Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Forums: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:06 pm

TIG Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:06 pm
Here's version 1022-07
Octane_1022-07.zip
(513.98 KiB) Downloaded 199 times
An attempt at using a Project-Path containing special-characters/accents is now better flagged.
Special-characters in Project-Path are now allowed on MAC [Unicode], BUT although special-characters could now work on PC, they can cause failure in the 'Octane-Render' itself - as it seems to convert Unicode to ANSI when reading from the command-line in cmd or vbs ?... So on PC they are still not allowed - stick to A-Za-z0-9_- + <spaces> for PC project-paths. On PC and MAC project-names should consist of A-Za-z0-9_- [NO <spaces>].
On a PC the ".cmd" files are now written to "C:\Temp\" and auto-deleted.
Problem with v8/Win7 unsaved model.path resolved.

Note: To delete a flaky model's corrupted ‘Octane’ attribute_dictionary values you can paste
ad=Sketchup.active_model.attribute_dictionary("Octane");ad.each{|k,v|ad.delete_key(k)}
into the Ruby Console. It defaults all of the 'Octane Render Exporter' dialog-settings, for that model.

I hope this resolves issues a few of you have with recent versions and the new SUp v8.

Feedback please
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Postby DigitalDouble » Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:44 pm

DigitalDouble Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:44 pm
Hi Tig.

With the new version, The dialog box does pop up now, great job !

However, when clicking on the render button It doesn't fire up Octane.

I noticed that it was able to creates the "untitled.obj" and "untitled.mtl" files and the textures directory but does not fire up Octane.
NO *.ocs and cmd files are created.

BTW, The skp file name is not untitled.skp but rather test.skp - isn't it supposed to use the skp file name ?
YOu can see in the dialog box that it doesn't really pick up the project name, but uses always "untitled"


Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Win Vista x32 | 8800 GTS 512 | Xeon X3350 2.66GHz | 4GB
DigitalDouble
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Postby DigitalDouble » Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:54 pm

DigitalDouble Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:54 pm
Edit:

I re-read your post and noticed that the .cmd is now written to C:\temp.

I never had this directory so I created one !
That seems to fix it ! :D

So the only outstanding issue I can see right now is the project name - hard-coded to untitled instead of using the actual project name.
Win Vista x32 | 8800 GTS 512 | Xeon X3350 2.66GHz | 4GB
DigitalDouble
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:32 pm

TIG Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:32 pm
Glad it works... :D

I never though of anyone not having the standard C:\Temp\ folder :roll:

I'll have to add something in the next update to make it if it's not there ! Or revert to the project-folder ? OR better use the User's ENV["TEMP"] folder...

The project-name will take any new value you type in.
Note: if it's a copy of an earlier SKP that you had named 'untitled', that you had run the tool on, then it will have remembered the project-name value from that, even if the SKP now has a new name - the dialog's values exist across sessions saved with the SKP - a copy of the SKP remembers those values too. The next time you reopen the SKP and run the tool the dialog will show the last saved project-name...

Try making a new SKP file, saving it with a new-name and then running the tool - it should then start the dialog with the project-name matching the SKP-name - subject to adjustments for spaces and non-standard characters...
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Postby DigitalDouble » Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:15 pm

DigitalDouble Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:15 pm
Tig,

Yes, you were right.
There is no issue with the project name ...

So, all seems to work perfect on my end now...

Thank you for all the hard work and the speedy turn-around !!!
Win Vista x32 | 8800 GTS 512 | Xeon X3350 2.66GHz | 4GB
DigitalDouble
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-07

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:13 pm

TIG Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:13 pm
That's great :D

See the next version... 1022-08...
It even traps for user not having a C:\Temp\ folder !

;)
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Mon Oct 26, 2020 10:16 pm [ UTC ]