OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:22 pm

paride4331 Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:22 pm
richardyarlett wrote:Anyone else experiencing HORRIBLE weird viewport issues in 3dsmax with RC 6 6.08 ? It looks like my computer took acid. All my texture maps are gone and I am looking and pinks and purples instead.


Hi richardyarlett,
something like that?
Regards
Paride
Attachments
A14711AE-37FC-43EE-A2A9-53E85F0952B9.jpg
155304D6-E6F1-404D-9F1D-FA3346648A01.jpg
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:49 pm

coilbook Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:49 pm
paride4331 wrote:
richardyarlett wrote:Anyone else experiencing HORRIBLE weird viewport issues in 3dsmax with RC 6 6.08 ? It looks like my computer took acid. All my texture maps are gone and I am looking and pinks and purples instead.


Hi richardyarlett,
something like that?
Regards
Paride

my material editor previews have similar jumble of colors
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:19 pm

paride4331 Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:19 pm
coilbook wrote:
paride4331 wrote:
richardyarlett wrote:Anyone else experiencing HORRIBLE weird viewport issues in 3dsmax with RC 6 6.08 ? It looks like my computer took acid. All my texture maps are gone and I am looking and pinks and purples instead.


Hi richardyarlett,
something like that?
Regards
Paride

my material editor previews have similar jumble of colors


Hi coilbook,
maybe you're talking about this?
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=69152&start=20#p348342
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:26 pm

coilbook Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:26 pm
in this version all shaded materials disappear from viewport when max is reopened. All mesh is grey. You have to manually click reload button to reload each rgb image to be shown in viewport. Even though SHOW SHADED MATERIAL IN VEIWPORT is already checked.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby richardyarlett » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:22 pm

richardyarlett Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:22 pm
YES ! Just like that. What the hell ?

Here is one scene with everything stripped away ?
Attachments
x.jpg
richardyarlett
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby abstrax » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:35 pm

abstrax Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:35 pm
Apologies for the material preview issues. It was introduced while trying to work around various CUDA issues and will be fixed with the next release. The problem was that the replacement of a CUDA memset couldn't always be run because it wasn't initialized properly for the material preview rendering and thus the preview result buffer wasn't cleared correctly.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby mbetke » Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:58 am

mbetke Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:58 am
OK I'm with kcpr-raffaEl
..the previous functionality of render region is a must for me as well, it became part of my workflow, where I can re render the whole thing, making everything black around it also give different sense of contrast this will add to potential confusion in workflow for sure


I also would like it back. It saved my a lot of time. For example when I rendered different color variants of a product render on the fly or tweak materials with open viewport.
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby DartFrog » Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:38 pm

DartFrog Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:38 pm
Okay I can deal with no textures showing up in viewport, but are there any quick fixes for a black render with "SCENE EVALUATION" and it just sits there forever?
6.07 renders, but 6.08 sits at this screen.
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:14 pm

paride4331 Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:14 pm
DartFrog wrote:Okay I can deal with no textures showing up in viewport, but are there any quick fixes for a black render with "SCENE EVALUATION" and it just sits there forever?
6.07 renders, but 6.08 sits at this screen.


Hi DartFrog,
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=80&t=69152&start=20#p348337
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby neonZorglub » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:54 pm

neonZorglub Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:54 pm
mbetke wrote:
OK I'm with kcpr-raffaEl
..the previous functionality of render region is a must for me as well, it became part of my workflow, where I can re render the whole thing, making everything black around it also give different sense of contrast this will add to potential confusion in workflow for sure


I also would like it back. It saved my a lot of time. For example when I rendered different color variants of a product render on the fly or tweak materials with open viewport.

Hi mbetke, kcpr-raffaEl
You can have the render region back, as previously, by unchecking the option 'User Region as Film Region' in the Viewport tab of Global preferences.
A more convenient icon in the viewport will be added in the future, to have a similar interface as in Stand Alone..
Thanks for the feedback on your workflow.
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:27 am [ UTC ]