OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4[OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4[OBSOLETE]
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:43 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:43 pm
Thanks for the feedback and apologies for the trouble. We will have a look at it now. I haven't investigated the problem yet, but even if there was some issue in test 3 it should not crash.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby enricocerica » Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:20 pm

enricocerica Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:20 pm
calus wrote:
enricocerica wrote:Same for me with one of the scenes I saved with test 3, it crashes when loading the scene, though works fine when I revert to test 3.

just read my post above ...

Just save your file in a previous version (not a test version) and it will work in test4, works for me.


Well, this is not to complain but only to relate the problem and help solving it ;)
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby mojave » Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:34 pm

mojave Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:34 pm
Hey guys, there was actually an issue loading scenes with that version number due to an internal conversion issue and we have fixed it.

However, we are not planning to do any further test releases until Friday when we plan to release 3.05 unless you experience any mayor issue.

Thanks for the heads up.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby smicha » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:22 pm

smicha Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:22 pm
calus wrote:
enricocerica wrote:Same for me with one of the scenes I saved with test 3, it crashes when loading the scene, though works fine when I revert to test 3.

just read my post above ...

Just save your file in a previous version (not a test version) and it will work in test4, works for me.



Nevertheless it's a bug and shall be fixed.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby calus » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:47 pm

calus Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:47 pm
smicha wrote:
calus wrote:
enricocerica wrote:Same for me with one of the scenes I saved with test 3, it crashes when loading the scene, though works fine when I revert to test 3.

just read my post above ...

Just save your file in a previous version (not a test version) and it will work in test4, works for me.



Nevertheless it's a bug and shall be fixed.

Yes, that was not my point either.
I thought people in this topic may also want to try the Test4 version, that was the way to achieve this.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby roeland » Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:25 am

roeland Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:25 am
smicha wrote:PS. Any plans to introduce math operation nodes (add, multiply)?


It depends. Math operations on textures generally have to be evaluated inside the shader while rendering. We support a limited set of operations (multiply, mix, clamp, apply gradient…) which are evaluated on the GPU. For single values (like int, float) we don't have direct support but it can be emulated with a simple scripted graph:

Code: Select all
local MyGraphScript = { _name = "+" }

-- onInit function, this is called once in the beginning.
function MyGraphScript.onInit(self, graph)
    -- define input and output infos
    local inputInfos = { {type=octane.PT_FLOAT, label="a", defaultValue=0},
                         {type=octane.PT_FLOAT, label="b", defaultValue=0}}
    self.inputs = graph:setInputLinkers(inputInfos)

    local outputInfos = { {type=octane.PT_FLOAT, label="+"} }
    local outputs = graph:setOutputLinkers(outputInfos)

    self.value = octane.node.create{ type=octane.NT_FLOAT, name="color", graphOwner=graph }
    outputs[1]:connectTo("input", self.value)
end


function MyGraphScript.onEvaluate(self, graph)
    local a = self:getInputValue(self.inputs[1])
    local b = self:getInputValue(self.inputs[2])

    -- expression goes here:
    self.value:setAttribute("value", a + b)
end

return MyGraphScript


We could add explicit nodes, on the other hand a scripted graph has more flexibility (you can have more than 2 inputs, or inputs of different types, and multiple outputs).

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1741
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby Jolbertoquini » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:47 am

Jolbertoquini Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:47 am
Hi Guys,

Pascal thanks for the point I tested and is working perfect to me. Also with our CAD now. I attach a image of reel production model and I'm really happy! :D

I didn't have any crashs, if I use the scene from other versions as pascal "Calus" described and is fine the CAD data of KUKA is missing some fixes and clean up on this model so I'm not surprised they may cause issues and a bad look, anyway here a test if you see the Grid and left side module, This are saving a lot time for modelling.
Thanks Otoy Guys for the nice help.
Attachments
roundcorners_OFF.png
Rounded edges Off
roundcorners.png
Rounded edges On
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4

Postby mojave » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:55 am

mojave Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:55 am
@Jolbertoquini

Thanks for your feedback guys!
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4[OBSOLETE]

Postby NVN » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:59 am

NVN Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:59 am
@mojave

is there a chance to get something like Vray?
Attachments
Round_Edges.jpg
User avatar
NVN
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:10 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.05 Rounded Edges Test 4[OBSOLETE]

Postby mojave » Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:45 am

mojave Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:45 am
@NVN

The current implementation is bound by the mesh geometry, that's why you don't see such a large radius being applied. It is however quite fast compared to other render engines implementations and that's why we have decided to keep it.

We are working right now on a completely new mode which will likely be slower but way more robust, and which should give you similar results as the one you show.

We're however planning to keep both modes so you can choose depending on what's working better for your scene.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:12 pm [ UTC ]