Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-04

Forums: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-04
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-04

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:42 pm

TIG Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:42 pm
tangent wrote:I just tried it in SketchUp 8, and some of the labels on the UI controls seem to be missing. The export seems to work okay still, though.

I have been testing it on SUp v8 for sometime without any problems ???
Please, can you post a screen-shot of your problem dialog... So I can see what it might be...
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-04

Postby TIG » Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:35 am

TIG Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:35 am
Tangent

I think I have deduced your problem...

If you start the 'Exporter' after first opening the 'Ruby Console', then you'll probably get error messages about missing files - e.g. 'deBabelizer.rb'.
When you have copied the files/folder over from v7 into v8 ../Plugins/ folder you have probably missed out the 'deBabelizer.rb' which is needed to translate the dialog's text to other languages - that supporting file is always needed, even if there is no translation required.
Please copy that file over and restart to see what happens.
There are also some other files that are needed too... To ensure that you have all of the required files please used the current zipped set that is download-able from the first post in this thread, and extract it into the ../Plugins/ folder - keeping some of the files in their sub-folders as explained in the README / Help file.

Let me know how you get on. :ugeek:
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-04

Postby GuyWydouw » Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:24 am

GuyWydouw Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:24 am
TIG,

I get the following error by exporting:

Octane Render:
Project Path is not valid.

I think this comes because my pathname have a 'é' in his name. Is this something you can solve or something I need to get used to?

the full path is:

Z:\AW Projecten\200904 De Wit - Boué

regards,

Guy
Windows 7 32 bit | SketchUp 8 Pro | VectorWorks 2008 | Twilight Render | Octane Render | Quad 2.50 Mhz | 3GB | Nvidea GeForce 250 GTS 512MB
GuyWydouw
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:01 am

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter - Full 1022-04

Postby TIG » Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:25 am

TIG Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:25 am
GuyWydouw wrote:TIG,
I get the following error by exporting:
Octane Render:
Project Path is not valid.

I think this comes because my pathname have a 'é' in his name. Is this something you can solve or something I need to get used to?
the full path is:
Z:\AW Projecten\200904 De Wit - Boué

You should not have 'accented characters' in a project-name OR a project-path.
They are usually best avoided completely.
It is a know limitation of Sketchup as its version of Ruby doesn't cope well with such characters - when it checks to see if the specified folder exists it fails to find it as unicode-characters confuse it. It is complex to trap for...
So please use simple alphanumerics only.
Octane Render has even stricter file/path naming rules - it won't accept spaces and most punctuation [other than a '_' or '-'] within the project-name either... the OBJ/MTL file importers do not like spaces or complex characters in file-names/paths either...
The Exporter tries to make a suitable name from the SKP name - so if it's the same as the project-path folder name then I expect it'll come up with
200904_De_Wit_-_Boué - however, that is still not acceptable to Octane itself, because it has the e-acute [é] in it...
The name should use only 'a-z' 'A-Z' '0-9' with '_' and '-' as separators.
So try typing-in or editing the project-name to read say
200904_De_Wit_Boue
or
200904_DE_WIT_BOUE
or perhaps
200904DeWitBoue
[if you prefer 'camels' to 'snakes' - e.g. 'DeWitBoue' versus 'de_wit_boue']
You will be prevented from typing in anything that is 'non-alphanumeric'...

I'll look at some better trapping of the default project-name to avoid it containing accented characters at all - look for new update...
However, you must ensure compliance of naming in the project folders too...

Hope this helps...
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm
Previous

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:28 pm [ UTC ]