > Sipport.
In V4.x you could try edit your setting in OctaneRender setting > Tool > Open Octane Global Preferences > Trouble shooting
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby thekwen » Fri Oct 18, 2019 11:57 am

thekwen Fri Oct 18, 2019 11:57 am
Drivers update didn't do anything.
I don't know with what settings i must play in troubleshooting.

I really can't understand that we have release with such bug.
At each releases some features works and other don't work anymore, this is just inacceptable.
Don't you have a sample scene with all max basic features to test all release ?
Hair and fur is part of 3dsmax, not a plugin, not a toy, but a useful tool for professionnal workers.
I don't need and i don't want ornatrix.
I just want 3dsmax basic features to work from an octane version to another.Is it too much asking ?

Today i'm in a middle of production, i loose two day of work trying to setup octane and drivers to get what is expected from a render.
I must fight for itoo forest to work, i need hair and fur to work (i spent 2 weeks doing my dog, i have client validation on it and now i can't use it anymore).
I need to make big size render and animation for the same production.
I'm not gonna switch v3 and v4 on the same files !!!

Imagine this on your car, hey man you can't turn left anymore update to v4 !
Hey man you can turn left but not right anymore !
But hey don't worry you can bought a new car from the same manufacturer to turn right and left ! Aren't you confident with us now ?

This is exactly what happens with octane ...

I don't even know if update to 2019 correct the hair and fur bug, i don't even what new bugs i will face (itoo compatibility, movable proxy error, xref broken !!!????)

I need a strong solution and i need it two days ago.

Thanks
thekwen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.05 - 6.21

Postby paride4331 » Fri Oct 18, 2019 1:04 pm

paride4331 Fri Oct 18, 2019 1:04 pm
Hi thekwen,
My personal advice, when you are in a professional workflow does not install new software versions. This generally prevents unforeseen events.
Said that, hair and fur seems to work, I dowloaded a FP sample file and rendered, it seems to works too.
Try to take a look about my setting into the screenshot,
Regards
Paride
Attachments
13.jpg
12.jpg
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Jun 02, 2020 6:19 pm [ UTC ]