Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Forums: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby CaptainCrowbar » Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:17 am

CaptainCrowbar Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:17 am
This update contains only changes to the SketchUp plugin; the Octane DLL is still the current Octane 3.03.2 release. The main change since the last plugin release is some internal changes to file name handling to avoid save errors.

The 2.x and 3.x plugins cannot be simultaneously installed with the same copy of SketchUp. Installing the 3.x plugin should replace the 2.x plugin if you already have it, although we recommend uninstalling any existing plugins first. If you install the 3.x plugin and want to go back to 2.x, you will need to fully uninstall the plugin before reinstalling 2.x.

Changes in the Octane 3 SketchUp plugin are mostly internal to the Octane rendering code; the SketchUp side of the application works pretty much the same as it did in the 2.x plugin. Changes to better integrate the new Octane features with the SketchUp user interface will be added in future releases, but this initial release is essentially the new Octane 3 rendering code integrated into the existing SketchUp plugin.

Major Changes (since 2.x)

* Like the Octane 3 standalone version, the SketchUp plugin uses the new single sign-on system. You still need to have purchased a license for the SketchUp plugin, but it will now be checked automatically when you log in using your Otoy account credentials; you no longer need to keep track of user IDs and passwords for individual licenses.

* Because most rendered images are now stored in your computer's main RAM instead of your video card's RAM (see the section on host film buffers in the Octane 3 feature list), all Octane 3 applications, including the SketchUp plugin, will frequently use a good deal more memory than their Octane 2 equivalents, especially for high resolution renders. You should keep this in mind when upgrading.

* The new authorization management window is a modal dialog where the user can sign out and sign in. It also informs the you under which name you are signed in and if that sign-in was in offline or online mode. When a user signs out, all of your licenses which were activated on this computer will be deactivated. This requires that all these licenses are currently not in use by other Octane processes. If that's not the case the sign out will fail.

* Because of ongoing changes to the license management system, you should avoid mixing different 3.x Octane installations on the same computer. Please make sure that all Octane standalone and plugin installations are the same version. (Expect this to be relaxed in future releases.)

* 3.03+ releases include experimental Pascal GPU support. Please note that we are still working on performance issues there.

SketchUp Version

- The plugin requires SketchUp 2015 or 2016 for Windows x64.
- SketchUp 2016 is recommended.
- If you are using SketchUp 2015, remember to select this when installing the plugin.
- If you have multiple versions of SketchUp, plugins are installed separately for each version.
- The plugin is not compatible with any x86 (32-bit) version of SketchUp.

System Requirements

- 64-bit Intel or AMD CPU.
- Microsoft Windows 7, 8, 8.1, or 10 for x64.
- Windows 10 compatibility is still provisional; Windows 8 or 8.1 is recommended.
- One or more recent model Nvidia GPU cards.
- Nvidia drivers 353.x or later; CUDA 7.5 support is required.

More Information

- SketchUp plugin manual (2.x)
- New features in Octane 3.0 (manual)
- New features in Octane 3.0 (forum)
- Octane 3.0 release notes
- Octane 3.03.2 release notes
- Post your questions here on this forum thread!

Support Information

If you have a support issue, please provide the following information:
- Operating system (e.g. Windows 8.1 x64)
- CPU type (e.g. Intel Core i7)
- Amount of RAM
- Graphics cards - model (e.g. Nvidia GTX 690 with 4GB)
- Nvidia driver version (e.g. 365.10)
- SketchUp version (e.g. SketchUp Pro 2016 version 16.1.1449 64-bit)
- OctaneRender for SketchUp version (e.g. 3.03.2.3)

The most important part of resolving a problem is our being able to reproduce the problem, so please provide as much detail as possible!

Download Links

- Current 3.x beta release
- Current 3.x demo release
- Current 2.x release
- Current 2.x demo release

Release Notes

3.03.2.3
- More changes to file path code.

3.03.2.2
- Tweaks to internal file name manipulation code to avoid save errors due to invalid paths.

3.03.2.1
- Rewritten shutdown process to address license deactivation issues.

3.03.2.0
- Compiled with Octane 3.03.2b SDK.
- Changes to file path handling code to address issue with user home directories on network paths.

3.02.0.0
- Compiled with Octane 3.02.0 SDK.

3.01.1.0
- Compiled with Octane 3.01.1 SDK.

3.0.1.21
- Compiled with Octane 3.01 release SDK.
- Added authorization management window

3.0.0.20:
- Compiled with Octane 3.0 release SDK.

3.0.0.4:
- Compiled with Octane 3.0.0 beta 4.
- Added a demo version.

3.0.0.1:
- Compiled with Octane 3.0.0 beta 1.
- Internal changes to texture rendering, LiveDB access, and licensing for compatibility with Octane 3 API changes.
Last edited by CaptainCrowbar on Wed Oct 12, 2016 1:17 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
CaptainCrowbar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:38 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby resmas » Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:42 pm

resmas Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:42 pm
Hello there...thx for the updates but...

Cap, there is still no change in the plugin...all the same.

At least some new (old) features like

- highlight copression in "imager tab"

- proxy - ocs. with alembic files are not loaded as proxies (can you solve this?) its an old one too.

I have a lot of work made in my obects librarie, and all that ahve alembic geometry are not usable in Octane4scktchup

this is hard like this.

cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby azen » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:16 am

azen Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:16 am
resmas wrote:Hello there...thx for the updates but...

Cap, there is still no change in the plugin...all the same.

At least some new (old) features like

- highlight copression in "imager tab"

- proxy - ocs. with alembic files are not loaded as proxies (can you solve this?) its an old one too.

I have a lot of work made in my obects librarie, and all that ahve alembic geometry are not usable in Octane4scktchup

this is hard like this.

cheers
resmas



Hi,

This was more of a hot-fix for a critical bug, as opposed to a complete update. Skatter support and nodal approach are top priorities, and will be coming next.
azen
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:06 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby fivebythree » Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:13 pm

fivebythree Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:13 pm
Use ORBX format for proxies. They just works better.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby resmas » Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:58 am

resmas Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:58 am
fivebythree wrote:Use ORBX format for proxies. They just works better.



Yes mate Orbx proxies work better, but still they dont work if they have Alembic files (.abc)they only work with Object files (.obj).

Octane works with .obj(object) and .abc (alembic ) files, but in Skechup the proxies only work if the Ocs/orbx files are made with .obj geometry.

cheers

azen wrote:
Hi,

This was more of a hot-fix for a critical bug, as opposed to a complete update. Skatter support and nodal approach are top priorities, and will be coming next.


Ok Azen, but when will we get some v2 old options? I have V3.

cheers
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:24 am

Jorgensen Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:24 am
i hope that there comes an update soon - i have a lot of problems - geometri and groups that disappears and octance view that does not open or open but is blank.

so for now i'm forced to export from sketchup to 3ds max.

but i'm can't say for sure that the problem is not a userside problem :-/

i have tried to uninstall the latest version, run the "UnplugPlugins.exe" tool, but the old versions simply does not install anymore :-/

jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby happymilk » Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:14 pm

happymilk Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:14 pm
My objects disappear in the ipr window.
Sometime when I start the rendering, sometime when I refresh the ipr window. Then I have to restart sketchup for see again my objects.
Very annoying
Win 10pro 64 | 3 x Geforce GTX980Ti | i7 5930K | 32GB
User avatar
happymilk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby Seekerfinder » Sat Aug 27, 2016 3:59 pm

Seekerfinder Sat Aug 27, 2016 3:59 pm
happymilk wrote:My objects disappear in the ipr window.
Sometime when I start the rendering, sometime when I refresh the ipr window. Then I have to restart sketchup for see again my objects.
Very annoying

Yep, that's an almost 2 year old bug...
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Octane Render for SketchUp 3.03.2.3 Test Release

Postby happymilk » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:15 am

happymilk Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:15 am
Seekerfinder wrote:Yep, that's an almost 2 year old bug...


Yes, but it seemed resolved in the previsious release...
Maybe... it was only my idea...
Win 10pro 64 | 3 x Geforce GTX980Ti | i7 5930K | 32GB
User avatar
happymilk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:25 pm

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sat Jul 04, 2020 12:27 am [ UTC ]