merge volume

Forums: merge volume
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

merge volume

Postby nKo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:17 pm

nKo Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:17 pm
Hi, When I try to merge 2 vdb's, octane only render the first one.
It work in mantra or Redshift but not octane. Is it a bug ?
I cannot combine them using a vdb combine cause i need them to have differents resolution.
Any help ?

nKo
nKo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:57 pm

Re: merge volume

Postby juanjgon » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:32 pm

juanjgon Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:32 pm
Can you attach a scene to reproduce this problem here? I think that the main problem was that you need to define a group for each volume before merging them because without the groups the plugin can't know what grid must be used for each volume due to the fact that they have the same name (for example, two or more "density" grids in the same object)

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7370
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: merge volume

Postby nKo » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:35 pm

nKo Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:35 pm
No need for debug scene. I was indeed merging volumes without grouping them before.
Thank for the tip.
After creating a primitive group for each volume, octane can render the merge properly.

cheers
nKo
nKo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:57 pm

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:24 am [ UTC ]