Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Forums: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby smicha » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:58 am

smicha Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:58 am
haze wrote:smicha, my mistake - Marcus just told me this will only work in the release version, because the demo version does not have the OCS reader.



Thanks haze. Good to know it works in the official release.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby -rb- » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:33 am

-rb- Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:33 am
haze wrote:
-rb- wrote:Hi Captain,

Plugin opens in Demo mode - can't log into license as 'License' window won't pop up when clicked ;) - odd!

- Rich


Hi, could you let us know what OS and what version of SU you are using? Thank you


Hey Haze,

SU 2016 Pro, Windows 10 Pro
-rb-
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:19 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby fivebythree » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:15 am

fivebythree Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:15 am
Nice work.

Probably won't use it, though. SketchUp orbx open in standalone has become my way to get the most out of Octane including the coveted nodal.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby haze » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:01 pm

haze Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:01 pm
fivebythree wrote:Nice work.

Probably won't use it, though. SketchUp orbx open in standalone has become my way to get the most out of Octane including the coveted nodal.


I'd be keen to know more about what would suit you best for the SU plugin. Our roadmap includes the ability to do everything that standalone node graph editor allows (incl geometry etc). We are also planning an overhaul of the UI by using the same UI toolkit as standalone. We'll be investigating whether we can share UI elements between the SDK and the plugin - this should solve many issues we have with Flash currently. Please let me know your thoughts here or via PM
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:32 pm

Jorgensen Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:32 pm
Is it intended that i can't work in sketchup while the node editor is open?
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby haze » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:55 pm

haze Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:55 pm
Jorgensen wrote:Is it intended that i can't work in sketchup while the node editor is open?


This is the main reason why we are removing the Flash layer - it's a limitation of the current message loop system. We thought to prioritise the UI overhaul over the node graph improvements, but we couldn't remove the Flash material editor without doing so. At this point it is looking more likely that we will work more towards the overhaul and not release incremental updates of it since the workflow is not as easy as we would like it to be

Please do keep sharing your thoughts on this
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby smicha » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:02 pm

smicha Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:02 pm
haze wrote:
Jorgensen wrote:Is it intended that i can't work in sketchup while the node editor is open?


This is the main reason why we are removing the Flash layer - it's a limitation of the current message loop system. We thought to prioritise the UI overhaul over the node graph improvements, but we couldn't remove the Flash material editor without doing so. At this point it is looking more likely that we will work more towards the overhaul and not release incremental updates of it since the workflow is not as easy as we would like it to be

Please do keep sharing your thoughts on this


Haze,

In Modo Paul coded the node editor from the Standalone so that it is being closed automatically whenever you click in the Modo area.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby haze » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:36 pm

haze Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:36 pm
Thanks smicha, I'll see if we can incorporate this as well
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:58 pm

Jorgensen Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:58 pm
Should proxies work with this release?

I rightclick on a component > octane proxy > From... and then i select my .orbx file and the component disappears and noting is shown...

I can open the .orbx file in the standalone - and it renders fine.

Can anyone tell if the proxies should work?

thanks
jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.04.4.7 Test Release

Postby smicha » Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:35 pm

smicha Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:35 pm
Jorgensen wrote:Should proxies work with this release?

I rightclick on a component > octane proxy > From... and then i select my .orbx file and the component disappears and noting is shown...

I can open the .orbx file in the standalone - and it renders fine.

Can anyone tell if the proxies should work?

thanks
jorgensen


IMO proxies shall be functional through the new nodal approach with full support for obj, ocs, orbx nodes. As Azen said - they are working on it.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
PreviousNext

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:48 am [ UTC ]