Octane 3 Houdini not working

Forums: Octane 3 Houdini not working
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Octane 3 Houdini not working

Postby 93i » Mon May 23, 2016 3:24 pm

93i Mon May 23, 2016 3:24 pm
Hi, i am trying to install the new Octane 3 Houdini plugin, but it's not working.

This is my houdini.env:

PATH = "C:/Program Files/OTOY/OctaneRender 3.00;$PATH"
HOUDINI_PATH = "C:/Users/MyUserName/Documents/OctaneHoudini/Octane_3.00.14.0_Houdini_15.5.480_Win64;&"

HOUDINI_DSO_ERROR = 2


I ensured the pathes are correct by pasting them into explorer.

I tried 15.5.480 Indie, 15.5.480 FX and Houdini 15.0.459 FX with the file Octane_3.00.14.0_Houdini_Win64.zip

When i start it, its always the same: First it pops up a Message dialog:

(126) Couldn't load

...path do dll (which exists, checked)

This is probably because this file was intended for use with a different version of Houdini


Version in dll name and version of Houdini do match though.

When i then say OK, the octane menu is showing up in Houdini and the renderer is too, so i say create render node: octane, then i get:

An error occured while executing menu python script.
The attepted operation failed.
invalid noe type name

Details:
Traceback (most recent call last):


Details see attached image.

Any ideas?
Attachments
houdinioctanefail.png
93i
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:54 pm

Re: Octane 3 Houdini not working

Postby juanjgon » Mon May 23, 2016 3:28 pm

juanjgon Mon May 23, 2016 3:28 pm
I think that the problem is in PATH variable. If the plugin folder is located in "C:/Users/MyUserName/Documents/OctaneHoudini/Octane_3.00.14.0_Houdini_15.5.480_Win64", the houdini.env file should be

Code: Select all
PATH = "C:/Users/MyUserName/Documents/OctaneHoudini/Octane_3.00.14.0_Houdini_15.5.480_Win64/bin;$PATH"
HOUDINI_PATH = "C:/Users/MyUserName/Documents/OctaneHoudini/Octane_3.00.14.0_Houdini_15.5.480_Win64;&"


If it doesn't work, please let me know.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Octane 3 Houdini not working

Postby 93i » Mon May 23, 2016 3:38 pm

93i Mon May 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Great, thank you very much for the quick help... that was it... i thought you are supposed to put the standalone path in there.... wondered why there was no /bin ;)
93i
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:54 pm

Re: Octane 3 Houdini not working

Postby juanjgon » Mon May 23, 2016 3:42 pm

juanjgon Mon May 23, 2016 3:42 pm
Great! Standalone is not used at all by the Houdini plugin. It has all the needed libs inside the plugin folder.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue May 26, 2020 1:12 pm [ UTC ]