Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Forums: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby Uhlhorn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:56 pm

Uhlhorn Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:56 pm
Okay. Thanks for the information. :-)
But I can’t do my render job jet. Hmm …
User avatar
Uhlhorn
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby natemac00 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:07 pm

natemac00 Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:07 pm
We just couldn't wait any longer, our team has begun the move to Win10 PC's. This Mac fanboy is very sad.
______________
Nate Mac - Chicago, IL
Cinema 4D R21.059 | Octane 2019.5
Main: '13 Mac Pro | 10.13.6(17G7024) | 2.7GHz 12-core | 64GB | eGPU Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080
Slaves: 4x GTX 980 Ti | 2x RTX 2070 Super | GTX 1080 | GTX 1070 | GTX 1070Ti
natemac00
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby Uhlhorn » Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:52 pm

Uhlhorn Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:52 pm
natemac00 wrote:We just couldn't wait any longer, our team has begun the move to Win10 PC's. This Mac fanboy is very sad.

For a period of 3 weeks I tried to work with Windows too. But Windows isn’t an alternative for a Mac unfortunately. It is not powerful enough. If you only doing rendering, it’s okay. But not if you are making many other things, as I do, it’s impossible to switch.
User avatar
Uhlhorn
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby natemac00 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:29 am

natemac00 Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:29 am
Uhlhorn wrote:
natemac00 wrote:We just couldn't wait any longer, our team has begun the move to Win10 PC's. This Mac fanboy is very sad.

For a period of 3 weeks I tried to work with Windows too. But Windows isn’t an alternative for a Mac unfortunately. It is not powerful enough. If you only doing rendering, it’s okay. But not if you are making many other things, as I do, it’s impossible to switch.

I manage a grand format print shop in our company Along with being the lead 3-D artist. I use Photoshop, illustrator, after affects along with Cinema 4D on a daily basis as well as working with vectorworks to do real world floorplans. I am the biggest Mac fan boy you could know The first computer I bought myself was a PowerBook G4.
This is not a decision we made lately, but when I can price out and AMD, with literally the fastest CPU available right now along with three 2080 TI‘s, for under $10,000 no Mac Pro for will beat that performance per dollar.
______________
Nate Mac - Chicago, IL
Cinema 4D R21.059 | Octane 2019.5
Main: '13 Mac Pro | 10.13.6(17G7024) | 2.7GHz 12-core | 64GB | eGPU Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080
Slaves: 4x GTX 980 Ti | 2x RTX 2070 Super | GTX 1080 | GTX 1070 | GTX 1070Ti
natemac00
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby tobyone » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:02 pm

tobyone Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:02 pm
Uhlhorn wrote:Hi, I’ve just upgraded to Mojave, because I have to work with AutoCAD now. And this Version of AutoCAD needs Mojave. But now I have a render job again and my Octane 4 is not running. :-(

  • There is no actual CUDA driver for Mojave
  • There is no Octane that is running on an iMac under Mojave.
So, what can I do now? Buy VRay?!? I don't want to leave the Octane platform!
Is there a download for Octane X available, perhaps a public beta?



you can always install bootcamp, and run windows. its a temp solution, but it works for me. I can at least use my RTX card with my macbook pro.
tobyone
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby bunnyb » Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:14 pm

bunnyb Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:14 pm
Hi,
im having trouble with octane for blender on my 2015 Macbook Pro. Can somebody tell me if it should work? I'm not able to see anything rendering.
I'm a total beginner also. I just wanted to test it...

AMD Radoen R9 is build in.

Thanks!
bunnyb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:15 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby natemac00 » Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:43 pm

natemac00 Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:43 pm
bunnyb wrote:Hi,
im having trouble with octane for blender on my 2015 Macbook Pro. Can somebody tell me if it should work? I'm not able to see anything rendering.
I'm a total beginner also. I just wanted to test it...

AMD Radoen R9 is build in.

Thanks!

Octane 101 you need an NVIDA GPU....(at the moment).
______________
Nate Mac - Chicago, IL
Cinema 4D R21.059 | Octane 2019.5
Main: '13 Mac Pro | 10.13.6(17G7024) | 2.7GHz 12-core | 64GB | eGPU Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080
Slaves: 4x GTX 980 Ti | 2x RTX 2070 Super | GTX 1080 | GTX 1070 | GTX 1070Ti
natemac00
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: Is Octane on macOS a dead-end?

Postby Goldorak » Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:11 am

Goldorak Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:11 am
It's happening. More info here for now: viewtopic.php?p=379812#p379812
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm
Previous

Return to OctaneVR Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Jul 12, 2020 8:30 pm [ UTC ]