Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j [superseded]

Forums: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j [superseded]
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j [superseded]

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:11 am

TIG Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:11 am
This is beta.j of the Octane Sketchup Exporter tool
Octane_1022j.zip
(248.76 KiB) Downloaded 194 times
It marks something of another 'watershed', as it now should give a fully working version for PC AND Mac.
The Mac .command file which "..." to escape issues seem to have finally been resolved successfully...
There are also some miscellaneous changes - UI cosmetic improvements, typo corrections etc, so PC AND Mac users should upgrade to this latest version.

Please extract the zipped files/subfolders and overwrite all earlier beta version with them - following the instructions in the enclosed OctaneHelp.PDF as needed...

The only major 'issue' outstanding is the specifying of GPUs but this seems to be not with the tool but rather within Octane itself ?
At their next beta it might be resolved...

The disabled auto-deletion of the cmd/command files will be enabled once we go out of beta to the first 'stable' release [shortly] - unless a majority of users press for them to be left behind for their own purposes ? [they do allow you to re-render without re-writing the obj/mtl/textures which could be a speedier option with very large geometries when making minor tweaks to the ocs ??]

As ever, feedback please on any aspect of this tool...
:ugeek:
Last edited by TIG on Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby 9fly » Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:24 am

9fly Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:24 am
Your attachment is not linked TIG.

Anyway I want to thank you for fast respond work. Respected :ugeek: .
9fly
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:13 am

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:40 pm

TIG Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:40 pm
Don't know what happened there ???
It was linked - it is now...
Please try again...
:roll:
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby Nemo » Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:17 pm

Nemo Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:17 pm
Downloads fine now for me too but earlier it wasn't linked. This version also works for me in the short tests I made.
GeForce 8800 GTS 512|Q6600|Win7 64bit
Nemo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby SurfingAlien » Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:52 pm

SurfingAlien Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:52 pm
Hi TIG!

.command files are fine now but I have to launch them manually (double click in finder or from within the terminal): I will "investigate" this tomorrow because I'm very tired right now (once a week I have to go to bed before 2AM...)

the "2010-06-19 01:43:32.144 octane[79138:5b1b] invalid drawable" error is always there (and isn't related to the texture name problem AFAICS)

the texture name issue (italian MTL + english JPGs) is something we have to think about because it's very annoying and I'm afraid it will concern any non-english SU version and any SU standard material... ca anyone with a localized SU version confirm this problem using standard SU materials?

...another step in the right direction anyway :)

cheers,
A

P.S.: damn... it's 2AM once again :D
MacBookPro unibody 2x2.4GHz | 4Gb | 9400M+9600GT 256Mb | OSX 10.6.8
i7 2600-K @3.4GHz | 8Gb | GTX560Ti 2Gb | Windows7x64 | Octane 1.0 b2.52
SurfingAlien
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:05 am
Location: Italy

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby TIG » Sat Jun 19, 2010 9:07 am

TIG Sat Jun 19, 2010 9:07 am
Thanks for the feedback - we must get the '.command' files working automatically on the Mac any clues welcomed...
They are set to be executable - [chmod 0777] and such files do run on double-click too ???
Last edited by TIG on Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby archigrafix » Sat Jun 19, 2010 8:48 pm

archigrafix Sat Jun 19, 2010 8:48 pm
Strange here..!
On one of my PC: WIN7 32bits, and Octane 1.022 COM, the exported file is missing all his textures and specularity is strange.
With Octane demo on the same computer it says theres a problem with the obj file..
On another one PC (WIN7 64) anything seems OK.
I have tried with any version of the plugin but no way....
archigrafix
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:37 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby ameier » Sun Jun 20, 2010 7:57 am

ameier Sun Jun 20, 2010 7:57 am
I'm frustrated a little. I white not which what i make wrong...... eatch sketchup modell witch i try to export gets some texture failure if choose the octane exporter. If i try the same modells with the su2objmtl plugin everythink seems to be ok ?

here´s a link for Testfiles: http://www.horatec.de/rar/feedback.rar

Did anyone knows some hints ? Any help is welcome ;)
Intel(R) Core (TM) i7 Cpu 3770k, 32 GB RAM, 1x 670 GTX; Windows 8 64bit Pro.

Cuda Driver + OctaneRender V1.10 + Octane Sketchup Plugin
ameier
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:36 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby TIG » Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:00 pm

TIG Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:00 pm
Are you both using the latest version of Octane 1022 and the exporter bet.i ?
I can't see any significant differences between the three mtl files you supplied (ameier) - they are almost identical,
The transparency is right in the Octane-Exporter and SUp's native OBJ exporter - but =1.0-d in su2... - it's ignored by Octane on a '-r' anyway !?
The image file names are different for su2... but the same for the others - none of this should cause a problem...

It seems to me that the way Octane treats materials on a reload is critical - it seems it ignores changes in transparency and colors, but not textures ?

Any clarity on "what it's supposed to do" so we then know when "it isn't doing it" would be welcomed [radiance?] :?
TIG
User avatar
TIG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:25 pm

Re: Octane Sketchup Exporter Beta j

Postby andrear » Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:43 am

andrear Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:43 am
hi tig,
i saw that your's obj exporter has not setting board while the SU one has it.
is it possible to refers to the built-in exporter setting to export the obj to octane trought your plugin?

thank's in advance,
andrea
MSi GE75 Raider 8SF - W10PRO - RTX 2070 8GB mobile
User avatar
andrear
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:49 am
Location: milan, italy
Next

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:51 am [ UTC ]