Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p [superseded]

Forums: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p [superseded]
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p [superseded]

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:29 pm

TIG Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:29 pm
Here's beta.p
Octane_1022p.zip
(266.86 KiB) Downloaded 162 times
It addresses many of the recently raised issues, including:

    Install README file added to zip.
    Adjustments to the 'Help' file path for Mac.
    Menu name changed to 'Octane Render'.
    The 'new ocs' creation is now merged into the first render.
    New 'folder_browser' added for picking folders.
    Image_output path now correctly remembered with model.

All users [PC and Mac] should install this in place of the previous beta version [o].

Feedback please...
Last edited by TIG on Fri Jul 09, 2010 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby Nemo » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:13 am

Nemo Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:13 am
Seems to be working. Will try an animation tomorrow.
GeForce 8800 GTS 512|Q6600|Win7 64bit
Nemo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby radiance » Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:36 am

radiance Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:36 am
We'll have a go later today when our new mac system is installed ;)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby radiance » Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:37 am

radiance Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:37 am
BTW,

does anyone have a sketchup file that contains a simple animation that we can use to test ?
I don't know sketchup at all and i've no clue how to animate things...

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby TIG » Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:06 am

TIG Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:06 am
Here's a zip file containing a .SKP that has a number of scenes available to animate.
It also has the .OCS is set for the materials etc.
The Octane Render settings are remembered with the SKP model so you'll need to reset the project path and image output path to suit your PC setup etc.
I recommend initially using a reduced output size and low-res for testing - you'll get the 'set' of image.png's much quicker...
I've also included the Texture and Image output folders from my PC for you to compare with yours...
Tester.zip
(5.66 MiB) Downloaded 149 times
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby TIG » Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:41 am

TIG Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:41 am
Here's a quick movie I made form the animation scenes in the zip - I know the quality is low and there are too few frames but it only took a minute to make... but...but...but...

Movie.wmv [ 311.11 KiB | Viewed 2239 times ]


There's also a higher res still of frame1
TestFrame1.png
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby radiance » Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:39 pm

radiance Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:39 pm
thanks ;)

i'll give it a test on my PC and Mac tonight.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby rfox » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:28 pm

rfox Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:28 pm
yup same thing here, it won't render the whole sequence of scenes. it only rendered the first frame and the last frame.

I am using Octane render beta 2.2b and octane sketchup exporter Beta P
3x GTX Titan - Win7 Pro x64 - Intel i7-3930K - ASUS Rampage IV Formula-X79
User avatar
rfox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:32 am
Location: State of Lincoln

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta p

Postby TIG » Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:44 am

TIG Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:44 am
As you can see from my simple example I do get it to render each frame in turn through a whole set...
You say you notice from my video that it only renders the first/last frames - BUT it does render all of the frames in the order of the Scene tabs. Compare the SKP's Scene tabs, the Images folder's the 11 PNGs and the movie frames ???

I've never had this 'issue'...

Do you have the Step=1 and the Start and End Frame correctly selected with the others in between - note the order of the available frames is as they appear in the top Scene tabs in the SKP - note how they are not sorted into alphanumeric order but should take their order as arranged in the tabs. Also remember a scene has to be 'ticked' to be 'included in animation' in the Scene Manager in SUp, it then becomes available in the list of scenes.

Open and read the 'anim' CMD file with Notepad - does it include just twp scenes/images or are there more that it isn't processing - I suspect the former to be the case...

To make an animation in SUp you need several scenes to give a smooth effect - there are tools to make flight-paths and set scene tabs - see the SketchUcation forum and Smustard site for examples... Once you have the images assemble them into a movie using 'Windows Movie Maker' or similar tools...

If the model etc is not too big can you make a zip file of the SKP, OCS and the CMD files, and post or PM it so I can look at it/test it... :?
I can't see what is wrong from these descriptions - either with your approach to setting this up or perhaps the tool itself ???
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:04 am [ UTC ]