Can someone please explain why this is happening? [SOLVED]

Forums: Can someone please explain why this is happening? [SOLVED]
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Can someone please explain why this is happening? [SOLVED]

Postby andrewmcmurry » Sun Aug 21, 2016 3:24 pm

andrewmcmurry Sun Aug 21, 2016 3:24 pm
I'm a VFX artist, so I'm compositing onto live action footage a lot. I noticed that (especially when the aperture is high in octane) the shadows don't quite line up. This is killing me because I can't figure out what do do about this. When there is no DOF, there still is a small, one pixel long line between the object and the shadow. Anyone know what to do here?

Image

Link to C4D project: https://www.dropbox.com/s/cv55zgscly8yx ... y.c4d?dl=0
Last edited by andrewmcmurry on Mon Aug 22, 2016 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andrewmcmurry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby aoktar » Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:43 pm

aoktar Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:43 pm
I think it produces a blending to white in dof area.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13345
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby andrewmcmurry » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:24 pm

andrewmcmurry Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:24 pm
aoktar wrote:I think it produces a blending to white in dof area.


Is there a way to combat this? Or a workaround?
andrewmcmurry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby aoktar » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:52 pm

aoktar Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:52 pm
andrewmcmurry wrote:
aoktar wrote:I think it produces a blending to white in dof area.


Is there a way to combat this? Or a workaround?

I've tried to find a fix but no success. it's an internal behaviour and core team may have an answer. At the moment only way looks like rendering without dof.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13345
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby andrewmcmurry » Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:14 pm

andrewmcmurry Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:14 pm
aoktar wrote:
andrewmcmurry wrote:
aoktar wrote:I think it produces a blending to white in dof area.


Is there a way to combat this? Or a workaround?

I've tried to find a fix but no success. it's an internal behaviour and core team may have an answer. At the moment only way looks like rendering without dof.


This is without DOF. Still strange. Hmm.
Attachments
smallline.PNG
andrewmcmurry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby abstrax » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:30 pm

abstrax Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:30 pm
I think the sample weights in the shadow passes are incorrect. I will have a look at it.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby abstrax » Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:54 am

abstrax Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:54 am
Ok, after some fiddling around with the render layer passes, I think I've got it fixed. Attached you will find the main and the shadow pass of your example scene rendered with the fix. Would that work for you?
Attachments
test_LSh_0000.png
test_Main_0000.png
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby andrewmcmurry » Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:53 am

andrewmcmurry Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:53 am
abstrax wrote:Ok, after some fiddling around with the render layer passes, I think I've got it fixed. Attached you will find the main and the shadow pass of your example scene rendered with the fix. Would that work for you?


That is exactly what I was wanting! Would you mind explaining how you did it so I can render it out like that? Thanks so much!
andrewmcmurry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby abstrax » Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:53 am

abstrax Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:53 am
andrewmcmurry wrote:
abstrax wrote:Ok, after some fiddling around with the render layer passes, I think I've got it fixed. Attached you will find the main and the shadow pass of your example scene rendered with the fix. Would that work for you?


That is exactly what I was wanting! Would you mind explaining how you did it so I can render it out like that? Thanks so much!

I fixed the splatting in the kernels. There is nothing you can do right now, except making the geometry of the active layer invisible to the camera and then render the shadow passes separately. The fix will be available in the next release.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5141
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Can someone please explain to me why this is happening?

Postby aoktar » Mon Aug 22, 2016 9:23 am

aoktar Mon Aug 22, 2016 9:23 am
andrewmcmurry wrote:
abstrax wrote:Ok, after some fiddling around with the render layer passes, I think I've got it fixed. Attached you will find the main and the shadow pass of your example scene rendered with the fix. Would that work for you?


That is exactly what I was wanting! Would you mind explaining how you did it so I can render it out like that? Thanks so much!

It's a internal fix in renderer. Thanks Marcus.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13345
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye
Next

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

Sun Jun 07, 2020 10:36 am [ UTC ]