Rhino lights

Forums: Rhino lights
Rhino 3D (Export script developed by SamPage; Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Rhino lights

Postby fabrizio_s » Thu May 04, 2017 9:36 pm

fabrizio_s Thu May 04, 2017 9:36 pm
Hi,
Is it possible to use rhino lights (for examole Directionallight, Spotlight) in Octane?

Bye
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Rhino lights

Postby face_off » Thu May 04, 2017 11:13 pm

face_off Thu May 04, 2017 11:13 pm
Hi - at the moment you need to use a rectangular light, then select it and click the Create Emitter button. Directional and spot lights are not particularly compatible a physically accurate renderer, so there is not currently a "Create Emitter" button option for those light types.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14004
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Rhino lights

Postby franchais » Fri May 05, 2017 12:12 am

franchais Fri May 05, 2017 12:12 am
Didn't know you could use rectangular light in rhino. I clicked on it but didn't see any option to "create emitter"??
I7 2600k | EVGA gtx 680 FTW 4gb | Win 7 x64 | 16gb RAM
franchais
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Rhino lights

Postby face_off » Fri May 05, 2017 7:23 am

face_off Fri May 05, 2017 7:23 am
Didn't know you could use rectangular light in rhino. I clicked on it but didn't see any option to "create emitter"??
The "Create Emitter" button is on the Octane panel->Geometry tab.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14004
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Rhino lights

Postby fabrizio_s » Fri May 05, 2017 12:27 pm

fabrizio_s Fri May 05, 2017 12:27 pm
Ok. Thanx.

Fabrizio
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Rhino lights

Postby fabrizio_s » Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:23 pm

fabrizio_s Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:23 pm
Hi Paul,
rhino rectangular lights are still working in Octane? I press "Create Emitter" in Octane but nothing change

bye
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Rhino lights

Postby face_off » Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:40 am

face_off Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:40 am
rhino rectangular lights are still working in Octane? I press "Create Emitter" in Octane but nothing change
This is work OK for me. New geometry is created, with a Rhino emitter material assigned.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14004
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Rhino lights

Postby fabrizio_s » Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:45 pm

fabrizio_s Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:45 pm
Hi Paul,
today it works fine but friday it didn't work...it's strange...

bye
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Rhino lights

Postby cosmasad » Sat Sep 28, 2019 6:16 pm

cosmasad Sat Sep 28, 2019 6:16 pm
Hey Paul,

I've got a table lamp in my scene. What if I want a spot light in it? What do I do?

Also do lights work with ambient occlusion?
cosmasad
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Rhino lights

Postby PeterBr » Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:22 pm

PeterBr Fri Nov 08, 2019 9:22 pm
Im getting this error message whenever I click "create emitter" when I regular rectangular rhino light is selected: https://peterrz.tinytake.com/tt/Mzg3Njk5OV8xMTg2OTY4Nw
Any fixes?
Thanks
PeterBr
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:48 pm
Next

Return to Rhinoceros 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:44 pm [ UTC ]