regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Forums: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: status regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4

Postby abstrax » Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:15 pm

abstrax Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:15 pm
thorwaldhoffmann wrote:today I installed the new driver and the problem was gone. I also needed to deactivate one of my gpus.
417.22 at windows 7 (3x 1080ti, 1x 1080)
@volumeboy did you try the new driver?

Yes, I didn't get to update this post yet, but NVIDIA informed us that they fixed the driver issue with version 417.22. The corresponding Quadro drivers are planned to be released on 13/12/2018.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby Notiusweb » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:50 pm

Notiusweb Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:50 pm
Thx. Was there any mention that this issue was also affecting Win 10, but just to a lesser degree?
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1160
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby ktheorin1 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:23 pm

ktheorin1 Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:23 pm
Will these driver updates be applied to Cuda for Mac? It doesn't look like there's been a driver update since September.
ktheorin1
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:03 pm

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:25 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:25 pm
Notiusweb wrote:Thx. Was there any mention that this issue was also affecting Win 10, but just to a lesser degree?

No, the issue was specific to Windows 7/8 because it was a problem in the WDDM v1 drivers. Windows 10 drivers have to implement WDDM v2.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:26 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:26 pm
ktheorin1 wrote:Will these driver updates be applied to Cuda for Mac? It doesn't look like there's been a driver update since September.

As far as I know this was only an issue on Windows 7/8 (which the majority of our users is using) and I don't have any insight in the CUDA driver situation on OSX.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby ktheorin1 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:49 pm

ktheorin1 Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:49 pm
I do seem to have this exact issue on my Macbook Pro with external EGPU (Titan XP) and have been trying to determine the cause with bepeg4d.
ktheorin1
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:03 pm

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:50 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:50 pm
ktheorin1 wrote:I do seem to have this exact issue on my Macbook Pro with external EGPU (Titan XP) and have been trying to determine the cause with bepeg4d.

What are the error messages on the log (I would need the first one)?
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby ktheorin1 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:54 pm

ktheorin1 Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:54 pm
CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array
CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array
CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array
CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array
CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array
CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> kernel execution failed(kernel25)
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to copy memory from device.
device 0: info channel kernel failed

Another error i get when its not the former:

OCT:device 0: failed to upload data texture 23 of context 1
ktheorin1
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:03 pm

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:58 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:58 pm
ktheorin1 wrote:CUDA error 2 on device 0: out of memory
-> failed to allocate device array

If you see this, it's not problem #2 but #1. I.e. you are running out of available VRAM. If you want, we can have a look at the scene and try to understand what's going on. In that case we also would need your system/hardware configuration and a complete log. Thank you.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: regarding CUDA error 2 issues in v4 (driver issues solved)

Postby merid888 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:46 pm

merid888 Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:46 pm
i have another problem, i can't install cuda 10, is necesary change the version cuda ?
actually i use cuda 9 for w7 x64 and works fine
when the installer run appear error in the process install
someone can help me ?
thank you
have a nice day
W10 x64 Bits, 24 Gb 1866 OC Mghz, P9X79 ws, E5-2670 Xeón, 2.60 Ghz to 3.30 Ghz Overclock, 2 SSD 240 Gb Raid, ThermalTake Water 2, 1 GTX 1080 Ti OC 11 GB ROG STRIX, 1 Power Supply Corsair 750 W.
User avatar
merid888
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: Merida
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paride4331 and 1 guest

Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:53 pm [ UTC ]