OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.0.5 - 0.11.53

Forums: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.0.5 - 0.11.53
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby fuzzybro » Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:17 pm

fuzzybro Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:17 pm
No worries :D
More awesome stuff coming late this week and early next week.

Cheers!
User avatar
fuzzybro
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:10 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby resmas » Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:44 am

resmas Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:44 am
Seekerfinder wrote:
resmas wrote:...spent 2 days trying to setup 4 gtx 590....but they are hard to handle....here some shots.

Hey Resmas,
What makes the 590s hard to handle?

Cheers,
Seeker



Hello Seeker, well i have 2 gtx 590 (4 gpus), and they produce a lot of heat. So i bought 2 more...lol....Winter is coming.

Its a total of 8GPUs and a lot of heat, so I decide to use risers to put them outside, after lots of reading I thought that I coud get them working with 16x to 16x cables(non powered), but its not possible, they need the molex, so I tested with 1x to 16x pci risers(powered), it works but cant get 4gtx 590 on 1x to 16x cables, the display card must be connected to a 16x lane... as I can only connect the 1x riser to the 1x pci slots in MB, the display card (1 gtx 590) is double size, and covers one of the 1x pci slot....lol so...its a bit messy and I still can use 4 gtx 590. I have ordered some USB 1x risers as they can connect to the 8x pci slots in the MB...and then all will work ( I hope :? )

For now I have my computer all opened, with lots of cables...a total mess until I get those new cables.
This few days I have to get my work running so I get some time to finish building the rig.

Cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:52 am

smicha Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:52 am
Good to hear you've upgraded your computer Seeker. Mine 3x780 6GB with EK water blocks (cool and quiet) are on the way :) I'll send some benchmarks soon.

BTW I bought p8p67 ws on auction for 60$ :) Hope it will handle my titan and three more gpus well.
Last edited by smicha on Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:04 am

Seekerfinder Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:04 am
smicha wrote:Good the hear you've upgraded your computer Seeker. Mine 3x780 6GB with EK water blocks (cool and quiet) are on the way :) I'll send some benchmarks soon.

BTW I bought p8p67 ws on auction for 60$ :) Hope it will handle my titan and three more gpus well.

Hi Smicha,
No, that was Resmas! Would love to see you benchmarks though. Great price on that mobo.

Best,
Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1597
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:08 am

Seekerfinder Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:08 am
Hey Resmas,
Thanks for elaborating.

resmas wrote:the display card (1 gtx 590) is double size, and covers one of the 1x pci slot
resmas

This is a bummer. Which riser did you try?

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1597
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:09 am

smicha Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:09 am
Seekerfinder wrote:No, that was Resmas! Would love to see you benchmarks though. Great price on that mobo.


Sorry for that, I looked at wrong post :)
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby resmas » Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:14 pm

resmas Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:14 pm
Seekerfinder wrote:Hey Resmas,
Thanks for elaborating.

resmas wrote:the display card (1 gtx 590) is double size, and covers one of the 1x pci slot
resmas

This is a bummer. Which riser did you try?

Seeker


I'm still doing some test, just went to a near city to buy a pci riser (usb type)... now i have all kind of risers... :lol:

I have 16x to 16x (nonpowered) - cant use them...dont work with gtx590
I have 16x to 16x (powered) - DIY stile - made it myself - works great
I have 1x to 16x (powered)- the normal one - works in 1x pci slot (doesn't work in 8x or 16x pci slot of MB)
And just got a 1x to 16x powered USB riser - will test it soon - hope it works in 8x or 16x MB pci slots (I read somewhere that the usb risers manage to connect somekind of info that allows 1x pci plug to connect to the 8x or 16x pci MB slot)

lets Pray.... :geek:

I will post some results after.

smicha wrote:
Seekerfinder wrote:No, that was Resmas! Would love to see you benchmarks though. Great price on that mobo.


Sorry for that, I looked at wrong post :)


;)


cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:51 pm

Seekerfinder Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:51 pm
resmas wrote:I have 16x to 16x (nonpowered) - cant use them...dont work with gtx590
Was it this type: http://www.dx.com/p/pci-e-16x-riser-car ... _tW2mPaedw?

resmas wrote:I have 16x to 16x (powered) - DIY stile - made it myself - works great
Impressive. How?

resmas wrote:I have 1x to 16x (powered)- the normal one - works in 1x pci slot (doesn't work in 8x or 16x pci slot of MB)
Is that because it does not fit? Some of the USB 3.0 powered units manufacturers create the 1x PCIe male slots so that they are 'reversed' - i.e. they can only fit in PCIe 1x slots. Pretty lame but true. There are better ones though that should work in any sized slot.

resmas wrote:And just got a 1x to 16x powered USB riser - will test it soon - hope it works in 8x or 16x MB pci slots (I read somewhere that the usb risers manage to connect somekind of info that allows 1x pci plug to connect to the 8x or 16x pci MB slot)

You probably know this but pins 1-11 carry ALL the power to the card. And PCIe 1x ends at pin 18. Anything from there onward (PCIe 2x /4x /8x /16x) repeats only data, improving band width - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express
Therefore using a PCIe 1x slot for a 16x card is possible without problems as long as the extender fits into the MB slot. [/quote]

resmas wrote:lets Pray.... :geek:
Amen!

Best,
Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1597
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby resmas » Mon Aug 25, 2014 6:15 pm

resmas Mon Aug 25, 2014 6:15 pm


yes

I have 16x to 16x (powered) - DIY stile - made it myself - works great
Impressive. How?


I did this method - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=76121.0 - then i prayed a lot not to burn MB and GPUs...hehehehe....and all worked perfect :D


I have 1x to 16x (powered)- the normal one - works in 1x pci slot (doesn't work in 8x or 16x pci slot of MB)

Is that because it does not fit?


well it fits, i can connect the 1x plug to the 16x slot in MB, but i get blue screen, or laggy UI in Windows...it trys to install the new hardware (gtx 590) and it takes to much time, and only recognize 1 gpu (of the 2 gpus from gtx590)



Amen!

Best,
Seeker


Well i will try to connect the 4 gtx 590 now..... :roll: :roll:
if all goes well i still need to find a way to secure all those gtx590 outsider the case. :twisted:



cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 0.11.53 -- Updated

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 25, 2014 7:44 pm

smicha Mon Aug 25, 2014 7:44 pm
Resmas,
What is your power supply for 4x590?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
PreviousNext

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Tue Oct 27, 2020 11:37 pm [ UTC ]