16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Forums: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby J.C » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:30 pm

J.C Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:30 pm
If you don't start render after opening Blender, window with material database won't open. After starting render it does open.
Tested on OSX.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby DrawFun » Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:48 am

DrawFun Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:48 am
Hi J.C,

I've tested on OSX but cannot reproduce it. Could you please give me a bit more details? Did you use the new LiveDB?

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby DrawFun » Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:52 am

DrawFun Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:52 am
Some known issues of the new LiveDB:

#1 Due to the limitations of current engine SDK, we cannot get the detailed information(e.g. speed, progress...) while downloading. So the progress is shown as 50% for now.
#2 Once you click "import", the download will start immediately. Please do not click import multiple times while downloading.
#3 Current livedb/localdb supports material node only.
#4 Due to the limitation of blender - lack of modal window - the liveDb windows might not be shown on top after open, please check whether it is hide by blender.
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby J.C » Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:20 am

J.C Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:20 am
1. I open Blender.
2. Click on Window > Octane LiveDB
3. Nothing happens.
4. I start render. Stop it or continue. It does not matter.
5. Click on Window > Octane LiveDB
6. New Octane LiveDB opens
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby J.C » Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:36 am

J.C Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:36 am
The other way to get it working:
1. Select object.
2. Select Material tab in Properties window
3. Click on Window > Octane LiveD
4 The Octane LiveDB also opens without the need to start rendering.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby DrawFun » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:32 am

DrawFun Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:32 am
Hi J.C,

For now we have to select an object as material receiver before open the LiveDB windows. Otherwise blender will show an warning info - "Please select an object as LiveDB material receiver".
Is it the reason of this issue? If so, it will be fixed in the next build - we are going to provide a more flexible livedb material assignment way in the next major v4 build. Currently, 16.3.2 is on the way with fixes for most of the reported critical issues, so new feature might be included in 16.3.3.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: 16.3.1 - Live DB not starting before running render

Postby J.C » Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:08 am

J.C Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:08 am
No warning appears. Current workflow is fine. This should be better documented how to use it.
More important are other issues.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:03 am [ UTC ]