has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Forums: has a mismatch between vertices and textures
Smith Micro Software Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby ajr0717 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:53 pm

ajr0717 Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:53 pm
and it will not be loaded into the Octane scene.

Can anyone please help me by fixing my prop so I can not have this come up for every scene I have?
Its an invisible light prop I have seven or eight copies of in every one of my scenes and it plagues me!

I just bought this plugin and its standalone yesterday
ajr0717
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:44 pm

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby face_off » Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:24 am

face_off Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:24 am
Hi - that error message generally means there is a different number of UV coordinates to vertices, so there is a modelling error with the geometry. If you send me the OBJ file, I can take a closer look. Sometimes exporting the prop to 3ds max format and importing back in will fix it.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13421
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby ajr0717 » Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:25 am

ajr0717 Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:25 am
How do I get this OBJ to YOU?
(ie: Octane mail, Hotmail?)
ajr0717
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:44 pm

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby face_off » Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:03 am

face_off Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:03 am
Email to paul at physicalc-software dot com.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13421
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby samhal » Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:05 am

samhal Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:05 am
Paul,

Curious about this as well.

I also run into the vertices/texture mismatch due to a modeling error occasionally. The plugin doesn't like it and ignores it while Poser happily chugs along. I'm guessing Poser is more forgiving about things like this, but why? ...and what would happen if the plugin allows it to go thru?

Thanks,
Sam
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby wimvdb » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:48 am

wimvdb Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:48 am
I occasionally have this as well, often by the same prop maker. Almost all of his props are fine, but every once in a while a few have this problem.
If i come across one, I send him a message and get a correct one back and usually he updates the package at the store.
If i remember correctly it needed a simple operation such as Normalize UVMap (or coordinates).
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby samhal » Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:13 pm

samhal Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:13 pm
Thanks wim! I'll try contacting the creator.

Still, why doesn't Poser care while the plugin says "ah, hell no!" :D

Sam
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: has a mismatch between vertices and textures

Postby wimvdb » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:21 pm

wimvdb Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:21 pm
I do not know, but it is probably Octane itself who does not know what to do with coordinates outside the uvmap (which is what happens). Maybe it cuts those off and Poser puts them on the edge, which would explain the mismatch.
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Return to Smith Micro Software Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:23 am [ UTC ]
cron