Smoothing problem

Forums: Smoothing problem
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:55 pm

danvica Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:55 pm
Hello,
I don't know whether it's the right place to ask but I try.

I imported in Blender a geometry created in PRO/E. I used slp format.

I smoothed all the single parts in blender but rendering in Octane results in a faced render. See picture.

I tryed to smooth the material in OR but the reflection is someway bad.

By the way, If I use the internal Blender's render or Yafaray this seems to work but if I use Luxrender I obtain the same result.

Thanks for any hints.
Attachments
smoothproblem.jpg
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby matej » Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:40 pm

matej Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Is 'smooth' enabled in your Octane material?
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:32 pm

danvica Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:32 pm
Not in the picture I sent. But I already tried with bad results.

But I'm not sure is something involving Octane or the exporter.

I have to play a little with Blender's smooth / edgeslit and so on.

Daniele
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ROUBAL » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:46 am

ROUBAL Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:46 am
Smooth works better on subsurfaced meshes, but i also noticed that sometimes it has very few effect in Octane.
French Blender user - CPU : intel Quad QX9650 at 3GHz - 8GB of RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. Display GPU : GeForce GTX 480 (2 Samsung 2443BW-1920x1600 monitors). External GPUs : two EVGA GTX 580 3GB in a Cubix GPU-Xpander Pro 2. NVidia Driver : 368.22.
User avatar
ROUBAL
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby GeoPappas » Thu Oct 07, 2010 12:08 pm

GeoPappas Thu Oct 07, 2010 12:08 pm
ROUBAL wrote:Smooth works better on subsurfaced meshes, but i also noticed that sometimes it has very few effect in Octane.


I have also found that Octane has some issues with smoothing curved surfaces at times.
GeoPappas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:31 pm

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:32 pm

danvica Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:32 pm
Thanks for the info.

I wasn't able to smooth the surface using Blender's tools.
I tried edgesplit but it works with the Blender render only. Is there anything else I could try ?

I did some search and I found some posts on other forum regarding Octane's limits managing normals included into the obj format.

I don't want to upset anybody (expecially Radiance) but I'd like to know whether my problem could be caused by these limits and how to do in order to manage them.

Many thanks.

Daniele
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ycarry » Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:43 pm

ycarry Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:43 pm
Hi
Blender can read (with some specials scripts) but not save vertex normal (lost if Blender tools used)...
many cad applications use vertex normal (and unwelded edges,...)...
etc.

What are other file format you can save with pro/E?
Can you send file (or part) so we can test how/what pro/E write?
and add a cad format (as IGES, STEP, ...) to compare?
ycarry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:55 pm
Location: France

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby matej » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:31 pm

matej Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:31 pm
danvica wrote:I did some search and I found some posts on other forum regarding Octane's limits managing normals included into the obj format.

I'm not sure it will help, but try enabling "HQ" in the advanced tab of Blender export script
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:47 pm

danvica Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:47 pm
HQ option is active (by default in my exporter).

I haven't fully check if there's a way to import an IGES into Blender.

We are used to PRO/E render format (.slp) because Blender can separate any different parts of a PRO/E assembly.

I see now that I can't upload my files. I'll find a way to send you them.

I'm still not sure that my problem is in Octane. Maybe I'm missing something in Blender.
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ycarry » Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:31 pm

ycarry Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:31 pm
oh yes IGES is to see if its another prob, not to use in Blender... :)
no need to send a real file, an object with curves/volumes is enough
ycarry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:55 pm
Location: France
Next

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:10 pm [ UTC ]