Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Forums: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Postby CaptainCrowbar » Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:47 pm

CaptainCrowbar Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:47 pm
Release Notes for Octane Render SketchUp Plugin 3.06.4.0

Changes in This Release

This is an update to the last public release, adding a few minor features and bug fixes, and updating the Octane SDK to the most recent version.

- When switching cameras, the corresponding render target is selected in the scene outline.
- Added an option to "pause" the connection between SU and Octane. When paused, changes to the SU scene will not be copied to Octane; this allows you to make complex changes to the SU scene without the Octane scene being updated for every step, and then update it all at once when you unpause.
- Added an "Are you sure?" dialogue when you discard and rebuild the Octane scene, since accidentally triggering this could destroy a lot of work (we're still working on making "undo" work properly).
- Added toolbar buttons for the Pause and Rebuild actions, as well as having them in the menu.

About This Release Series

This is a public test release of a major update to the Octane Render Plugin for SketchUp. Please note that this is an early beta release and should be used with care.

The 3.06 release series represents a thorough redesign of the plugin's user interface. The plugin now uses a separate window of its own, similar to the standalone Octane Render application. You can open this window through the Octane button on the SketchUp toolbar, or from SketchUp's Extensions menu.

The Octane plugin window is built from a set of panels similar to the standalone app:

* The Scene Outliner (on the left in the default layout) shows an expandable list of all nodes in the Octane version of the scene. This panel also has tabs giving access to the LiveDB and the local database.

* The Render Viewport (top) shows the image rendered by Octane. This was originally a separate window in earlier versions of the plugin.

* The Node Graph Editor (bottom) depicts a "sandbox" that shows only the material nodes (and linker nodes connecting them to the geometry); the rest of the node graph (geometry, rendering options, etc) is hidden. You can manipulate the material nodes in the same way you would in the Octane standalone app.

* The Node Inspector (right) shows the full details of any selected node, and allows them to be edited by hand.

You can learn more about the new user interface from the manuals and tutorial videos for the Octane SketchUp plugin and the Octane Render standalone application:

* SketchUp plugin manual
* Octane Render standalone manual
* Octane Render 3.06.1 release notes

SketchUp Plugin v3.06 - Introduction Video



Other Recent Changes

* When you add a new camera view in SketchUp, a corresponding render target node will be created in Octane. The camera position and render settings are tracked separately for each render target, and will be saved with the SketchUp model in your .SKP file.

* There are no longer separate menu options for converting a SketchUp material to an Octane one, or for creating a new Octane material from scratch. These are no longer necessary since the new GUI window provides equivalent functionality. Converting a material from SketchUp to Octane is not a separate operation now; it happens automatically as soon as the material is used.

* All information about Octane materials is now saved with the SketchUp scene in the .SKP file. Unlike earlier versions, all texture graphics are included in this; textures are no longer saved in a separate directory. The saved scene also records any changes you make to the material nodes through the node graph editor. This has two important consequences:

* You can now transfer a scene file to another computer, or send it to another user, without losing the texture information.

* Scene files containing Octane plugin data are necessarily larger (sometimes much larger) than they were as plain SketchUp scenes, since they now contain all of the image files needed to reconstruct the Octane textures.

Requirements

Software:

* The plugin requires SketchUp 2015, 2016, or 2017 for Windows x64
* SketchUp 2017 is recommended
* Microsoft Windows 7, 8, 8.1, or 10 for x64
* The plugin is not compatible with any x86 (32-bit) version of SketchUp or Windows

Hardware:

* 64-bit Intel or AMD CPU
* One or more recent model Nvidia GPU cards
* Nvidia drivers 353.x or later; CUDA 8.0 support is required
* The plugin is not compatible with AMD or Intel GPUs

Installation

The installer has been completely rewritten. There are now separate installers for the SketchUp 2016 and 2017 versions of the plugin. You can install both versions on the same computer; they are now treated as separate applications. (The 2016 version of the plugin is also compatible with SketchUp 2015, although you will need to manually edit the install location.)

We recommend uninstalling all previous versions of the SketchUp plugin before installing the latest version.

Please note that stable and test releases will not be identified by any special version numbers. Because of potential compatibility issues if different builds of the Octane engine are run on the same system, we believe it is more important to keep plugin version numbers synchronised with the corresponding build of the standalone Octane application and the Octane SDK. If you are having problems, the first thing you should check is that you do not have different versions of other Octane products installed.

Support Information

If you have a support issue, please provide the following information:
- Operating system (e.g. Windows 8.1 x64)
- CPU type (e.g. Intel Core i7)
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics cards - model (e.g. Nvidia GTX 690 with 4GB)
- Nvidia driver version (e.g. 365.10)
- SketchUp version (e.g. SketchUp Pro 2016 version 16.1.1449 64-bit)
- Skatter version (if you have it installed; e.g. Skatter 1.2.0)
- OctaneRender for SketchUp version (e.g. 3.06.4.0)

The most important part of resolving a problem is our being able to reproduce the problem, so please provide as much detail as possible!

Download Links

* Plugin for SketchUp 2017
* Plugin for SketchUp 2016
* Demo plugin for SketchUp 2017
* Demo plugin for SketchUp 2016

Earlier Changes

These changes were made in earlier 3.x releases of the plugin, and are still relevant in the latest release:

* Like the Octane 3 standalone version, the SketchUp plugin uses the new single sign-on system. You still need to have purchased a license for the SketchUp plugin, but it will now be checked automatically when you log in using your Otoy account credentials; you no longer need to keep track of user IDs and passwords for individual licenses. The new authorization management window is a modal dialog where the user can sign out and sign in. It also informs the you under which name you are signed in and if that sign-in was in offline or online mode. When a user signs out, all of your licenses which were activated on this computer will be deactivated. This requires that all these licenses are currently not in use by other Octane processes; if that is not the case the sign out will fail.

* Because most rendered images are now stored in your computer's main RAM instead of your video card's RAM, all Octane 3 applications, including the SketchUp plugin, will frequently use a good deal more memory than their Octane 2 equivalents, especially for high resolution renders. You should keep this in mind when upgrading.

* 3.03+ releases include experimental Pascal GPU support. Please note that we are still working on performance issues there.

* Support has been added for the Skatter plugin's Render Only mode.

Known Issues

We hope to fix these in a coming update:

* Custom resolution in the material preview does not work.

* Material picking is not fully working yet.

* Once a texture has been copied from SketchUp to the Octane version of the scene, any changes made to either version of the material are not reflected in the other version. (This is a simplification applied to ensure the two versions of the material are handled correctly in this version of the plugin; we intend to add automatic transfer of changes from one to the other in future, where the different properties and behaviour of Octane and SketchUp materials allows it.)

* Importing materials directly from the LiveDB can crash the plugin. Materials can be brought in by copy and paste instead.

* Re-applying the same texture after an undo may fail to work. This is a bug in SketchUp, not related to the Octane plugin.

Release History

3.06.4.0 - Highlight render target when changing camera; add pause and rebuild buttons.

3.06.2.5 - Track separate render targets for each SketchUp camera; add menu command to rebuild the Octane scene.

3.06.1.4 - Fix slow geometry transfer when render window is not open; add scene outliner to default view; save workspace layout with scene file.

3.06.1.2 - Initial public test release with the new user interface.
Last edited by CaptainCrowbar on Sun Mar 11, 2018 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
CaptainCrowbar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:38 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:25 am

Jorgensen Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:25 am
hi captain

do we need to do something to get the render targets to show up in the outliner?

right now i have two scenes "p1" and "p2".
they don't show up in the outliner - only the "default view".

maybe misunderstood something?


jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:47 am

bepeg4d Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:47 am
Hi Jorgensen,
maybe the plugin has not been correctly updated.
Please, look at the title of the Octane viewport window, you should see the version number currently installed.
If differs from v3.06.4, try to install it another time.
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6564
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:21 am

Jorgensen Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:21 am
it's working now :-)

but i've got an other issue / problem.

i had two materials to start with. i then added a new material to the scene, and added this to the a new group, but it does not show up in octane i have tried to
- close octane render
- rebuild the scene
- closed and open sketchup
- deleted the object with the new material
- added a new model, assigned the material

nothing helps :-/

jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Postby -rb- » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:36 pm

-rb- Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:36 pm
THANKS CAP!

- Rich
-rb-
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:19 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.06.4.0 Test Release

Postby Notiusweb » Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:27 pm

Notiusweb Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:27 pm
Thanks! Tried rebuilding materials on some large scenes and worked well.
Got 3 Bug Splats, but then was still able to load Sketchup's saved scene with the refreshed data. One time did get a save scene reloaded as a blank, so not a full proof workaround, but that was one instance on a very large scene.

Great! Looking forward to the isolated material picker!
(Perhaps like the 'Rebuild Octane Scene from Sketchup' option, there could be a mode/option to re-load scenes with a merged-material-channel Sandbox off? Or have a setting in this menu to let you load without the Sandbox material channel on?)

Awesome, thanks! Looking forward to bridging walk-through in Sketchup to an Octane Lua script!
-Notiusweb
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Aug 24, 2019 5:41 pm [ UTC ]